The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The Liebster Award

on August 18, 2015

LiebsterAward

Sooo, I’m super excited because I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award by thegalaxialword (who has a brilliant blog, please do check it out!) Thank you so much for nominating me! 🙂

The Liebster Award is an awesome award project which is designed to give recognition to book blogs with less than 200 followers, and bring the blogging community together/get everyone discovering new stuff!

The rules:

1) Display the award, and acknowledge the blogger who nominated you

2) Answer eleven questions the previous blogger set for you

3) Give eleven facts about yourself

4) Nominate from 5-11 blogs (with less than 200 followers) that you think are deserving of the award

5) Let the bloggers know you’ve nominated them

6) Come up with eleven questions for your nominees to answer!

So, here are my answers to the questions:

1) Why did you start your blog?

I started my blog originally as a place to flail and whine about the stresses of job hunting/being an adult, but went 2 years without really posting anything. I then decided to start the blog up again as a YA book review thing, because I probably read around a gazillion (mostly brilliant) books a month, and I want to thrust them at everyone I know! Also I went to a workshop on ‘Book Blogging for Beginners’ at YALC (the Young Adult Literature Convention that was held at Comic Con in July) and was really inspired by the bloggers who came to speak – it sounded like so much fun, and I’d been meaning to start one for ages, so that gave me the kick up the behind I needed to get started 🙂

2) Do you ever have trouble writing posts or maintaining your social media accounts?

I am notoriously appalling at replying to Facebook messages, but so far I haven’t found it difficult keeping up with blog stuff. Then again, I’m new. I may be weeping into and/or buried beneath a ginormous paperback mountain in a few weeks time, who knows?!

3) Procrastination. Need I say more? GIVE ME YOUR BALLISTIC RANT ON PROCRASTINATION.

I procrastinate over most things, even things I actually want to do. It mainly involves spending hours making iTunes playlists, and trawling Amazon for new stuff to read (even though I have about eleventy-billion books waiting to be read on my already diabolically messy bedroom floor). I have given up asking WHY JESS WHY, and accepted procrastination as part of my personality. That’s self-actualization, people.

4) Any book recommendations?

I love dystopian YA (who doesn’t?), so I highly recommend the Unwind series by Neal Shusterman. With an original (and frankly terrifying) concept, characters you will really care about, and no way on earth you can label it a carbon copy of The Hunger Games (why do blurbs always feel the need to do that?!), it’s well worth a read.

5) A book that has made you cry – like, legit cry.

I wrote a post on this recently, so I won’t cop out and list any of those again, but one book which made me bawl like a baby was Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy. It is pretty bleak in places (PREPARE yourselves), but it’s incredible, and one of my favourite classics of all time. The BBC adaptation with Gemma Arterton and Eddie Redmayne is also amazeballs. (No, actually, never let me say that word again, I can’t pull it off.)

6) A book that has made you laugh so much you cry – like, legit cry.

The Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella. I have read and re-read them all countless times, and they still make me laugh. Becky Bloomwood is the most hilarious invention, especially whenever she is trying to justify buying something ridiculous, or coming up with an elaborate crazy lie by spouting any old crap that pops into her head. I relate to her deeply.

7) Favourite author?

CASSANDRA CLARE (author of The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, The Bane Chronicles, etc.). I am so obsessed with the world she has created and the characters who occupy it, and I am way, way, way too excited about The Dark Artifices to the point that I am furiously wishing a chunk of my life away (Why isn’t it March 2016 yet? Why?)
thebanechronicles

Also, as you can see, she signed my copy of The Bane Chronicles at YALC, and there may have been squealing. And there was definitely fangirling.

8) Biggest book peeve?

I won’t name and shame any offenders, but my biggest book peeve is probably when a female character has virtually zero hobbies or interests besides finding/keeping the boy they are obsessed with (sometimes by compromising who they are in the process). Girls are not vacuous love-zombies with no room for anything but boys in the space where their brains used to be. Why oh why do some authors think that they are?!

9) How many books do you read a month, on average?

I mentioned the figure of a gazillion in one of my earlier answers, but around 8-10 is probably more accurate.

10) Do you write?

I’ve written lots of short stories, and I have started writing around 5 different YA novels, although I am yet to finish one, because I suck at picking one thing and sticking to it. However, the one I’ve written the most towards, and the one I know I will see through to the end, is the first book I ever started writing. I am so in love with it, and constantly paranoid that someone else will come up with the same idea and write it first. So that’s spurring me on right now. Watch this space.

11) What’s your hidden talent?

I can identify songs almost instantly, from 1 or 2 seconds of their intro. It’s a very useful skill and will get me far in life.


And now, here are 11 facts about me…

I studied English Literature at uni

I work in publishing

My favourite time of day is wine o’clock…

11209544_10153034722776814_6469612891261996479_n
I don’t believe in guilty pleasures because most things I like are embarrassing anyway

I can’t go a day without spilling something down me

In the words of Bella Swan, guys: I fall down a lot…

I am ridiculously arachnophobic to the point where I am so paranoid about seeing spiders that I sometimes have sensory hallucinations of them landing or crawling on me

I have an all-consuming obsession with Damon Salvatore from The Vampire Diaries

I am allergic to everything (like everything… animals, plants, beauty products, chocolate cake. That last one’s the worst.)

I have photos and postcards of Paris all over my wardrobe door and walls, because it’s my favourite place in the world

My friends at work got me a One Direction Minion cake for my 23rd birthday. It was the best thing in the world ever. Not even ashamed.

photo (2)


Okay, so now for my questions for the nominees…

  1. What’s your favourite thing about book blogging?
  2. Which five books would you want with you if you were stranded on a desert island all on your lonesome?
  3. Who is your favourite author?
  4. Who is your biggest book crush?
  5. If you could be any character for a day, who would it be and why?
  6. If you could slap any character upside the head, who would it be and why?
  7. Which books have you struggled with/given up on?
  8. Which book series would you most recommend?
  9. What was your favourite book as a child?
  10. What is the essential factor in whether or not you’ll enjoy a book?
  11. Pick a favourite line or quote from a book.

And finally, here are my nominees for the Liebster Award, who all have fantastic blogs you should definitely be reading:

howtoreadbooks

kat-reads

yatopia

drinkingbooks

rampantreads

If any of the people I’ve listed have already been nominated, or have more than 200 followers (because it’s super hard to find stats on WordPress sometimes!), then I’d just like to say, I enjoyed your blogs all the same 🙂

3 responses to “The Liebster Award

  1. that cake is adorable! XD

  2. […] baffled by the vast number of people talking about Summertime Madness, received a nomination for a Liebster Award, and all in all, had a crazy but lovely introduction into the world of book […]

Leave a Reply

