The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

August Haul and the Discombobulating World of Book Blogging

on August 28, 2015

Since I started this book blog, approx. 1 month ago, I’ve gained a (modest) number of followers (thank you, beautiful people!), followed some brilliant blogs, had to google who-why-when-where-and-what the terms TBR, book haul, and DNF mean (#shameface), been baffled by the vast number of people talking about Summertime Madness, received a nomination for a Liebster Award, and all in all, had a crazy but lovely introduction into the world of book blogging.

It’s been a while since I last posted because I’ve spent all week prepping for a job interview.

The role (which I really, really want!) is in a different department of the publishing house I currently work for, who, FYI, added the word awesomesauce to the dictionary the other day.

So, to look on the sunny side, even if I don’t get the job, at least I will have had the incomparable experience of getting to use the words ‘Manspreading’, ‘Hangry’ and ‘Wine o’clock’ in a job interview! 🙂

Anyway, back to the book haul (which I’m getting the impression is basically just people bragging about the books they’ve acquired over the past month, and I’m totally game for getting in on!)

Here’s what I’ve added this month to my crazy-long TBR…

***To have and to hold***

I only bought one physical book this month, which was this amazing adult colouring book by Kerby Rosanes:

61sj-zU5pwL

I guess this one doesn’t really count, as I’m not going to read it, but look how pretty it is! Apparently nowadays it is completely NOT-lame for grown-up people to get squealy and excited over the art of keeping your sparkly gel pen within the lines. I’m loving the adult colouring trend, and I’d really recommend this as a mindful, calming activity if you’re one of those people who can never get their brain to stop buzzing. It’s good for winding down, and much healthier than staring at screens before bedtime (which I’m naughtily doing right now).


***Digital love***

I went on a bit of an Amazon spending spree this month. My Kindle haul goes a little something like this…

Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows Book 1) – Kim Harrison

81p-eNO0a2L._SL1500_

Some urban fantasy to fill the Mortal-Instruments-shaped hole in my life while I (im)patiently wait for The Dark Artifices to hurry up and come out already.

Uprooted – Naomi Novik

51RYKY1x0VL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

So, basically, I bought this because it’s about wizards, and it’s set in a creepy forest. Nuff said.

Long Lankin – Lindsey Barraclough

9206583

Discovered on another Amazon trawl for creepy-reads. Can’t wait to read this one.

The Death House – Sarah Pinborough

the-death-house-sarah-pinborough1

Reviewed earlier in the month.

Cuckoo Song – Frances Hardinge

CuckooSongWIP

If a blurb mentions a creepy china doll, I’m pretty much sold.

The Owl Service – Alan Garner

51bOkcCp19L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This book gave my mum sleepless nights as a child. It sounds pretty tame to me, but I’m curious enough to give it a go.

Close Your Pretty Eyes – Sally Nicholls

closesmall2

Adding to the creepy-pile. Note to self, Thesaurus the word creepy, stat.

Am I Normal Yet? – Holly Bourne

51Ss4gT6s-L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

My most recent review (and probably my favourite book of the month!)

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews

meandearl

From the reviews I’ve read, I gather this is a bit of a Marmite book. Looking forward to deciding whether I’m a lover or a hater.

Only Ever Yours – Louise O’Neill

only-ever-yours

I saw Louise speak on a panel at YALC, plus this book sounds incredible. Definitely intrigued by comparisons to The Handmaid’s Tale.

Royal Wedding – Meg Cabot

B-9El-RVAAA8_bV

Review coming soon!

Made You Up – Francesca Zappia

MadeYouUp Cover

I’ve wanted to read this ever since I discovered the author’s blog. I’m fascinated by blogs about the writing process, and I loved the way she wrote, so when I heard about the book I knew I had to read it!

‘Soulmates’ and ‘The Manifesto on How to be Interesting’ – Holly Bourne

22533460

I downloaded both of these after finishing ‘Am I Normal Yet?’, and am so excited to read them.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

15749186

I’ve heard a lot of good things about this one, and every person under the sun seems to have reviewed it. I read the opening paragraph and now I’m all-in too.

Know Not Why – Hannah Johnson

13614864

I bought this based on the hilarious opening chapter – props and £s to any book that can make me laugh out loud that quickly.


So, that’s my August haul. Although, the month isn’t over yet… I’ve set myself the challenge of reading all of the Throne of Glass books before Queen of Shadows comes out, and I only own the first one, so it’s a mighty good job pay-day occurred recently. But apart from these two essentials, I’m banning myself from any more book-buying…

…until September. 😉

2 responses to “August Haul and the Discombobulating World of Book Blogging

  1. alreinhardt says:

    I’ve been seeing Uprooted everywhere! I need to read it! Let us know how you like it

Leave a Reply

