The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

Summertime Madness Book Tag

on September 2, 2015

Thank you to the lovely Erika @ Erika in Bookventureland for tagging me. I’ve been wanting to do this tag for a while, and this week seems like perfect timing because all I want to do right now is get stuck into a beach read, turn the heating up and pretend it’s still August because I’M NOT READY.

I’ve decided to do this tag using New Adult instead of YA books to mix things up a bit. New Adult Romance is the perfect genre for light summer reading (don’t get me wrong, there is a time and a place for ‘literature’, but holidaying on the beach sure isn’t it..!) Here goes:

A book with a summery cover!

sincerely-carter

This is a tough first question, as none of the New Adult books I have on my Kindle are especially summery looking. I’m going to cheat here and pick Sincerely, Carter by Whitney G, with the rather tenuous link to summertime being that it has a topless man on the cover. This is definitely cheating, because most New Adult books have a topless man on the cover.


Pick a place that would be the perfect destination for a summer vacation!

cvr9781476712048_9781476712048_hr

I am picking Eakins, Illinois (is this a real place?) from Jamie McGuire’s books (Beautiful Disaster, Beautiful Sacrifice, etc…), aka hometown of the Maddox brothers. Who knew one town, let alone one family, could produce so many stunningly attractive, Player-turned-One-Woman-Men? Must be something in the water…


You’re about to go on a flight to your summer vacation but you want to read a book that lasts for the whole flight. What novel (la) do you choose?

23346285

It’s difficult to choose New Adult books that aren’t embarrassing to read on public transport, what with all of the sexytimes… Thankfully, you can make the font on your Kindle incredibly small, and NOBODY WILL EVER KNOW. So, the book I’d choose for a flight would be The Line Between by Tamsyn Bester. This was a real page turner – full of angst and drama and tension. Perfect to read in one sitting.


You have a case of summertime sadness! What happy book do you pick up to shine a smile on your face?

fangirl-rainbow-rowell-cover-677x1024

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I feel like I’m sort of cheating again with this one, as I’ve seen this categorised as YA in bookshops, but the characters are college-aged, so I’m throwing it in there anyway. I love this book, and re-read it whenever I’m sad because it’s just so lovely. Cath is a very relatable protagonist, and Levi… oh, he was just adorable, and I defy you not to fall in love with him.


You’re going to the beach alone… Which fictional character will be your beach babe?

81rT6VZXV4L

Kellan Kyle from the Thoughtless series by S.C. Stephens. Although having said that, it might get a bit annoying being mobbed by all of his groupies…


To match your ice cream you want an icy cool sidekick. Which fictional sidekick do you pick?

91j43y1igvl-_sl1500_

I’m picking Ethan Holt from Bad Romeo by Leisa Rayven, because he’s frosty on the outside, but sweet on the inside (yep, apparently I really did just say that…!) If you’re looking for a new book crush (because my God you will fall hard), you absolutely need to read this book.


Share the summertime happiness! Who do you tag?

Anyone who hasn’t done this tag yet (aka nobody, because literally everyone has done it already!)

Leave a Reply

