The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The Burrito Bowl Book Tag

on September 15, 2015

burrito-bowl-book-tag

Thank you to the lovely Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard for tagging me. (You can check out her awesome blog here.) I appreciate this tag immensely because it combines my 2 favourite pastimes in the world, ever: reading and EATING.

I’ve been AWOL for the past 2 weeks due to preparing for a 2nd job interview, and then anxiously flailing around worrying about the outcome of said job interview, so it’s taken me a while to get round to this one. I was planning on posting last night, but then I found out I got the job(!!!!), so my evening became mainly about drinking Prosecco instead! If you’ve nominated me for any tags/awards over the past couple of weeks and I haven’t replied yet, I’m not ignoring you – I will hopefully be posting my answers sometime this week or next! 🙂

So, on with the Burrito Bowl tag (I’ve never actually eaten a burrito in my life, but now I kinda want to, even though I’ve just eaten dinner. Why HELLO second dinner!):


RICE: The foundation – “The book that got you into reading (or book blogging)”:


Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling.

 There was never really going to be any other answer to this question. This is the story that turned little-tiny-child-Jess into the full-on-book-junkie she is today. I have a distinct memory of reading this book aged seven, in my pyjamas, in a fort I’d made from my mum’s laundry airers and drying clothes, refusing to come out or get dressed all day because I was so into the book that I couldn’t bear to be parted from it. Not much has changed since then, although sadly it has been a while since I did any reading inside a fort made of laundry.


BEANS: The filler – “A book with a whole lot of nothing happening”:

91pwc0JJO6L._SL1500_

Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern

I liked the concept of this book (it’s told entirely in letters, emails, etc.), but honestly, I spent so long waiting for these 2 characters to stop faffing around and just get together already (and endured page after page, year after year, of their mundane lives without each other), only to find that [SPOILER ALERT] in the final scene, all they do is stand and look at each other… and smile. 579 pages, they’re supposedly made for each other, and they can’t even manage one poxy kiss at the end of it all?! Are you kidding me?!?! I cannot express enough how literally nothing happens in this book.


PROTEIN: The building block- “A book quote to live by”:

before i fall

From Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver:

“Maybe you can afford to wait. Maybe for you there’s a tomorrow. Maybe for you there’s one thousand tomorrows, or three thousand, or ten, so much time you can bathe in it, roll around it, let it slide like coins through your fingers. So much time you can waste it.
But for some of us there’s only today. And the truth is, you never really know.”


FAJITAS: The crunch of texture – “A book with immaculate world-building”:

Throne_of_Glass_UK

Whaaat, totally confused by this; who puts a fajita INSIDE a burrito?! Tbh, probably awesome and not-at-all -greedy people like me who thoroughly appreciate the concept of second-dinner.

Anyways… back to the booky part of the question: the world-building in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas is outstanding. But damn, wouldn’t it be horrendous if you actually lived in it? I’ve spent a lot of time in this world over the past 2 weeks as I’ve just finished reading all 4 books back-to-back. I won’t say too much more about them here, because my review of Queen of Shadows is coming soon – and let’s be honest, I’m that lazy that I’ll probably just end up plagiarising myself – but, spoiler alert, I am now completely obsessed with them.


SALSA: The dance of flavour – “A book that kept you on your toes”:

UnwindBookCover

I’ve never been so unbearably tense during a book as I felt reading the Unwind series by Neal Shusterman. I devoured these books because the pace was relentless, and I never, ever felt like the characters were safe; I had to know they were going to be okay, even if it meant compromising on real life (e.g. sleeping, eating and breathing) in order to get to the end and find out.


CORN: The explosion of sweetness – “A memorable scene involving friendship/romance”:

download (1)

I seem to fangirl over The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot rather a lot on this blog, but my most memorable romance scene will always be the part in Book 3 where Michael tells Mia he feels the same way via a computer game he has designed just for her, aka the most adorkable admission of love humanly possible.


CHEESE: The bond of calcium – “Two characters from different books you wish could be friends”:

I would love for Jace from The Mortal Instruments and Celaena Sardothian from Throne of Glass to team up and hunt demons together (platonically). Their banter would be amazing, and the whole thing would be freaking badass.


 SOUR CREAM: The tangy topper – “The quirkiest character you’ve ever read (protagonist or supporting)”:

The_Rosie_Project

I’ll probably have to choose Don Tillman from The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion as the quirkiest protagonist I’ve ever read. He thinks and speaks and experiences the world in a wonderfully different way, and the fact that he doesn’t even realise this, and certainly isn’t ashamed of it, makes him infinitely more lovable.


GUACAMOLE: The cost of creaminess – “A book you paid too much for”:

61mmPH6h+8L

A book I paid way too much for was Acceptance – the third book in the Southern Reach Trilogy by Jeff VanderMeer. I loved this series, but was disappointed with the lack of answers to my questions in the ending, and this book cost over £9 on Kindle. It irritates me when the final instalment of a series is double the price of the other books – publishers know you’ll pay it, because you have to find out what happens at all costs!


LETTUCE: The handful or crispness – “A refreshing concept/theme in a book”:

MissPeregrineCover

I loved the use of creepy old photographs in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. This was a fantastic concept, and really added to the eerie atmosphere of the book.


CHIPS: Le piéce de résistance – “A must-read recommendation if you like (this book/genre- you decide)”:

download

If you like vampire stories, but are dead bored of all the pretty undead boys who decide at first sight that they’re capable of human emotions and don’t actually want to eat you after all, check out The Coldest girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. This was an edge-of-seat read with a strong protagonist (not easily dazzled) and genuinely terrifying vampires who definitely wouldn’t hesitate to rip you apart.


TABASCO: The kick to the face – “your favourite fight/action sequence”:

18006496

I loved the action sequence in Queen of Shadows where Aelin and Manon finally meet, and all hell breaks loose. I won’t spoil what happens, but it ended up being one of my favourite scenes in the book.


For this tag, I nominate:

Kimsiang @ TheSpinesBreaker

Cristina @ mytinyobsessions

Susanne @ susannevalenti

Joey @ thoughtsandafterthoughts

Aura @ Oxfordwriterslounge


As always, if you’ve already done the tag, or don’t feel like it, then feel free to ignore.

This tag has made me hungry, so I am off in search of food. Bye for now…

6 responses to “The Burrito Bowl Book Tag

  1. Wow! Great list! I haven’t read most of these books. Thanks for doing the tag. I am beyond excited to read Ransom Riggs’s books in preparation for the upcoming release of Library of Souls! 🙂 Anyway, is the coldest girl in coldtown standalone?

    • mudandstars says:

      Thanks again for tagging me 🙂 Me too, I have only read the first book in the series (definitely recommend!), but planning to read Hollow City soon! Yess Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a standalone, as far as I know (maybe she will write a sequel one day?!). I am on the look out for standalones at the moment because series take over my life haha xx

  2. That Aelin and Manon scene is amazing! Definitely one of the best parts of the book!

  3. Aura Willow says:

    Awesomeness! Thanks for tagging me. I too have been dormant so shall do this asap.

Leave a Reply

