The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

Book Fangirling Award

on September 18, 2015

Thanks to Syc from The Lit Mermaid for the nomination! I love her blog, so please do visit here. Fangirling is one of my main hobbies and interests (sadly not one I can legitimately list on my CV), so I thought I’d have a go at these questions straight away!

blogawardbutton

  1. Create a post to accept your award.
  2. Add the blog award button into your post and put it on the side of your blog as a widget. Visit fangirling for the award button.
  3. Answer the questions set by the person who nominated you.
  4. Nominate between 5-10 book bloggers who you think also deserve this award.
  5. Come up with your own 5-10 questions for your nominees.

Here are my answers:

1) Have you ever done anything embarrassing while fangirling?

Yes, and this Twilight moment is probably one of the most embarrassing of my life, full stop. I’ll let this Facebook status from my university days do the talking:

twilight facebook

2) All time favourite book. Only one.

Because I’m a fickle person, I’m going to cheat and give 2 answers here – my favourite book of all time, and my fangirliest book of all time, which for me are different things.

If it’s favourite book OF ALL TIME, I’m going to have to choose something from when I was a teeny-tiny person. This is therefore not the most fangirly of answers, but I’m choosing the Brambley Hedge stories by Jill Barklem, which are basically about a load of teeny-tiny mice that live in these cosy houses carved into trees, and spend all their time going to seasonal gatherings such as summer weddings where they drink primrose wine, and winter dances where they roast crabapples and eat snow pancakes. I mean can you get any more ridiculously adorable? My mum and dad bought me the complete collection as a nostalgic present on my 21st birthday:

brambly hedge

And now, for fangirliest book of all time, my nomination simply has go to… ANYTHING CASSANDRA CLARE HAS EVER WRITTEN. If I had to choose one book, I will go with The Bane Chronicles, which FYI, I got signed by Cassandra, AND Sarah Rees Brennan at YALC earlier this year, and may have had a mini-OKAY-FINE-MASSIVE-meltdown over!!!! Magnus Bane may be my favourite fictional character of all time (tied with Bridget Jones), because he is witty and pretty, magical, flamboyant and wise. If you love Mortal Instruments, and desperately want to know why Magnus is banned from Peru (trust me, you really do, it’s ridiculously hilarious), you need to read this:

TBC_cover

3) How many books do you read on an average in a month?

Before I started blogging, it was around 8-10 a month, but now I’ve slowed down quite a lot because I’m taking notes, etc. – maybe 5?

4) Have you ever fangirled to your parents?

Yes, I fangirl to literally anybody who will listen.

5) When was the last time you fangirled and why?

I fangirled hard when I found out that Throne of Glass has been optioned for TV. They better get that casting damn perfect, or I do not know how I am expected to cope.


6) The WORST book to movie/TV adaptation you have seen that you reverse-fangirled over?

I’m not sure I’ve ever reverse fangirled over anything, as I always fangirl over the book before I watch the movie. But if the question were simply what’s the worst book to movie adaptation you’ve seen… Where do I even start?

wheredoistart

7) How does it feel when you finally obtain a long, long awaited book?

I cannot find a gif which adequately illustrates the extremity of the flailing.

8) Any embarrassing fangirling stories? (I know, this question is already asked but I still wanna hear!)

Well, it’s not about books, but…

1d cake

9) What was your biggest book hangover?

I’ve probably already mentioned this, but my biggest book hangover was from Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. I was ruined for other books afterwards, and it was so severe that instead of starting something new, I just began Before I Fall all over again…

10) Which book made you cry for the first time?

I think the first book to make me cry from sheer heartbreak was Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman. However, and this is sort of cheating as it was the film adaptation that did it, but I remember crying at Charlie and the Chocolate Factory back in primary school because I was so terrified that the poor girl who got turned into a giant blueberry would be stuck that way for ever… and then you never saw her come back, so my darkest fears were confirmed. That book/film is a candy-flavoured dystopian nightmare for children, seriously.

I’m nominating:

Prim @ Messingwithimagination
Nicola @ BookBunny
Jess @ Princessicaofbooks
Amy @ Curiouserandcuriouser
Erika @ Erikainbookventureland

Because it’s been a brainmelty kind of week (so I’m struggling to think of questions right now), and also because they are pretty great questions any way, if you want to take part, please use the questions I answered above 🙂

2 responses to “Book Fangirling Award

  1. Erika says:

    This looks fun!Thank you so much for the tag! ❤

Leave a Reply

