The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The Reading Habits Tag

on September 22, 2015

Thank you to Giovanna over at the Book Coma Blog for tagging me! You can check out her fabulous blog here.


1) Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
I like to read in the bath, with Yankee candles (and wine!), or cuddled up in bed with a cup of tea and a hot water bottle, because I’m a total grannypants. If I’m really into a book though, I will take it everywhere around the house with me, including to the bathroom, and balance it precariously on my knee whilst I do stuff like wash my face and brush my teeth.


2) Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Bookmarks! I’ve collected them since I was a tiny child, hence this rather questionable bookmark choice for such a badass looking book:

CNMFPxJWwAAtc1l


3) Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop at the end of a chapter/a certain amount of pages?
It depends what I’m reading, but if it’s something addictive, I will not stop, and I will stay up all night if I have to. I think this is why I stagger around like a sleep deprived zombie most of the time. If I’m not thoroughly sucked in, I will still read to the end of the chapter at least; I could never just stop on a random page.


4) Do you eat or drink while reading?
I don’t like to eat whilst reading because I am the messiest individual in the world, and I will spill something all over the book.


5) Multitasking: music or TV whilst reading?
Apparently men can’t multi-task and women can, but I find this frankly to be LIES. I cannot multi-task in any way, shape or form, and God help each and every poor soul on the roads of the United Kingdom when I start learning to drive again… I could maybe cope with some low key music, with no lyrics, whilst reading, but TV would distract me completely.


6) One book at a time or several at once?
I try to read one book at a time, but I’m notorious for abandoning books mid-way through when a shiny new release comes my way.


7) Read at home or everywhere?
Most of my reading actually happens on the bus to work. Only if I get a seat though, because reading in a moving vehicle whilst attempting not to fall into a stranger’s lap requires levels of balance and poise I will simply never reach.


8) Read aloud or silently in your head?
Silently, however when I was studying Chaucer at university I would read aloud, because Old English is impossible to get your head around if you don’t (even if you do sound like a total dick doing it).


9) Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
I never skip pages, but I’m always accidentally glancing at the bottom of the next page and spoiling stuff for myself.


10) Breaking the spine or keeping it new?
The only pristine books I own are the ones I’ve never opened.


11) Do you write in books?
I had to deface a lot of classics whilst I was at university (the horror!), but I don’t really like to write in books unless I’m studying them. I highlight ALL THE LINES on my Kindle, but I can’t bring myself to do the same with a real book.


I tag:

Aira @ airareads
Dee @ thebookishkhaleesi
Deanna @ anovelglimpse
Calliope @ calliopethebookgoddess
Jenny @ readerinareverie

No pressure to do this if you’ve already done/are busy/can’t be bothered 🙂

4 responses to “The Reading Habits Tag

  1. Oh my god, I always peek at the bottom of the page 😉

  2. tanazmasaba says:

    Num 9 is so me lol😄

Leave a Reply

