The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award

on September 28, 2015

First of all, thank you so much to Rae @ Bookmark Chronicles for nominating me for this award. I love reading her opinions on all things bookish, and you can check out her blog here. I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long to post my answers – life has been rather hectic lately – but it does mean a lot to me when I get these nominations!

I love the idea of this award, because one of my favourite things about book blogging so far has been discovering new blogs and discussing books with bloggers from all over the world.

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-014

Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  • Put the award logo on your blog
  • Answer the ten questions sent to you
  • Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer
  • Nominate ten blogs for the award

 


My answers:

1. One thing that you cannot live without

Yes, I totally qualify as an adult human, but the thing I could not live without is this stuffed toy pig. His name is Piggly Puff. If you’re a child of the 90s, you will understand why:

pigglypuffjigglypuff

2. Favourite meal

Mashed potatoes and gravy, but really I will eat anything with gravy because I am obsessed with it. Gravy doesn’t always love me back though, as this Facebook status from my university days of fending for myself for the first time goes to show:

messyjessie

3. What do you typically eat for breakfast?

Marmite on toast (because I’m a lover not a hater), orange juice (because I do TRY with the whole 5-a-day thing), and a cup of tea (because I’m British and we can’t function without it).

4. Book(s) that would make a good TV series:

I’m totally cheating with this answer, because the two series I desperately want to be made into TV shows are already:
 #1 – Shadowhunters (Mortal Instruments) is in production right now, and I’m so ridiculously excited it’s not true! After that shocker of a City of Bones movie adaptation, I am hoping with all my heart that this will be a million times better.
#2 – Throne of Glass has literally just been optioned! SO. MUCH. FANGIRLING.

If I had to properly answer the question, I think that if they ever remake The Princess Diaries, it would make a fantastic TV show. I love Disney, but it would be awesome to have an adaptation where they don’t Disneyfy all the characters, and instead make them how they actually were in the book.

I can’t think of any others specifically, but I generally enjoy TV more than film, because there’s more opportunity to develop the characters, and this is something that all book series would benefit from. Movies never quite do them justice.

5. Worst book you’ve ever read:

This is a tough question, as I really hate being mean about books, but a book I really struggled through was called Wreckage by Emily Bleaker. I got this book for free on Kindle First. The premise sounded amazing – 2 survivors of a plane crash are stranded on an island for 2 years; they’re eventually rescued, but when they return home, they make a pact to lie about what really happened while they were there… nobody can know the truth. This sounded so intriguing, but the twists were predictable and disappointing, and the characters had very little personality at all.

6. Favourite seasonal beverage (hot cocoa, pumpkin spice, eggnog etc.):

Hot chocolate and Baileys! I buy this at Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park every year, because it tastes like Christmassy.

7. What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading For Holly by Tanya Byrne. It’s set in my favourite city in the world, Paris, and it’s really making me want to go back there!

8. If you started another blog, what would it be about?

If I started another blog, it would be super-serious stuff, politics… philosophy… current affairs… Okay, fine, whatever… it would totally be about One Direction.

9. What’s your dream job?

Mainly, I would like to be J.K. Rowling, and write all day in a massive castle.

But yeah, in all seriousness, I just want to be a writer, in any way I can be. And one day, I would love to be a published author.

10. If you could go anywhere in the world (all expenses paid) where would you go?

There are so many places I want to go (I’ve never actually been outside Europe before!)

My top 5: India, Japan, USA, New Zealand and Iceland.


My questions for the nominees:

1. What’s you favourite thing about book blogging?

2. Is there anything you find difficult about blogging?

3. What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

4. How many books (if any) have you DNF’d this year?

5. Which TV shows are you ridiculously obsessed with?

6. Do you do any writing in your spare time other than blogging?

7. What’s the most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to you?

8. What’s your favourite bookish quote?

9. Which author would you be most star-struck to meet?

10. Have you ever dreamt about a character from a book? If so, which one, and what happened?


My nominations go to the following lovely people:

Tanaz @ bookishfreaks

Cherry @ readforevermore

Deanna @ anovelglimpse

Bailey @ planandread

Sumaya @ sue’sreadingcorner

Annette @ annettereads

Magda @ maginibooks

Alicia @ thecyborgknight

Jenaca @ jenacidebybibliophile

thebibliotheque

If you have already been nominated for this award (which it seems everyone in the world already has!) then no pressure, but if you fancy answering the questions then I’d love to see your answers.

5 responses to “Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Alicia says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination! I loved your answers. I too am quite a messy eater!

  2. Congrats on your award! And thank you for nominating me! I’ve already been nominated but it was really sweet to think about me! 🙂

  3. […] want to thank Jessica at Mud and Stars for nominating me for the Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award! I really appreciate […]

Leave a Reply

