The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

September Haul and the Ever Shrinking Shelf Space

on September 29, 2015

P1010725

It’s been a whirlwind kind of month, and I’m wrapping it all up a day early, because tomorrow evening I will be relaxing at a spa with the girls from work, so blogging (and basically anything else you can possibly think of that requires thinking) will be the last thing on my mind. I’ve booked myself in for the ‘Celestial Floatation’ treatment. I am still not exactly sure what that is, but it sounds magical.

Lots of awesome things have happened over the past 4 weeks… I got offered (and accepted) a new job… I also reached 100 followers on this little old blog, which I was so, so happy about!

100follows

I’m ecstatic that even one person takes the time to read my rabid fangirling book reviews, let alone more than one! Thank you so much to anyone who has followed me over the last two months – you’ve made my day/year/life.

Speaking of lives being made, I also achieved one of my lifetime goals this weekend, when I saw One Direction at the O2 Arena in London (4th time, FYI) and I was literally 10m away from them… Yep.  I FREAKED OUT.

P1010720

So September wins already. Not even Christmas can top this.

In terms of book-buying, I’ve been a bit naughty again this month. Here’s my haul for September…


***To have and to hold***

I’m rapidly running out of space for all of the physical books I’ve been buying…

The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness

the_rest_of_us_just_live_here_patrick_ness_cover

Reviewed here.

Running Girl – Simon Mason

Running-Girl-front-cover-

The cover of this book is rather funky, and I can’t think of many other crime/detective series in the YA category, so I’m looking forward to something a bit different with this one!

For Holly – Tanya Byrne

41zDuNNLaCL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Currently reading – review coming soon.

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell – Susanna Clarke

9781408856888

I bought this book for my boyfriend for his birthday. However, I am definitely going to steal it.

All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

all-the-light-we-cannot-see-9781476746586_lg

A Pulitzer Prize Winner! I picked this up in Foyle’s when I went shopping in Stratford (yes I went on a major shopping spree and only returned with books…) It has been a long time since I’ve read anything considered properly ‘literary’ – I’ve heard some amazing things about this one, and I’m really excited to give it a go.

All of the Above – James Dawson

23156540

I went to a panel event about sex and sexuality in YA fiction chaired by James Dawson, and he was hilarious and brilliant – it was by far my favourite event at YALC. If his books are anything like his in-real-life personality, I am going to adore this one.


***Digital love***

I don’t think I went too cazy with my Kindle haul this month…

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass Book 3) – Sarah J. Maas

Heir-of-Fire-UK

As you may already know, I had a massive Throne of Glass marathon at the beginning of September where I read all 4 books back-to-back. I now have a huge all consuming obsession with this series.

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass Book 4) – Sarah J. Maas

18006496

You can read my ginormous review here. It turned into a bit of a rambling dissertation, and I still have so much more to say about how incredible it was.

Asking for It – Louise O’Neill

13824_868764553180826_1488146986302490688_n1

I just finished reading this. Review coming soon.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Becky Albertalli

51POxFOMEmL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I downloaded this after finishing Know Not Why by Hannah Johnson as I was in the mood for some more LGBT romance with quirky characters and lots of banter. However, I struggled to get into this one, and I think it’s because I was still majorly book-hungover. I will definitely come back to it though, as this seems like exactly my kind of book.

Toil & Trouble: A Know Not Why Halloween (Mis)adventure – Hannah Johnson

f5d1ada20b09dd5b9a56a7a766ca29a6

This is a novella about the characters from Know Not Why, which I’ve already mentioned above. I loved the book so much (review coming very soon), so I had to buy this! As it’s set around Halloween, I’m going to save this one up as a cosy comfort read when the October nights start drawing in.


So, that’s… 11 books? Oops… Somebody should seriously take my debit card away from me, before I ruin myself financially. It’s my birthday next month, so I’m going to do my best not to buy any books until then. Not putting much faith in these intentions though, tbh.

Have you read any of these books? If so, would love to hear what you thought of them, so I can decide what to read next 🙂

11 responses to “September Haul and the Ever Shrinking Shelf Space

  1. I’m so excited to see All The Light We Cannot See in your haul! It’s my favourite book ever so I hope you enjoy it! I also loved Simon vs (dw, it gets better) and The Rest Of Us Just Live Here!

    • mudandstars says:

      Awe that’s really good to know, hopefully it will become one of my favourites too! 🙂 have you reviewed it? I’m definitely going to go back to Simon, I think I only stopped reading because I’d just finished something with quite a similar sense of humour in it and I needed to read something completely different to snap out of my book hangover! x

  2. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    Great haul! I really want to read The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. And congratulations on reaching 100 followers. I’m glad to be one of them. 🙂

  3. Almondine says:

    I’m reading All the Light We Cannot see right now and while I started out going “Ugh, I can’t deal with this right now”, I’m now at 60% and thinking I’m going to end up giving it 5 stars 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you think of it!

    • mudandstars says:

      Ooh that sounds promising! Is it a bit difficult to get into to begin with then? Look forward to hearing your final verdict when you’ve finished the book 🙂 x

      • Almondine says:

        Well, the use of language can be quite poetic, plus it’s about World War II, so I was like “Well, that’s two things I’m not in the mood for now” 😀 But stick through the first couple of chapters and you won’t be able to stop anymore all of a sudden!

      • mudandstars says:

        Haha okay I completely understand what you mean, I have to be in the zone for both of those things too. Will definitely stick with it, it seems everyone I’ve spoken too has really loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

