The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

My Life in Books tag

on October 9, 2015

2a74fe49ff258c000d701e37c6584bed018a8668aeb48a5cfe35277e0a693d1b (1)

I’m very slowly catching up with all these book related tags! This time I have been tagged by the lovely Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse to do the My Life in Books tag. You can check out Deanna’s blog here – I love reading her reviews!

This seems like a fun tag for a Friday night, because I definitely prefer poking around in my bookshelf of an evening, over, say, clubbing, or whatever it is people who have a life get up to these days…!


1. Find a book for each of your initials.

J(essica) –

P1010728

A(nnabel) –

P1010731

S(trachan) –

P1010732


2. Count your age along your bookshelf — which book is it?

The 24th book on my bookshelf is… Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I am embarrassed to say that I still haven’t finished it!

P1010734


3. Pick a book in your city/state/country.

Secrets of Oxford by one of my best friends in the entire universe (and also fellow blogger) Aura Willow! It’s a wonderful collection of inter-linking paranormal short stories set in Oxford, and I’m insanely proud of everything she has achieved! You can buy the book on Amazon, and it’s also being sold in the gift shops of various tourist attractions around Oxford, including Oxford Castle, which is the most awesome thing ever!

P1010735P1010736


4. Pick a book that represents a destination you would love to travel to.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt is set in New England, and I have always wanted to go there in the Autumn/Fall, because it looks stunning.

P1010737


5. Pick a book that’s your favourite colour.

I’m not sure I really have a favourite colour… maybe purple? In that case, I’ll pick Chocolat by Joanne Harris, which has a ridiculously pretty cover.

P1010746


6. Which book do you have the fondest memories of?

Madeline by Ludwig Bemelmans. I loved the Madeline stories when I was a little girl (which is maybe what sparked my infatuation with Paris). I was also obsessed with the TV show, and when I was about 5 I went through a weird phase where I made people call me Madeline instead of my real name… #creepychild

P1010743P1010744


7. Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

I struggled through Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy – it took me about 3 weeks to finish! The writing is beautiful, but some of the endless agricultural scenes where the characters are mowing/planting crops for 10+ pages bored me senseless. Nevertheless, I’m proud to say I made it to the end!


8. Which book in your TBR pile will give you the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it?

British History For Dummies! My mum bought this for me as a joke birthday present, because I have some rather shameful gaps in my knowledge about very important things… mostly involving the history of our country. I dip into this every so often, and I’ll be proud of myself if one day I can claim that I actually do know some of those things I’m already supposed to know.

P1010739


I’m tagging:

Anne @ inkedbrownies

Bree @ theliteraryhellion

Giselle @ hardworkboulevard

Rae @ bookmarkchronicles

Aura @ oxfordwriterslounge

Happy Friday everyone! xxx

9 responses to “My Life in Books tag

  1. Aura Willow says:

    Bless you – you are the most beautiful person in the universe xxx

  2. Aura Willow says:

    Reblogged this on Oxford Writer's Lounge and commented:
    Pure awesome:

  3. OMG. I love, love, love that you used I’m gonna pop some tags with that picture for this! It made my day!

  4. Wasn’t this tag fun?! I did it as well if you want to take a look https://fallinlovewiththesoundofwords.wordpress.com/2015/09/30/its-a-tag-my-life-in-books-book-tag/

    Thank you for the follow! Your blog is awesomesauce :-D.

Leave a Reply

