The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

‘The Autumn Book Tag’/’The Fall Time Cosy Book Tag’ Mash Up

on October 10, 2015

11021513_10152678552340894_785062956029135742_n

I have been tagged by two lovely ladies, Charley over at Books and Bakes, and Deanna of A Novel Glimpse, to get all autumnal and talk about the books I like to snuggle up with when the weather gets colder. I’m combining these two tags for obvious reasons, but for those I nominate, you can choose to participate in one, both, or neither… whatever you prefer!


The Autumn Book Tag:

What is your favourite thing about autumn?

299730_10150306841920894_2003661947_n

Autumn is my favourite season (I’m an October baby)… crisp mornings, falling leaves, cosy evenings in the warm. I also love Autumn because The X Factor is back on my TV screen, and I still have a soft spot for it, even though it’s the same every year, and full of ‘sob stories’, and the crap auditions are totally staged… it’s perfect comfy-pyjama viewing for a dark, chilly night.


What book reminds you of your school days?

Book_jacket_of_Twilight

It sounds crazy considering how much of a bookworm I am now, but during school I had a gap of several years where I barely read, because I was an angsty teenager struggling to cope with my own ‘issues’, let alone the problems of fictional characters. The book that got me back into reading was Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. It really did take over my life, at a time when I needed to be distracted, so it’ll always have a place in my heart, even though I am slightly embarrassed looking back on my all-consuming obsession.


What cover reminds you of autumn?

the accident season

The misty, atmospheric sky on the cover of The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle reminds me of fog settling on a chilly morning, and this book is the perfect October read. You can check out my review here.


What is your favourite horror or Halloween story?

night-film_custom-7c965903f63c61e0c0b5f99e565e76a3e8400db1-s6-c30

Night Film by Marisha Pessl. This book follows disgraced journalist Scott McGrath, who is investigating the suspicious ‘suicide’ of Ashley Cordova, daughter of controversial horror director Stanislas Cordova, whom Scott is convinced had something to do with Ashley’s death. It’s a huge book, but pacey, creepy and strange, and I was thoroughly sucked in, to the extent that I became a total zombie whilst reading it; although my body went through the motions of turning up for meals, having conversations with other humans, etc., my mind wasn’t present in the real world until a good few hours after I’d finished the book.


What is your favourite horror or Halloween film?

I’ve a feeling if I were to see it now, it would be lame and not scary at all, but I remember having 2 back-to-back sleepless nights after watching The Ring at a sleepover aged 13. To this day, I’m still not overly comfortable when old TVs go all fuzzy and make that hissing static sound…

giphy (8)

Image via Giphy.com


What fall book release are you looking forward to?

timthumb

I’m a big Sophie Kinsella fan, and there’s a new Becky Bloomwood book coming out soon (Shopaholic to the Rescue!) which I’ve got to get my hands on! This series never fails to make me laugh out loud.


What autumn movie release are you most anticipating?

mockingjay-part-2-poster

Mockingjay Part 2… Help, I’m going to bawl my eyes out in the cinema!


What are three books you plan to read this autumn?

Frozen-Charlotte-book-cover51RYKY1x0VL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_untitled


The Fall Time Cosy Book Tag:

Crunching Leaves: The world is full of colour. Choose a book that has reds, oranges and yellows on the cover.

download (3)

City of Heavenly Fire – Cassandra Clare. I love this cover, it’s just stunning. Coincidentally, I also adore what’s inside it! 🙂


Cosy Sweater: It’s finally cold enough to don warm cosy clothing. What book gives you the warm fuzzies?

8cfb66e81f5fdad540530e2f430c5dad

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I haven’t read much contemporary romance this year, but I’m starting to get back into it, and this is one of my favourites! Etienne St. Clair is adorable, I don’t think you can read this book without falling in love with him a little. Anna is also one of the most likeable protagonists in YA fiction.


Fall Storm: The wind is howling and the rain is pounding. Choose your favourite book OR genre that you like to read on a stormy day.

 dark matter

You can’t beat a good ghost story on a stormy day/night. I loved Dark Matter by Michelle Paver, a spooky story of isolation and creepy happenings, which takes place on a 1937 Arctic expedition to the supposedly uninhabited bay of Gruhuken…


Cool Crisp Air: What’s the coolest character you’d want to trade places with?

Isabelle Lightwood from The Mortal Instruments. She makes slaying demons and being a badass seem somewhat effortless, plus I really want her ruby pendant!


Hot Apple Cider: What under hyped book do you want to see become the next biggest, hottest thing?

tumblr_m06vgm94w51qan9xm1792017520423680

The Wayward Pines Trilogy by Blake Crouch. I’m not sure if these books are necessarily under-hyped, but I hadn’t heard of them until I randomly discovered the first book whilst browsing Amazon. They’re amazing! The story follows Ethan Burke, a secret service agent who arrives in the town of Wayward Pines, Idaho, looking for a colleague who went missing and was last seen there. He soon realises that something seems ‘off’ about the town – he can’t make any phonecalls to his wife and son, everyone seems determined not to believe he is who he says he is, and perhaps the most troubling thing of all… there doesn’t seem to be any way out of this creepy little town…


Coat, Scarves and Mittens: The weather has turned cold and it’s time to cover up. What’s the most embarrassing book cover you own that you like to keep hidden in public?

Fifty-Shades-of-Grey

Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James. I’ll admit that I’ve read it (though my ‘Inner Goddess’ wasn’t a huge fan, soz), but I definitely wouldn’t want to be caught reading it on the bus. Then again, I guess that’s what the tiny-size font on your Kindle is for.


Pumpkin Spice: What’s your favourite fall time comfort food/foods?

Anything warm and yummy… jacket potatoes, sausages… the kind of food you eat on bonfire night. 🙂


I tag the following people:

Ashley @ Socially Awkward Bookworm

Meg @ Little Blog of Books

Ali @ I Wuv Books

Dee @ The Bookish Khaleesi

Poulami @ Daydreaming Books

Alysyn @ Rein Reads


69146_444164195893_4993888_n

Autumn photographs courtesy of Iain Strachan (my – very talented – Dad!)

16 responses to “‘The Autumn Book Tag’/’The Fall Time Cosy Book Tag’ Mash Up

  1. Great picks! Thanks for playing along!

  2. Loved your answers. Thanks for tagging me! 🙂

  3. I agree with so many of these! I went through a long period of not reading for fun and it was the Twilight books that got me back into it – even if I don’t love them anymore. The Ring completely freaked me out when I first saw it, but I haven’t seen it in years and most scary movies these days just make me laugh, so I probably wouldn’t care about it anymore. I haven’t read the Pines series yet, but I watched the Wayward Pines tv show and it made me want to read it!

    • mudandstars says:

      I completely know what you mean about scary movies making you laugh, I have the same thing – I’m sure there are some genuinely scary ones out there, but so many are super-cheesy and predictable! You should definitely read the Pines series, it’s so addictive! I haven’t watched the TV show as I’m always scared to watch adaptations of books I loved – was it good?? I have to say I’m tempted to give it a go! x

      • The tv show started out really creepy and interesting, but then it got kind of silly. It ended ok, though, so I would probably say it’s worth a try.

      • mudandstars says:

        Ahh that’s interesting – I was worried about it getting silly as I saw a really cheesy trailer for the show! But it sounds like it had it’s good and bad parts, so I think I will still give it a go. The books manage to stay creepy most of the way through, although if you already know the twist it might make it less creepy. x

  4. sublimereads says:

    I just love autumn related things! I agree with what you said… I think autumn is the perfect combination of crisp air and cozy indoors. 🙂

  5. Good choices! Autumn is soooo the best season! You’ve earned yourself a new follower!

Leave a Reply

