The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

How I Read Tag

on October 20, 2015

how i read tag pic

Once upon a time (a month ago to be precise) I was nominated by the lovely Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse to do the How I Read Tag. September is such a long time ago that this tag doesn’t even appear on my WordPress notifications anymore, but luckily I managed to remember this one! Before I get started, I’m totally going to steer you away from my post, because you should all go check out Deanna’s blog – it is rather fabulous, and I wish I was as organised as her with my own posting schedule!

So, on with the questions…


How do you find out about new books to read?

I generally just trawl through Amazon, searching for things which I think sound like my cup of tea. If I fall in love with a book, I use Goodreads to find similar books. I also hugely trust the opinions of my fellow bloggers, and I’ve discovered quite a lot of excellent stuff from reading their reviews too.

giphy (12)

Image via giphy / tumblr


How did you get into reading?

When I was little, I used to get horrific nightmares every night, so bad that I was scared to sleep (now I think back on them, the only ones I can remember are the one where three massive bears came into my room, and the one where an evil queen stole my slippers, but like… they were totally scary, okay?)

I got into reading because it gave me an excuse to stay up late so I wouldn’t have to go to sleep. For some reason, the one that sticks in my mind is a non-fiction book about different types of garden-dwelling birds… not exactly a page turner, but maybe that was one to make me drop off, rather than keep me awake.

giphy (14)

 Image via giphy / tumblr


How has your taste in books changed since you got older?

I’d say my taste hasn’t changed all that much, because I still read a lot of young adult books (25 counts as a young adult, right? I mean, it’s not an old adult. Right?) One thing that’s changed is that when I was a teenager, I wouldn’t be interested in a book in the slightest unless the love story was the main part of it. I guess it’s because my love life wasn’t exactly happenin’ back then. Now I’ll read anything and everything (and, hey, sometimes I find romance in books sappy… it has to be done just right in order for me to like it). I also now love horror/thriller books, but I don’t think I’d have gone near them when I was younger; I found growing up scary enough.


How often do you buy books?

I buy books every fortnight, or really just whenever I see something  I have to have. I mean, technically I’m not supposed to, because I’m running out of physical room for them, and publishing’s not exactly investment banking where salaries are concerned, but I would go a little bit crazy if I didn’t have a book to escape into for at least part of my day, so they’re an essential life item I won’t forgo.


How did you get into book reviewing?

I used to write the occasional book review back when I had a LiveJournal account (although mainly I used that to whinge about how unfair it was that my mum wouldn’t let 16 year old me get her tongue pierced, or attend gigs in London without parental supervision….) However, I started this blog back in July after attending a workshop about book blogging, as I decided I need a proper outlet for my obsession.


How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?

I can never bring myself to completely trash a book (at least not in a review), but I will spend hours reading negative reviews on Amazon and Goodreads, to find solace in the words of somebody who feels my outrage and pain.

giphy (15)

Image via giphy / tumblr


How often do you sneak peak at the ending to see if there is a happy ending?

giphy (16)

Image via giphy / tumblr

I never do that, apart from one shameful time. It was the night Deathly Hallows came out, and I went into Oxford at midnight to get my copy, and there were loads of random drunk people wandering around the town centre shouting out fake spoilers about the ending. I was so paranoid, that I told my friends I needed the loo, then went and sat in a toilet cubicle in McDonalds to sneakily read the last page… The shame!


It seems everyone in the world has already done this tag, so I nominate… anybody who hasn’t!

7 responses to “How I Read Tag

  1. sublimereads says:

    Your answer to the last question… 😀 😀
    10/10, we’ve all done it before 😛
    ~Sarah

  2. Kat says:

    Lol I did not know you snuck off to read the ending of Deathly Hallows! #busted

    I always accidentally read spoilers on wikipedia when I’m looking up the author or something!

    • mudandstars says:

      Haha, ohh nooo I forgot you read my blog! I must remember not to post shameful secrets people I know in real life might discover! It’s because there were all those people wandering around shouting ‘He dies! He dies!’ and I was like… ‘Does he die? I need to know!’ I do the same thing with Wikipedia, especially when I’m looking up what order a series goes in.

  3. […] bunch of places, but most recently over at Jessica’s blog Mud and Stars, and her post is HERE if you want to check it […]

Leave a Reply

