The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

One Lovely Blog Award

on October 29, 2015

03-one-lovely-blog-award-badge

I’m very happy to have been nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award by the following lovely people:

Sumaya at Sue’s Reading Corner
Charley at Books and Bakes
Deanna at A Novel Glimpse
Alyssa at The Ultimate Book Geek

Thank you so much for nominating me!

If you haven’t already, please check out all of their rather lovely blogs!

RULES:

1. You must thank the person who nominated you and include a link to their blog.
2. You must list the rules and display the award.
3. You must add 7 facts about yourself.
4. You must nominate 15 other bloggers and comment on one of their posts to let them know they have been nominated.


First of all, 7 facts about me (I’ll try not to bore you too much…)

1) The name of my blog ‘Mud and Stars’ comes from a proverb my Grandad used to say:

“Two men looked out through prison bars, one saw mud, the other saw stars.”

My Grandad was always coming out with random lines from poems – he had a saying for every occasion. I thought this one was lovely, and have used it for various email addresses and blog names ever since.


2) I’m an INFJ personality type. If you’ve never done the Myers Briggs Personality Test, you should definitely give it a go – I’ve never read such a creepily accurate description of myself.


3) Austria is one of my favourite countries in the world, and if I ever become incredibly rich one day, I’d love to buy a holiday home in Kitzbühel. When I went there last summer, I decided to randomly become a daredevil for the day and go paragliding over the mountains. It was the most awesome experience of my life:

DCIM100MEDIA


4) I’m liberal, however I feel very strongly about not judging other people for how they vote (although I guess this might seem hypocritical because I used to do this exact thing, before I realised how judgey I was becoming.) It irritates me so, so much when people make snap assessments about what kind of person someone is based on their political views. We’re all entitled to our opinions… it’s called democracy.


5) I love Hollyoaks (for those living outside the UK, Hollyoaks is a British TV Soap about a village in Chester which has a disproportionately large number of murders and scandals going on for such a tiny place….) After I left university, the first job I applied for was a storyline writing job on this show, and I ended up attending a writing workshop there (which was basically in place of an interview). I didn’t get the job, but I did get to go around the set (I had to act like a professional and hold in all the fangirling, which took considerable effort on my part):

P1020673


6) I am an impatient person, and slow-walking people in Oxford who spread out across the entire pavement when I’m trying to get to the bus stop make me very ragey indeed.


7) In case it wasn’t already obvious, I’m obsessed with boybands, and always have been. I have been to see One Direction (x4), Westlife (x3) and Take That (x5), to name a few. People may mock, but I don’t believe in being embarrassed about the stuff you love!


My nominations go to:

Paul @ thegalaxialword

Aura @ oxfordwriterslounge

Bianca @ theultimatefangirl

Savi @ yatopia

Calliope @ calliopethebookgoddess

Sarah and Faith @ sublimereads

Stefanie @ yourdaughtersbookshelf

Jen @ mybookiejourney

Sara @ freadomlibrary

Nya @ nyareads

Dee @ thebookishkhaleesi

Magda @ maginibooks

Annelise @ anneliselestrange

Ashley @ sociallyawkwardbookworm

Paige @ pagebypaige


If you’ve already done this award tag, or tags aren’t your thing, please feel free to ignore this, but know that this is me saying I consider your blog lovely and deserving of recognition 🙂

24 responses to “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. What a fabulous quote – I love the imagery of it. Lovely post, thanks for the tag.

  2. Great facts! I love how you got your blog name! Very cool.

  3. Thank you for the nomination!
    I’ll add it to my to-post list 😀

  4. Ha ha, I’ve done this one already, but thanks for thinking of me! 🙂

  5. Thanks so much for nominating me! That quote is so beautiful, and I love how you got your name. I took that personality test that you linked to this post, and you’re right, it’s creepily accurate! Funny thing- I got the INFJ Personality too, which is crazy because it’s supposed to be “very rare, making up less than one percent of the population” or whatever. Maybe it’s a bookworm thing. 😉 Anyway, great post!

    • mudandstars says:

      You’re welcome! And thanks, glad you liked the quote! 🙂 That’s awesome, another rare INFJ! I think it probably is a bookworm thing, a lot of people who love reading are naturally quite introverted and have a lot of feelings haha! Apparently we’re in good company, as Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandela and Mother Theresa were all INFJs too!

  6. sublimereads says:

    Aw, Thanks for this adorable award ❤
    Me and Faith will totally do it 😀

  7. Slow-walking people are one of my biggest pet peeves too… And they ALWAYS walk in a row. There’s just no getting around them.

  8. I love your grandpa’s proverb! Gorgeous.

    I have a bit of a weakness for boyband music too, but I wouldn’t say I’m obsessed with them. If a boyband song comes on the radio then I’m going to dance the hell out of it though! No shame.

    • mudandstars says:

      It’s lovely isn’t it? 🙂 I wish I knew where it came from, I tried googling it but didn’t really have much luck. And yesss, boyband music is excellent for that haha!

  9. Sourin ghosh says:

    Wow your personality really comes across in this. There must be a way of getting more of your ‘best’ friend on this blog. Xx

  10. Annelise B. says:

    you are so not boring, haha! It was very nice to know a bit more about you, sweeting! And thanks so much for the indication! I’ll try to do it this weekend, but I can’t promise anything before november 10th, haha! College first, unfortunatelly ://

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww thank you, glad it wasn’t boring! 🙂 And you’re very welcome, look forward to reading your post! Don’t worry, I know exactly what you mean – it took me ages to post mine, life is so busy!!

      • Annelise B. says:

        Aww, thanks! And yeah, it is a pain, haha! I told my mom that college was lowering my performance on my blog and instagram and she was like: “are you kidding me?” LOL

      • mudandstars says:

        Hahah, that is amazing! I’m definitely going to use that argument in relation to going to work!

      • Annelise B. says:

        HAHAHA, Thank you! People just don’t understand our social media needs, right?! Hahaha! I hope this excuse works better for you ;DD

Leave a Reply

