The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The Book Courtship Tag

on November 15, 2015

Thank you to Erika @ Erika in Bookventureland for tagging me to do this one! You can check out her fabulous blog here.

The Book Courtship Tag was originally created by LovelyLikeLaura. I love the idea of this tag, as my love of books is bordering on romantic. ❤


Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

41fJpid8ePL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

The Three by Sarah Lotz

I don’t feel particularly romantically towards this book, but I was initially drawn to it because of its striking cover! It’s a psychological thriller about the conspiracy theories which emerge when 4 planes crash at the same time in different parts of the world, and 3 children (who all start acting rather creepily in the aftermath) are the sole survivors. I really enjoyed it, however I was hoping for more answers than the ending gave me.


Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

17404760

I bought One Step Too Far by Tina Seskis based on this blurb:

“An apparently happy marriage. A beautiful son. A lovely home.

So what makes Emily Coleman get up one morning and walk right out of her life? How will she survive? And what is the date that looms, threatening to force her to confront her past?

No-one has ever guessed her secret. Will you?”

I was so determined to defeat this book and guess the secret! However, I didn’t work it out, and I’m glad; a good twist is an un-guessable twist, and this one completely floored me (breaking my heart in the process).


Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

6a010536b33b69970b017ee82ff5e6970d

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

The way Manderley and its grounds are described is so vivid and atmospheric, you feel like you’ve spent time at the house, rather than simply read about it. I love Daphne du Maurier’s short stories too – a lot of them are dark and creepy, but in a subtle way; her writing makes the most ordinary things (for example an apple tree in the garden) seem sinister, and it’s just so good!


Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

download (6)

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I read the trilogy during my final year exams at uni, as a break from the more heavy literature I was revising. I finished all three within the space of a week (even though it wasn’t what I was supposed to be reading!) Dystopian YA is so addictive, it’s not hard to see why it’s basically taken over the world.


Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

41k66TFC43L

I stayed up all night reading Mockingjay. I desperately needed to know how the series ended! It’s not my favourite of the three (is it anyone’s?), but I think the amount of criticism it gets is unwarranted; I couldn’t stop reading (even though, as I’ve mentioned, I was totally meant to be revising at the time…)


Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

noughts and crosses

Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman (one of my favourite books of all time) affected me deeply (as I think it does everyone who reads it). This is a love story, but the overarching themes of racism and intolerance make this a powerful and devastating read. I remember reading this aged 13; it was the first book to make me think, and the first book to make me cry.


Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

51byEETIfrL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

I got this gorgeous cloth-bound edition of A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens a few Christmasses ago! It looks and feels beautiful… (ugh, I’m not normally someone who gets all touchy-feely about her books, and now I feel a bit creepy!)


Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you would recommend to your family and friends?

9780141046426

The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole Aged 13 ¾ by Sue Townsend.

The Adrian Mole books are brilliant comfort reading – they’re light and funny, but still manage to be poignant and truthful in what they say about life and growing up. I think everyone will find something they relate to in these books.


Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future?

tumblr_nra2occpPb1rxz4l8o1_400

I completely agree with Erika’s answer for this one; I will be re-reading the Harry Potter books for the rest of my life! I grew up with them, and hope to read them to my own children one day. I don’t think they’ll ever lose their magic.


Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag?

I’ve got some award tags coming up in the next few weeks, and I’ll of course be nominating some lovely people for those, but today, I am feeling lazy, so I’m just sending lots of bookish love and hugs to you all… I’m tagging… everyone! xxx

27 responses to “The Book Courtship Tag

  1. Great post! I loved your answers! I also thought Rebecca was a beautiful book. And I’ve always loved Noughts and Crosses. I think I pretty much read all the Hunger Games books in one sitting- they were so addictive! And I can’t wait to read HP again- it’s been ages. 🙂

    • mudandstars says:

      Thanks you! Have you read any of Daphne du Maurier’s other books? Rebecca is the only of her novels I’ve read, but her short stories are amazing, I really recommend them! And you should definitely do a HP re-read, I’ve just started one myself, as I got that illustrated edition of the first book – it’s so pretty! 🙂

      • Yeah, I’ve read quite a few actually. It was a long time ago but I remember Frenchman’s Creek and the King’s General being a couple of the other good ones. Yeah, I really want to get that- so maybe I’ll save the rereading till then 🙂

      • mudandstars says:

        Thanks, I’ll definitely check both of those out, as I really want to read some more of her novels! 🙂

  2. Love your answers. Some of the books I’ve read and totally loved, and some I haven’t read but am now very excited to.

    Everyone adores Rebecca don’t they? I love du Maurier to pieces but am saving Rebecca as a grand finale. du Maurier’s short stories are amazing. I loved Don’t Look Now, Blue Lenses, and The Birds. I haven’t read The Apple Tree although I own it and now it’s moving way up on the TBR priority list.

    I want to do this tag since it seems super fun and I love the questions. Hope you don’t mind if I act like I’ve been tagged.

    • mudandstars says:

      Yes Rebecca is amazing! If you love du Maurier’s short stories, you will adore Rebecca! I’m actually going to see a stage play version of it tomorrow, so that should be good 🙂 I don’t think anybody does atmosphere like she does. Probably why so many of her stories got turned into Hitchcock movies! Don’t Look Now is the one set in Venice isn’t it? I remember the ending of that one being really scary haha, although maybe I am just a bit of a wimp. I loved Blue Lenses (the concept was so interesting/creepy) and The Birds too. I definitely recommend The Apple Tree! And yeah, please do go ahead and do the tag, I look forward to seeing your answers! 🙂

      • “I don’t think anybody does atmosphere like she does” – I completely agree. The way she evoked the environment in The Birds was sheer perfection.

        Yes, Don’t Look Now is the one set in Venice. Loved that one as well — That story plays on my favorite horror trope: is it the supernatural at play or is it just paranoia?

        The ending of Blue Lenses gives me the shivers. And oh look, this has turned into a du Maurier appreciation post. Hahaha, apologies for polluting your comment feed. Enjoy the stage play of Rebecca! Have an excellent time.

      • mudandstars says:

        That’s one of my favourite horror tropes too! I love books where you’re never quite sure what’s real and what isn’t. And don’t worry, I don’t consider it polluting my comment feed at all! 🙂 It’s always lovely to be able to talk to people who have the same taste in books as me!

  3. bookbearblog says:

    Rebecca, Hunger Games, Noughts and Crosses, HP and Adrian Mole – some of my favourite books in the whole world!

    • mudandstars says:

      Yay! Always nice to meet people who have the same taste in books as me 🙂 This post pretty much did turn into a list of my favourite books of all time! What other books are on your list?

      • bookbearblog says:

        Love the Hobbit too, Donna Tartt’s books (particularly) the Secret History and pretty much any children’s books! You?

      • mudandstars says:

        I love The Secret History too! I’ve got The Goldfinch to read, but haven’t got round to it yet! My other favourites are a mixture of stuff… My favourite classics are Tess of the D’Urbervilles and Wuthering Heights… 1984 is one of my favourite books too. Other than that I think most of my favourites happen to be YA or Children’s books. I really love a book called Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver (in fact that’s probably my favourite YA book of all time!)

      • bookbearblog says:

        Tess is on my list and I think Wuthering Heights and 1984 are amaing too. I’ll check out the Lauren Oliver book at some point – I’ve heard good things about her!

      • mudandstars says:

        Ooh, let me know what you think if you do decide to read it at some point 🙂

  4. selinn92 says:

    I just heard about Rebecca (for the first time ever!) this weekend, and now I’m seeing it on your list. I am now officially convinced that I need to read this soon. Thanks 🙂

  5. I remember reading Noughts and Crosses and basically having me heart broken. One of only of a handful books that have made me cry 😢.

  6. 1623mellon says:

    Great, liked your answers and even got encountered with books that I haven’t read! 🙂 I am also planning to do this fun little tag! 🙂

  7. Erika says:

    Thanks for doing the tag! I really need to read Rebecca soon! I’ve heard great things about this book. 🙂

  8. stephthebookaholic says:

    I loved the Adrian Moles books when I was in high school ♡ 🙂

Leave a Reply

