The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The TBR Book Tag

on November 20, 2015

the tbr book tag pic

I was tagged to do this one (quite possibly a million years ago) by Maria @ Marwhal Reads and Ariana @ The Quirky Book Nerd! So sorry it has taken me so long!

Both of these ladies have brilliant blogs, which are well worth visiting, so please do check them out 🙂

Before I get started, another quick apology, because I am in what I believe is formally known as a BLOGGING SLUMP! 😥 Today’s post was supposed to be a review. In fact, I have a couple of books waiting to be reviewed, but I can’t articulate coherent thoughts about either of them right now, because the part of my brain that makes sentences is a melty puddle of end-of-a-long-week mush, and I am in need of ALL THE SLEEP. My review of Carry On by Rainbow Rowell will hopefully be ready by Monday, but I have never been this sleepy, so I can’t promise anything!

*** Anyway, on with the tag! ***


How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

anigif_enhanced-buzz-15818-1376582777-0

Image via Buzzfeed / Tumblr

I think the answer to this question would be that I don’t! My TBR pile (both physical and digital) is a sprawling mess which keeps on expanding. I have no idea how many books are on it (probably hundreds… thousands if you include all the books I can’t afford to buy!) I recently got myself a Goodreads account though, so I’m hoping that will help me become a bit more organised.


Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?

I have a lot of print in my TBR, but I’d say there are more unread books on my Kindle. I prefer real books to-have-and-to-hold, but I don’t have enough space to buy everything in print. I also think e-books are less of a commitment – if something sounds like a quick, fun read, but I’m not 100% sure it’ll be a favourite for life, till-death-do-us-part kinda thing, I’d prefer to download it.


How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

I don’t really have much of a strategy beyond picking up whatever I’m in the mood for. Sometimes if I really get into something, I’ll read a string of similar books (e.g. this month, I have read nothing but M/M romance!) However, usually, if I’ve read a book in a particular genre, I’ll deliberately pick something completely different next time, so I don’t get bored.


A book that’s been on your TBR the longest?

the-book-thief-book-cover (1).jpg

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I bought this book several years ago, and I still haven’t managed to finish it. Every time I pick it up, I read the first chapter, but find I’m not in the mood for it. I don’t know why I can’t get into it – there’s nothing WRONG with it (and I know it’ll be worth it one day), it’s just I keep failing to get past the first chapter. What is wrong with ME?!


A book you recently added to your TBR?

red_queen_book_cover_a_p

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Technically I bought this book in August, but I only remembered I had it the other day, when I found it buried at the bottom of one of my precariously tall towers of books-that-won’t-fit-on-the-shelf. I picked this one up at the airport on my way to Italy, but ended up not reading it, because it’s not exactly a beachy-read, and billion-degree heat makes me too lethargic to read anyway. I might give it a go next month!


A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

Don’t get me wrong, I love me a beautiful book, but I tend to largely ignore covers – I’m more concerned with what’s inside.


A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

Let’s be honest, I’m never going to read the third 50 Shades of Grey book. I’m not even sure why I read the second one. Or the first.

giphy (18)

Image via Giphy / Tumblr

Also never going to finish A Game of Thrones. Too long. Too incesty. Too many characters. Sadly it just wasn’t for me… I tried!


An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

tumblr_inline_nud81nJ3131tv10ry_1280

How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

Coming out in February, this is the second book in ‘The Normal Series’, which follows three girls – Evie, Amber and Lottie – who form a group called The Spinster Club to talk about feminist issues. I read the first book – Am I Normal Yet? earlier in the year and loved it! Book one is narrated by Evie (who is recovering from severe OCD), and the second book will be from Amber’s perspective. Holly’s writing is honest, funny and moving – can’t wait to read this!


A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you?

15749186

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

Everyone in the book-blogging world seems to have read and loved this book. I had trouble getting into it for some reason, and I gave up a few chapters in. I’ve shelved it for the time being, but will give it another go one day, as I hate to abandon a book.


A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

220px-Aristotle_and_Dante_Discover_the_Secrets_of_the_Universe_cover

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Benjamin Alire Saenz

I think I’m cheating with this answer, as it’s not really on my TBR anymore – I just finished it! It was adorable and lovely and everything I was told it would be! ❤


A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

download (4)

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I am so, so excited to read this book, I’m practically squealing!


How many books are in your Goodreads TBR shelf?

Only 15! I literally just got a Goodreads account, so no doubt I’ll be adding to it soon! There are 203 books on my Kindle Wishlist though… no idea when I’ll find the time to read all of those!


I tag the following lovely people:

***As always, no pressure if you’ve already done the tag/tags aren’t your thing/you are feeling as sleepy as I am right now and therefore can’t be bothered!)***

theorangutanlibrarian

thesheshe

Alex @ alextheshadowgirl

Mishi @ mytokyoblues

Ellie @ belleinfini

Luucy @ makingdaysbetter

14 responses to “The TBR Book Tag

  1. Maria says:

    The Book Thief is the oldest book on my TBR too! I have the same problem…every time I pick it up, I just feel kind of ‘meh’ about it. I really do want to get to it someday, but I just never feel excited to read it!

    • mudandstars says:

      Yeah, I get the meh feeling too! I don’t know why because it’s a really interesting concept and the writing is beautiful, I can’t pinpoint what it is that’s stopping me from getting past that first chapter! I’ve read it so many times I practically know it off by heart!

  2. belleinfini says:

    Thanks for the tag, I look forward to doing this soon! I looks like fun. I loved reading your answers 🙂

  3. Ayunda says:

    The book thief is totally on top of my TBR too!

  4. Ooh I absolutely loved The Book Thief. I actually had to read it in high school and it’s probably my favourite required read of all time! The writing and narration is a little bit hard to get into so I can understand why you gave up after the first chapter. But it’s definitely worth it! Maybe (if you’re not picky about reading the book before seeing the movie), you can watch it first? It’ll definitely help you get into the book a bit more.

    • mudandstars says:

      That makes sense actually, it probably is the narration that I’m finding a bit jarring as it’s written in quite an unusual way, although I do think it’s great concept to have Death as the narrator! I think perhaps watching the movie first would be good, so I know what’s awaiting me and have a reason to get past that first chapter! I’ve heard nothing but good things about it, so I’m hoping I will love it when I give it another chance 🙂

  5. Yaay, Goodreads is the best to keep track of books you want to read! -it’s also THE DEVIL because well, it makes you want to read ALL the books, haha 🙂
    So glad to hear you love Aristotle, I can’t wait to read that book! 😀

    • mudandstars says:

      Haha yeah I have a feeling Goodreads is only going to add to my neverending TBR problems! I keep spotting new things I want to read, but I don’t even have time to read all the books I own at the moment! Ooh hope you enjoy Aristotle and Dante if you decide to read, I loved it. 🙂

      • Haha, that always happens to me, too. I can’t help myself and I add TONS of books to my TBR, but I don’t even have time to finish all the books I already have. The struggle is real, haha! 🙂
        Thank you! I hope I can read it soon! 😀

  6. Annelise B. says:

    I CRACKED UPSO HARD WITH YOUR MERLIN GIF! IT IS EXACTLY LIKE THAT, LOL! And I wish my list of TBR at goodreads was smaller… I have 930 TBR books against 936 read books… OH THE STRUGGLE, hahaha! (but I’m a member since 2012, I had much time to register all the books of my life (cof almost cof) and to dig up that marvelous website…

    • mudandstars says:

      I know, as soon as I saw that gif, I was like ‘this gif UNDERSTANDS me’! Hahaha exactly, the struggle is real!! I am expecting that my goodreads TBR will soon be just as long as yours! 930 is pretty impressive!!

      • Annelise B. says:

        Exactly!! This gif defines my life with books, haha! 😀 And don’t worry, we’ll exchange so many book recos that soon enough your TBR goodreads list shall be huge too, haha! ❤

Leave a Reply

