The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The Sunshine Blogger Award

on November 29, 2015

sunshine-blogger

I have been nominated for The Sunshine Blogger Award! Thank you so much to theorangutanlibrarian for nominating me (who has a fantastic blog, by the way, so please go check it out, right now!)

I realise I say this in almost every award post or book tag I do, but I’m sorry it has taken me so long to respond to this! Life is getting in the way of bloggy things recently, but I do appreciate every single tag 🙂


The Rules:

  • Answer the 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you
  • Nominate some wonderful bloggers and write 11 questions for them to answer

My answers to The Orangutan Librarian’s questions:

1. What is your favourite Disney movie? Why?

My favourite Disney (Pixar) film is Toy Story. Fun fact, I once got ID’d in the supermarket (aged 24) buying the Toy Story trilogy boxset. These films are rated ‘Parental Guidance’, so apparently I look like an ACTUAL CHILD?!?!

giphy (21)

Image via Giphy


2. Have you ever had an extreme case of déjà vu? What happened?

I definitely experienced déjà vu when I read Life and Death “Twilight Re-imagined”… I mean, it was basically the same story, except for this:

landscape-1444139323-bella-edward-gender-sswapped

How terrifying is this picture though?! 


3. What are your top 3 book genres?

Psychological thriller, fantasy and contemporary romance.


4. If you could only ever live in one season all year long- which one would it be? And why?

My favourite season is Autumn, but if I had to be trapped in a never-ending season, I think I’d have to go with Spring, because I couldn’t cope with the lack of sunlight – I’d be lethargic, slumpy and grumpy all year round.


5. What are the top 5 things that make you smile?

The people I love
Books
Boybands
Wine
Pizza


6. If you were a mutant (like in X Men) would you side with Professor X or Magneto? Why? And what would your power be?

I’ll shamefully admit I know virtually nothing about X Men (I’ve only seen one of the films), so I’m not sure how to answer the first part of the question… but, if I had to have a special power, I’d love to be able to pause time like Hiro Nakamura from Heroes, and I would use my extra time to read ALL THE BOOKS, because I’m kickass like that.

 

giphy (22).gif

Image via Giphy 


7. Sing the cheesiest song in your repertoire at the top of your lungs- which song was it?

This classic, obvs:


8. You encounter a ghost/demon/scary house- how do you react? What do you do?

When I was little, I thought I saw a ghost-girl in my Grandma’s closet under the stairs, and started freaking out. She tried to rationalise the situation, and pulled out this draught-blocker (basically a long sausage-shaped item you put by the front door to keep the wind out) which was resting against the back of the cupboard, and told me that’s what I’d actually seen. Still not convinced, tbh.

Anyway, we then, for some reason, cut out some eyes, a nose and a mouth from a piece of paper, coloured them in, and glued them to the draught-blocker, so it wouldn’t be scary any more.

In hindsight, we probably made it look a lot MORE sinister by doing that… And I’m pretty sure I’d now run away if I saw an actual ghost, and not stick a paper smiley face on it…


9. If you could go back in time to any period in history, *when* would you go to? Who would you like to meet? What would you do?

Definitely the 1920s. If Gatsby weren’t a fictional character, I’d go to one of his parties. I’m lame at parties though, so I’d probably hang around with that drunk guy from the book who sobers himself up by sitting in the library.

giphy (23)

Image via Giphy / Tumblr


10. Would you survive the Zombie Apocalypse? How? (I’m looking for tips :p )

33e547861debc88666b83bdae80dfeda2381befa1da9f3bf62e2e40d210f2c71

But yeah, no… My brains would get devoured on day one!


11. What did you do for Halloween? Who/what did you dress up as?

I stayed in this year with the boyfriend. We watched cheesy ‘horror’ movies, and ate loads of Haribo (because we didn’t get any trick-or-treaters). I didn’t dress up this time, but this is how I’ve been known to roll on the creepiest night of the year:

BXihXbjIEAAZj46

I’m sure you can tell by the tissue-paper rosy-cheek unpeeling from the side of my porcelain face that this is the obligatory aftermath-of-the-night-out selfie…

Sweet dreams, y’all.


My questions for the nominees:

  1. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life, which book would you choose?
  2. If you were stranded on a desert island, which 5 fictional characters would you most like to be stuck there with?
  3. Which Hogwarts House are you in?
  4. Who is your least favourite main character of a book and why?
  5. What is the most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to you?
  6. What is the weirdest dream you have ever had?
  7. Which book do you wish you had written?
  8. Have you ever met anyone famous, and how did you react? If not, who would you most like to meet and how you do think you would cope with it?
  9. Which TV shows are you addicted to?
  10. What were your first words?
  11. If you had another blog, what would you blog about?

My nominations for this award go to:

Danissa @ thebooklandia
Marian @ bookception
Fran @ jarofbooks
Dee @ thebookishkhaleesi
Deanna @ anovelglimpse
Matt @ jesusfreakusa
Alyssa @ theultimatebookgeek
Bear @ bookbearblog


**As always, there is absolutely no pressure to do this tag if you’ve already done it before/tags aren’t your bag/you’re drowning in a sea of them with no hope of ever catching up!**

14 responses to “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. I love your answers! I would want to have Hero’s power too! Thanks for the nom!

  2. Oh my god that twilight picture!

  3. […] was recently nominated for The Sunshine Blogger Award. Thank you Jessica @ Mud and Stars for the nomination! It was very sweet of her to think of me! If you haven’t checked out her […]

  4. Great post!! Ahh your answer to number two made my eyes bleed! Haha that is a great use of Hiro’s power! Haha love that you chose wannabe. Gosh I wouldn’t want to be the ghost that messes with you! 1920s is probably my choice too! I’d love to meet Fitzgerald. Wow, creepy note to leave it on!!
    I’m a Ravenclaw. I had a really weird dream the other night where my bathtub filled up with leaves so the water wouldn’t go down- does that count? And if I thought I could do it responsibly, and not give myself a heart attack getting full on rage-monster, I’d blog about politics. But blogging about books is a) more enjoyable and b) better for my blood pressure!

    • mudandstars says:

      Thanks! Haha, it made my eyes bleed too! I’d love to meet Fitzgerald too, one of my favourite writers. I’m glad you’d bet on me against a ghost, I think I’d make a pretty badass ghostbuster armed with my pritt stick and safety scissors!
      I wanted to be a Ravenclaw, but I’ve come to terms with the result, and I have nothing but Hufflepuff pride! Definitely a contender for weirdest dream, I wonder what it means?! That’s cool that you would write about politics! I’m really interested in politics, but I think I’m too central and indecisive in my views to write about it, and I don’t think I could deal with all the confrontation from people who have a better understanding than I do! I think politics brings out the rage-monster in everyone haha (love that expression, by the way!)
      Thanks again for nominating me 🙂

      • You’re welcome! Me too!! Hahaha that’s the most hilarious image ever! I think I’d make a pretty timid ghost to be scared off by that.
        Hufflepuff is great- my sister’s a Hufflepuff so I am duty-bound to like them! I have no idea- I’ve been wondering that for days! I’ve had loads of weird dreams lately, so maybe my brain’s trying to tell me something. (Like don’t be fooled how pretty autumn is, it can be scary… or something…)
        I’m a little too strident to be honest. It can be exhausting (for me as much as other people).My views have also become pretty central recently- so it’s probably a bit weird- it’s a bit like saying “I feel really really strongly about er… being moderate and considering all our options” Somehow I manage to make even that extreme :p and if I don’t understand, I’ll go away, look it up and then argue with people about it later (or change my mind if the research proves me wrong/their argument was good enough) haha it definitely does! (thanks very much!) You’re welcome!! 🙂

  5. Annelise B. says:

    I laughed soooooooooo hard with your answers, hahaha! AWESOME! And you’re right: calling the Winchesters always will solve the problem! ❤

Leave a Reply

