The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The Desert Island Book Tag

on February 2, 2016

I’ve been tagged to take part in The Desert Island Book Tag by the lovely Deanna from A Novel Glimpse! You can check out her fabulous blog here.

The weather is pretty grim in little old England at the moment (the wind is literally HOWLING like a funfair haunted house outside my window), so I’d give anything to be sprawled out on a tropical island somewhere right now. Obviously in a luxury-beach-resort-with-cocktails, rather than a Tom-Hanks-in-Cast-Away, kind of a way…

desertisland

1. Water: a book you simply cannot live without.

I always find the favourite book question impossible to answer! In an ideal world I’d cheat and say my Kindle, which is full of books I’ve loved, and unread ones I’m dying to start, but if I were legitimately stranded on an island, having to get my basic-survival-skills thing on, finding a power source to charge up said Kindle could prove tricky…

To save my battery dying, and me being left all alone without even a fictional friend to my name, eventually losing my mind and drawing a face on my Kindle, calling it Wilson, and screaming his name into the void when he drifts out to sea and finally abandons me forever, I’ll be sensible and answer the question properly. Sort of…

giphy (2)

If I were stuck on an island, I’d honestly get bored reading the same thing over and over again (and being bored of a book is the saddest thing), so I will choose my notebook, and I’ll make up my own stories to pass the time. A blank page is an endless source of possibilities…


2. Food: a book that is a close second on your favourites list.

before i fall

As I gave such a cop-out answer to the first question, I’ve now given the incredibly pompous impression that a notepad full of my own writing is my FIRST FAVOURITE BOOK, and whatever I choose in answer to this next question is second best. Oops! Must stop cheating at book tags!

I don’t have a favourite book of all time, but if I had to assemble a desert island top 5, Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver would certainly make the cut! It’s a powerful novel all about the impact our actions can have on other people without us even realising, and I cried AN OCEAN OF TEARS at the ending. I’ve read this book several times, and I notice new things every time I open it, so I’ll gladly re-read this one until the end of my desert island days.


3. Shelter: a book that makes you feel at home and safe.

6553810-M

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot was my comfort-blanket growing up! As my awkward-and-geeky-book-soulsister, Mia Thermopolis UNDERSTOOD the sheer horror of being a teenager and going to school, and she gave me hope and reassurance that the best way to survive all of that and come out of it a) alive and b) self-actualised, was to keep on being myself and nothing less!  I will always have a special place for this series in my heart.


4. Flare gun: a book you would recommend to a person that doesn’t read.

51POxFOMEmL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I’d choose Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, because it’s a quick, fun read, with characters who feel like people you’d want to hang out with in real life. I re-read this book recently to get me out of a reading slump (a really bad one where I didn’t have the energy or inclination to face books at all), and it totally worked, because this book is so easy to get into.

I defy anyone who reads this book not to finish it with a massive smile on their face, and a mushy-melty bundle of feels where their heart used to be!

You can read my review here.


5. Fire-matches: a book that warms your heart.

13614864

A book I fell in love with last year was Know Not Why by Hannah Johnson. If you love Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, you NEED to read this book! Slightly older characters and it’s obviously different plot-wise, but there are so many similarities with Simon vs… including an adorable LGBT romance and extremely loveable characters, plus lots of banter, pop-culture references and LEGIT laugh-out-loud moments.

This book was the literary equivalent of a giant squishy hug, and I was basically doing a happy-dance something akin to this throughout my entire reading experience:

giphy (3)

You can read my review of Know Not Why here.


6. Compass: a book that directed you towards your love of reading.

Oh man, I didn’t want to be predictable, but I’d be lying if I told you any different…

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover


I’m feeling lazy today, so I’m tagging anyone who would rather be on a beautiful sunny island right now than hugging their laptop for warmth like I currently am… aka EVERYONE!

If you were trapped on a desert island, which books would you want to keep you company?

 

 

 

36 responses to “The Desert Island Book Tag

  1. Annelise B. says:

    Come to my place – Brazil is on the middle of it’s all year summer and Carnival is next week, haha! ;D Now I’ll read the rest of the post, excuse me.

    • mudandstars says:

      Believe me, I would love to! I had to write a piece about the Rio carnival today at work, and I was searching for images and it looks so much fun, I am very, very jealous! And even more jealous of the all year summer haha.

      • Annelise B. says:

        really? hahaha! That’s awesome 🙂 It is kind of fun and very colorful. But the summer deal is nicer than Carnival itself, haha! People get oh-so-crazy during next week lol

      • mudandstars says:

        Haha crazy in what way? Yeah, well by piece I mean like 2 lines to introduce a blog post in our newsletter lol… totally counts 😛

      • Annelise Lestrange says:

        crazy like super drunk and high, with all the alcohol and drugs and adrenaline, haha! Too many parties at the same time, so much noise lol and yeah, totally counts ❤

  2. Annelise B. says:

    Okay, now I’m done, haha! Loved your answers 😀 You got me cracking up a bit on the beginning, as the drama is so real ❤

  3. I loved your answers! Thanks for participating! 🙂

  4. hahah at the first answer because i’m sure your stories would be great!

    • mudandstars says:

      Hahaaa thanks! Not sure how much sense my writing would make after being stranded on an island for so long though 😛 I am actually writing a short story set on an island right now, so this tag is quite good timing.. that is if I ever get round to finishing it! 🙂

  5. Oh no. The first question was torture. When I first read Before I Fall back in the day, I remembered that I really loved Oliver’s writing style. The premise was very intriguing! I’m so excited for the movie adaptation. 🙂 Great answers! ❤

    • mudandstars says:

      It is such a tough question, isn’t it? I love her writing style too – she manages to convey so much meaning without resorting to over-the-top descriptions (unlike a certain other series we’ve been discussing haha!) Have you read any of Lauren Oliver’s other books? I had completely forgotten about the movie adaptation, thanks for the reminder! I am always a bit nervous when they make books I love into movies, but I think this one will make an amazing film if they get it right.

      • I only read her first book in the Delirium series but I wasn’t able to finish the entire series. Idk why I’d suddenly lost my interest to continue but I remember that I did enjoy the story. Panic was on my TBR tho.
        When it comes to interesting premise, Oliver has always something new to offer. 🙂

        Haha. I can totally relate on our favorite books being adapted into movie. Me Before You will hit theaters this June and I couldn’t hide my anticipation! XD

      • mudandstars says:

        I enjoyed Delirium, but I do know what you mean – I found myself losing interest. I did finish the series, but I found that the first book was best and the others weren’t quite as good. Panic I wasn’t a huge fan of, but I really enjoyed Vanishing Girls. Her other book is on my TBR (I think it’s called Rooms or something like that?) Yes she definitely does have some interesting premises, and I always find her books refreshingly different. Oooh I haven’t read Me Before You, but I watched the trailer for the film and now I think I’m going to have to!! I have been warned I’m going to need tissues though!

      • I read the sequel Pandemonium a year after and kinda forgot what happened in the story. I should’ve marathoned the entire series, I got distracted with other series that time. I think I read The Selection along side with the Delirium sequel. But I finished all the Delirium novellas. 🙂 I was so curious how the story ended. I’ve heard the Delirium was adapted into a TV series with Emma Roberts but idk why some episodes never landed on screen.

        YASS! Read Me Before You! It’s such a heartwarming story. The movie casts were great!

      • mudandstars says:

        I’m definitely adding Me Before You to my wishlist (and I probably will end up buying it this month because I have no will power when it comes to books!) I’ve never read The Selection – are the books good? I think what happened with the Delirium TV show is that they only made the pilot, but couldn’t get enough investment to make the rest of the show 😦

      • I read Me Before You and I loved it but the sequel sucks. I think the first was more than enough. I read The Selection in 2013 and I had not read a lot of dystopian fiction so I was completely hooked. The writing style and the characters were silly but I remembered it was entertaining.

        Aww. That’s a bummer. Too bad I love Emma Roberts. 😦

  6. Great answers! Before I Fall is one of my favorites, I cried, too. It was so good. 🙂

  7. I need to read Before I fall! It looks so good! I loved this post!

  8. clemireads says:

    Before I Fall is such an amazing book!! ♥

  9. A says:

    Haha loved your answers 😂 This was such a fun tag!

Leave a Reply

