The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The Wine Book Tag

on March 12, 2016

I’ve been tagged by the lovely Deanna over at A Novel Glimpse for this book tag themed around wine. I have a love/hate relationship with wine… I love IT, but it HATES me and leads me to do all kinds of mortifying things, cry (hiya, emotional drunk over here!), and generally feel unpleasant the following morning.

giphy (10)

I digress. On with the tag…


Box Wine – a book people will judge you for liking but you like it anyway!

stepdeae

Admit it – you’re judging me for reading this just by looking at that cover (I’m sort of judging me too…)

giphy (11)

Let me be clear: I do find it weird that ‘stepbrother romance’ is now an official genre, but I enjoyed this book. I’m of the opinion that if the characters actually grew up together it’s icky… BUT… if a character’s parent remarries, and they end up with an unwanted step-sibling they so happen to find themselves attracted to…

Okay, it’s still a little weird, but c’mon… they’re not actually related, nor have they spent their whole lives acting as if they were… there are weirder things in the world of forbidden love (I’m looking achoo Jacob and Renesmee.)

Whilst I’m not gonna claim Stepbrother Dearest is ‘literature’, I enjoyed the hot guy/angsty romance combination… so yeah…

giphy (12)


Organic Wine – a book that doesn’t have any added crap in it and is just written perfectly.

perksof

I love the simple way this book is written – everything Charlie says is achingly honest, and that’s what makes this book so bloody beautiful.


Gluehwein – a really spicy, wintery read.

blackice

Okay, I really drew a blank with this question. The only thing I can think of that fits the bill (ish) is this book… it’s got the wintery setting down, and there’s plenty of bite to the storyline, with twists and dark secrets aplenty.

Side note: I did enjoy this book, but some parts had me almost laughing with the sheer lack of believablity… for example *mild spoiler* this book features the most casual reaction to finding a murdered corpse I’ve ever seen in a book (surely you’d freak out just a little…and y’know, run the hell away!), AND said dead body doesn’t appear to have any kind of odour whatsoever, even though it’s been there for a good while…

giphy (13)

That’s right. Second Damon Salvatore gif of the post. You’re welcome.


Sauvignon Blanc – a really sharp and aggressive read that you couldn’t put down.

20877902

I picked this book up expecting your average new adult fare (damaged characters, steamy romance, ANGST) but it completely blew me away – it was so dark and visceral and raw and the characters were so flawed and real – totally addictive reading, and SO MANY FEELINGS.


Pinot Noir – a book you didn’t expect much from but ended up getting blown away.

Oh damn, I should’ve looked at this question before answering the previous one. Instead I’ll choose…

The-Trial-184x300

I had to read this as part of my European Modernist Fiction module at uni, and the other two books I had to read as part of that course (Swann’s Way and Zeno’s Conscience) were a total drag, so I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this book in the slightest. But I LOVED it. As you’ll probably know by now, I’m a huge fan of creepy and surreal fiction, and this book is one of the weirdest and most unsettling books I’ve ever read. The plot centres around a man named Joseph K. who is arrested for a crime he hasn’t committed… the jarring thing is, he doesn’t know what that crime is, because nobody will tell him what he’s supposed to have done. And of course he believes he’s innocent… but is he really? Nothing makes sense in this story, which is what makes it so terrifying.


Chardonnay – a good summer read that was super zesty.

DistanceBetweenUs_Update

This book was refreshing and the dialogue was brilliantly witty. Also it’s mainly set in a doll shop, which was fun (there’s a lot of doll-based humour in the first chapter…) and quirky (but not in a try-hard way.) It’s contemporary with a kick.


Rosé – a book that has a little bit of everything in it.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

The Harry Potter books have something for everyone… they’re not just about magic, adventure, and good vs. evil, but about growing up, forming deep for-life friendships, and becoming the person you’re supposed to be.


Shiraz – a full-bodied book that is dark and juicy.

night-film_custom-7c965903f63c61e0c0b5f99e565e76a3e8400db1-s6-c30

Words cannot express my obsessive infatuation with this book. It’s Sovereign. Deadly. Perfect. (that’s a quote from the book, I’m not being creepy.) Night Film is one of those books where you’re never quite sure what’s real and what isn’t… and you will lose your mind trying to work it out one way or the other.


Merlot – a smooth, easy read with a soft finish.

15749186

This was the perfect light read – angst-free and just plain lovely. You can read my review here.


Champagne – your favourite book.

I don’t have a favourite book of all time, but this is probably my top ten (in no particular order):


This lazy Saturday I am tagging anybody who wants to take part in this book tag… Have a lovely wine-filled weekend everyone! xxx

Gif source: Giphy (here, here, here and here)

 

26 responses to “The Wine Book Tag

  1. The Perks ❤ Too all the boys I've loved before ❤ Such great answers! 🙂

  2. So many great choices here! I especially love The Distance Between Us! Thanks for doing this one! 🙂

  3. haha you should see the covers of some of the books I’ve read :p Untouchable sounds great 🙂 ahh I love Tess, Wuthering Heights and Noughts and Crosses so much!!! The Trial is fantastic. Great post!!

    • mudandstars says:

      Haha now I am curious… what’s the most embarrassing one you’ve read?! Unteachable was a great book, the writing was beautiful (which I totally wasn’t expecting!) Glad you love some of my favourites – I love all of those books so much. Do you have a favourite book of all time? Also I’m glad I found somebody else who has read The Trial, I don’t know anyone else who has even heard of it (apart from people who did my course obviously haha!)

      • haha I read some Anne Stuart books on the tube lately that had some embarrassing covers- it’s safe to say I hadn’t realised what I was getting into until I started- cos if I had known I’d have read them in the safety of my bedroom :p And I read a couple of books all about romance with werewolves- I think it was more the names than anything that embarrassed me- it was something like Wicked cravings or something equally awful. But the covers were weird cos they were half romance-y, half wolves-y- so I felt like this was gonna look like I’m reading some super niche erotica- which essentially I was :/ (hehe that got a little bit more frank than I thought it would). I really struggle with that! Depending on my mood, it’s usually either Peter Pan, the Hobbit or Emma 🙂 (or a ton of other books) Really! I did it at uni too 😀

      • mudandstars says:

        Haha amazing – it’s fine, who doesn’t love a bit of Werewolf Erotica every now and again?! Werewolf Stepbrother Erotica… now there’s a niche! I think we should embrace these embarrassing covers and feel no shame. I definitely relate to the public transport thing though, which is why Kindles are so handy, although those pesky over-the-shoulder readers can be a problem haha…And that’s awesome, I love Peter Pan too. I’ve never read Emma but I loved Persuasion and Pride and Prejudice. I’ve read about half of The Hobbit (I was really busy so abandoned it for a while and by the time I went back to it I’d kind of lost the thread) but I did love it and plan to re-read it (and finish it!) this year! 😀

      • haha exactly- anyone that says they don’t is either a guy or lying :p hahaahaha yeah that would be niche- jeez- I can kind of picture where that would go as well. I think we should to! Haha yes that’s why they were invented! But yeah- reading over the shoulders is bad- especially when there is absolutely no room so all they can do is look at what your reading…. ah I adore Emma- hopefully you’ll like it too. And I love Persuasion and Pride and Prejudice too. Yeah, hopefully you enjoy the rest of it 🙂

  4. Great choices. I too will admit to liking the occasional stepbrother romance 😉

  5. Annelise Lestrange says:

    Damon Salvatore gifs. Thank you, you made my Saturday, love! *—* Loved your answers in general as well too, I swear I wasn’t just staring at Damon’s gifs… You know, not all the time lol And you don’t need to feel ashamed for the stepbrother “genre” at all, haha! I was already expecting worse when I saw the cover and your words, not just some erotic heavy romance lol (don’t even ask the kind of things that I usually read HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH)

    • mudandstars says:

      I thought you might appreciate the Damon gifs haha! I don’t blame you if you were distracted by them ❤ Hahah thanks, that has made me feel better – and now I am very curious, what things have you read that are worse?!!

      • Annelise Lestrange says:

        I did, soooo much 💕💕💕 thank you for leaving me happily distracted 😁

  6. “Night Film is one of those books where you’re never quite sure what’s real and what isn’t…” — Oooh, one of my favorite tropes!

    Good thing I already have Night Film. Haven’t read it though. Hopefully this year! *fingers crossed*

    • mudandstars says:

      Oh it’s AMAZING! I’m so happy you have the book – I hope you love it as much as I did. It’s one of my favourite tropes too, so if you have any recommendations for anything similar then let me know as I’d love to read more books like that ❤

  7. vinnieh says:

    I must say I really like your blog.

  8. ravenandbeez says:

    Unteachable sounds amazing. *adds it to the ever growing pile of tbr*

  9. […] saw this tag over on The Mud and Stars Book Blog, and knew I wanted to do it. I feel like I haven’t done a tag in a while (if you tagged me in […]

Leave a Reply

