The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

My Intimidating TBR tag

on May 20, 2016

Good news, guys! I finally kicked my reading-slump’s sorry butt into last week! Some book reviews will be coming your way shortly, the first of which will be my review of More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera, which was so good I finished it in a SINGLE DAY. In the meantime, it’s Friday, so I’m kicking back with a book tag, because I’m kinda rock ‘n’ roll if you must know…

giphy (32).gif

Source: Giphy

I was tagged to do the ‘My Intimidating TBR’ tag by the lovely Lauren over at Wonderless Reviews. If you don’t already follow her, go check out her blog right now, because it’s awesome! 🙂


What book have you been unable to finish?

thevilla

The Villa by Rosanna Ley

I picked this book up a few years ago thinking it would make a nice, light, summer read, but I found it really bland, and in the end I just couldn’t be bothered to finish it. I also found myself getting really irritated by the sections of the book told from the POV of the main character’s teenage daughter. The voice was all wrong for a seventeen-year-old, and she kept coming out with really weird exclamations of astonishment at least twice per paragraph, such as “Lolloping Lemurs!”, and “Jumping Jellyfish!” Who speaks like that?! I just found the whole thing a bit cringe.


 What book have you yet to read because you just haven’t had the time?

n23284

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

I borrowed this book from my friend Kat, and today I actually asked her if she wanted it back because I fear it may sit on my bookshelf until we’re both grey and old and the world has come to an end. I’ve wanted to read this book for so long (because the premise is so creepy and intriguing), but the problem is that this book is SO LONG.

It took me virtually an entire day to read 40 pages (it’s about 700 pages in total with fairly small print), because the writing style is so dense (it’s written in the style of an academic text) and it’s one of those books where you have to really concentrate to appreciate.


What book have you yet to read because it’s a sequel?

theroseand

The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

I’m possibly one of the only people left on Planet Bookblog who hasn’t read The Wrath and the Dawn, so naturally I haven’t even bought myself a copy of The Rose and The Dagger yet. I’ll be reading the first book soon, but I am so nervous I won’t love it as much as everyone else does; these books are more hyped up than a kid who ate ALL THE M&MS.


What book have you yet to read because it’s a new release?

acourtof

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Unfashionably late to the party, I didn’t start reading A Court of Thorns and Roses until the day this book was released. DON’T JUDGE ME. About 100 pages in I knew I was going to love the book (because Sarah J. Maas is a goddess of some variety who simply must be worshipped) so I ordered ACOMAF immediately. It took me two weeks to read ACOTAR because I was in the middle of my weird reading funk, so I had to wait two weeks to actually open my Amazon package for fear of accidental book-cover spoilers! THE STRUGGLE NOT TO OPEN BOOK-POST WAS REAL.


What book have you yet to read because you read a book by the same author and didn’t like it?

archersvoice

Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

A lot of people seem to love this book, and I’ve read a lot of great reviews which really make me want to pick it up, but I wasn’t a fan of Finding Eden by the same author. Finding Eden is a love story about a boy and a girl who’ve grown up in a cult. I wanted to like it, but I found the romance too sickly sweet, the dialogue too cheesy, and there wasn’t enough exploration of the cult itself (aka the reason behind my initial interest in the book). Probably my own fault for expecting it to be something it wasn’t!


What book have you yet to read because you aren’t in the mood?

the book thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief is my perennial answer to any question about books I’m never in the mood to read/books that have been on my TBR shelf 5eva. I have such a block about this book, I somehow don’t think I’ll ever read it, even though I know it’s supposed to be amazing. It’s weird because I’ve read the opening chapter so many times, and I like what I’ve read, but somehow I can never get past that chapter, like there’s some kind of Hunger Games style force-field barring me from going any further.


What book have you yet to read because it’s humungous?

agameof

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

A Game of Thrones has been sitting on my Kindle shelf for a very long time. Somehow I don’t think I’ll ever have the energy or time to commit to reading such a mammoth book. I started it once, but several chapters in I was already confused by the ridiculous number of characters and just knew I was going to struggle with it. Maybe when I’m old and retired and have all the time in the world to sit and read, I’ll finally commit… But right now, the thought of picking it up exhausts me!


What book have you yet to read because it was a cover buy with bad reviews?

I genuinely can’t think of an answer to this question – I NEVER buy books without looking at reviews first. Even when I’m wandering around a bookshop, I’ll have my phone out, just to make sure the gorgeous specimen I’m eyeing up on the shelf hasn’t been totally slated by EVERYONE on Goodreads.


Which book on your TBR is the most intimidating to you?

I think I might have to be boring here and re-use one of my earlier answers. House of Leaves is one of the most intimidating books I’ve ever held in my hands. Mainly because it’s actually TOO HEAVY to hold in my hands!!!


A lot of people seem to have done this tag already, so I’m going to leave this one open… if you haven’t done this tag and would like to, you are most welcome. Feel free to link back here so I can be nosy and read your answers 🙂

43 responses to “My Intimidating TBR tag

  1. Fatima @ NoteablePad says:

    Your suspicions about the TWaTD are spot on. I wrote a scathing critique of the book – I just didn’t like it very much, and don’t think I’ll venture as far as reading the next book.
    Also, I implore you to read The Book Thief! You actually won’t regret it, trust me on that one (although you probably don’t have a reason to trust my book recommendations … )

    • mudandstars says:

      Ahh yes, I saw your review, although I didn’t read all the way through in case there were spoilers haha! I bought the book earlier this year so I’m determined to read it just to see what all the fuss is about, but from what you said at the beginning of your review about the lack of action/nothing happening, I feel like I might find it a bit of a drag. I guess we’ll see when I finally get round to reading it! 🙂 And I really do want to read The Book Thief – I’m glad you enjoyed it! It has been sitting on my shelf for about 7 years, I don’t know why I never get round to picking it up, but hopefully I will feel inspired sometime this year!! 🙂

      • Fatima @ NoteablePad says:

        Haha good choice! It was full of spoilers.
        🙂 Hopefully your experience reading The Book Thief will be a good one!

      • mudandstars says:

        Haha, good job I didn’t read all the way then! I will have another look once I’ve read the book and see if I’m in agreement 🙂 And thanks, hopefully it will be – I’ll be sure to post a review when I do read it, as it’ll have been a very long time coming!

  2. You’re not the last person on the planet who hasn’t read The Wrath and the Dawn. There are two of us. 🙂

    • mudandstars says:

      Haha, glad I’m not the only one!! I keep seeing this book EVERYWHERE and now the second book has come out I feel like I need to catch up! I did buy the first book earlier this year, so will probably give it a read next month and see what all the fuss is about! 🙂

  3. Definitely agree with you on House of Leaves! Also, I’m ALWAYS late to parties when it comes to what’s popular, so don’t feel bad, lol.

    • selinn92 says:

      If you loved ACOTAR, you’ll love ACOMAF! I concur that Sarah is a goddess 🙂

      • mudandstars says:

        I’m glad you agree haha 😀 I’m so excited to read ACOMAF. I have a million other books on my TBR, but I’ll probably make it my next read because I can’t wait to see what happens next. And I am sooo excited for Empire of Storms – September seems way too far away!

    • mudandstars says:

      Hahah I’m glad I’m not the only one! I see all these hyped up new releases everywhere and I feel guilty like I should be reading them. Which is silly, because I should just read what I’m in the mood for instead! 😛 And I know, House of Leaves is just soooo huge and intimidating. Have you ever read/tried to read it? I found it a bit tough-going to be honest, but I really want to read it someday as I’ve heard such good things!

      • I’ve only paged through it, I haven’t tried to tackle it yet because I know it will take a certain mood/time/concentration. And yeah, at least not reading new releases gives me an idea of which ones are worth reading, since I get to read everyone’s reviews first, lol!

      • mudandstars says:

        Yeah, I feel like I’m going to need to read it when I have a week off from work or something – when I have real time to devote and give it my full attention. And haha, yes that’s very true I suppose – there are plenty of hyped up books I’ve already decided are a ‘no’ from me (but tons I’m dying to read too!)

  4. Really liked your answers. I understand the fear of A Game of Thrones. I never finished it. Maybe it was because I had already seen the first season and knew everything that happened, but honestly the writing was so off putting for me. He describes EVERYTHING and EVERYONE, even if they’re not important, that’s why it’s so long. I couldn’t take another description of a family banner.

    • mudandstars says:

      Yes, that’s exactly it! I think I read about 15 chapters and basically nothing had happened because there was so much description. I haven’t actually watched the TV show past the first few episodes, but I intend to one day! 🙂 Does the first season follow the whole of the first book? I’ll probably end up just watching the TV show instead haha.

      • Yes, it does, and it is pretty faithful, though I hear later books and seasons are much different. I say that if you didn’t enjoy those 15 chapters, you will not like the rest either, that is what happened to me 😦

      • mudandstars says:

        Ahh, in that case, it sounds like I won’t be the biggest fan of the rest of the book! I’ll definitely check out the TV show soon though 🙂

  5. Annelise Lestrange says:

    As always, I laughed a lot with your answers ❤ You are a genius, Jess! Love you, haha! ❤

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww thank you lovely, I’m glad they made you laugh! 😀 Love you toooo! Also, don’t forget Book Club – I will pester you until you remember hahaha ❤

      • Annelise Lestrange says:

        PLEASE DO SO!! OMG I AM SUCH A MESS! TODAY, I’LL EVEN GLUE A POST IT ON MY FOREHEAD 🙈

      • mudandstars says:

        Hahahaha, I guess you forgot to glue that post-it on your forehead?!! Loool!

      • Annelise Lestrange says:

        AGHAHAAHBAJAKANAHAHAHAHABSKALIAUAHSHS I DID AND THATS ENOUGH, I’LL PUT MYSELF GROUNDED IF I DON’T REPLY THIS TODAY!! 😤 I’m seriously in need of a head check, this is ridiculous!!!

  6. Yay, so happy you did this 😊 I loved reading your choices!

    I feel you with House of Leaves. I want to read it so badly, but it’s just so huge and looks like one that you can’t be distracted with and that is going to be a serious struggle for me. Also yes at The Book Thief and A Game of Thrones! I’m hoping to get to The Book Thief sometimes, but I don’t know if I’ll ever get to A Game of Thrones, haha. I haven’t read The Wrath and The Dawn either, so don’t worry – you’re not alone!!

    • mudandstars says:

      Glad I’m not the only person who hasn’t read it – I keep seeing it everywhere and feel like I’m missing out! I totally agree with you on House of Leaves – I think I will struggle with it too. I struggled with the part that I read 😦 But like you, I really want to read, because the concept sounds so amazing! I probably won’t ever get to A Game of Thrones either if I’m honest. Maybe I’ll just watch the TV show instead 😛 Thanks again for tagging me!

      • Haha I definitely understand that. There’s sooo many hyped books that I haven’t read and I feel like so out of the loop 😂 House of Leaves definitely seems like it’d be a tough one to get through! Hopefully it gets a bit easier though!!

        Haha I was obsessed with the GoT show, but then I lost interest so that’s another reason why I probably won’t read the books 😂

      • mudandstars says:

        I understand this problem well – I always worry that I should be reviewing books whilst the hype is still going, so I can join in with everyone. But I’m just too slow a reader to keep up, and have too many books on my TBR haha. Ahh how far did you get with GoT? I have literally watched the first 3 episodes and that’s it! I’ll have to rewatch at some point and see how I get on 🙂

      • Ahh, same!!! There’s no way I can keep up and I so don’t understand how some people manage to read so many books a week!! I’m so jealous 😂

        To tell you the truth I honestly can’t remember, haha. I think it was either a point in season 3 or 4. I just lost interest and was getting spoiled for EVERYTHING so I just stopped caring, haha.

      • mudandstars says:

        Ahhh I feel your pain, spoilers are the worst! I always end up getting spoiled for all of the American shows I watch, because they’re always shown so much later in the UK. And I know EXACTLY what you mean – I’m so jealous of these people who seem to read a book a day. I feel like they might be in on some kind of secret I don’t know, like they figured out how to freeze time and use the extra hours while everyone’s frozen to read ALL THE BOOKS!

      • Riiight!! I don’t get why people can’t use spoiler warnings 😅

        I follow a Booktuber and some bloggers who read 30 books a month and I’m honestly so confused?? I sometimes wonder if they have super speed reading abilities or used dark magic haha.

  7. Yay! Glad you got your groove back!!!

  8. Great to hear you got over your reading slump!

    Ya, it looks like you and I will grow old before we attempt The Book Thief.

    I really like A Game of Thrones though. At first it is confusing to know where we are and who is who because GRRM just throws us into the thick of things but once you’re into it, you can’t stop reading. I finished that monster in a week — and I had work when I read AGoT.

    • mudandstars says:

      Thank you, so am I! I hate it when I’m not in the mood to read 😦 Haha I am glad I’m not the only one who has this issue with The Book Thief. I really don’t know what it is about that book, but it’s like it doesn’t want me to read it! And yes, what you’ve said about A Game of Thrones is what I found confusing about it – but when I picked it up, I guess I just wasn’t in the mood to read it. I would like to give it another go at some point, as I know a lot of people really love it, and it does seem like it will be my kind of thing once I get into it. Do you watch the TV show?

      • I do actually. At this point I have no choice, since the television show has caught up with and has even gone further than the books. And I really want to know what happens next!

      • mudandstars says:

        It definitely seems to be one of those shows which has everyone desperate to know what happens next! I’ve only watched the first few episodes (ages ago) but I really want to sit down and give it another go at some point. But I’m torn as to whether I should start with the books (because the bookworm side of me ALWAYS does!)

  9. I’m currently reading The Wrath and The Dawn, and I was scared because of the hype as well, but it is SO GOOD so far! I hope you’ll read it sometime soon, I’d love to know your thoughts about it 🙂

    • mudandstars says:

      Oooh, I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying it 😀 I hope I do too! I’ll look out for your review. I have the book on my Kindle so I am probably going to read it next month 🙂 I’m glad I’m not the only one who has this fear of hype. It sometimes almost puts me off when I see everyone raving about a particular book, because it gives me so many unrealistic expectations!

      • You’re right, it’s probably why I waited a bit before starting TWATD, and why I didn’t read some other really hyped books. I’m so scared of being disappointed afterwards. I hope that won’t happen for you once you read TWATD 🙂

  10. I just started The Rose & The Dagger, and I really think you’ll enjoy both installations. No shame in being late to the party – I’m holding back on ACOMAF myself, mostly because there are so many people reading & reviewing it right now, I’d rather wait until after the hype dies down a little. I’m so glad you kicked your reading slump, those are no fun! Looking forward to your upcoming reviews 🙂

    • mudandstars says:

      Yes, reading slumps are pretty horrible! 😦 I’m really glad I managed to snap myself out of it. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed The Wrath and the Dawn – I’ve heard so many great things about those books, and I’ll probably start the first one next month 🙂 I have the ebook, although I have to say I’m really tempted to buy a physical copy because the cover is so gorgeous. I know exactly what you mean about waiting until the hype dies down – I may do the same thing, although I’m really desperate to find out what happens next, so knowing me I’ll probably cave and read ACOMAF next! 🙂

  11. Shadow says:

    I really want to finish reading House of Leaves, but you almost have to take notes on it as you read to understand what the heck is going on.

    • mudandstars says:

      So true! That’s actually a really good idea – I think I will make notes next time I attempt to read it. I got very lost last time, but I’m determined to give it another go!

Leave a Reply

