The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The ‘Slumps are for Chumps’ Book Tag

on June 17, 2016

Hi guys! Hope you’re all having a lovely Friday! I’m sorry I haven’t been posting much recently – I’m going through some stuff, and unfortunately it has put me in a big slump. Seeing as this is the Slumps are for Chumps book tag, I guess that makes me a chump. 😛

Thanks to Emma over at The Book Crunch for tagging me! You should definitely go and check out her awesome blog, right now, and you can read her answers to the tag here.


Which book, most recently, did you not finish?

18460392

I started reading All The Bright Places earlier in the week, and after the first chapter, realised I couldn’t carry on with it. I want to come back to it someday, but I’m not in a healthy place myself right now, and I realised that now is not the right time for me to read a book with depressed characters. I need all the happy and fluffy I can get right now, so if you have any suggestions, please share them with me in the comments. I will love you forever. ❤


Which book is your guilty pleasure?

vampacad

I don’t really believe in guilty pleasures (we should NOT feel bad about loving the things we love!), but if I had to pick one, it would be the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. I know a lot of people feel that vampire books are so 2000-and-LATE but I have a real soft spot for these books. I love how sassy and snarky Rose is, and these books are simply a lot of fun. I read the first four a couple of years ago, and I’m hoping to finish the series this year.


Which book do you love to hate?

Fifty-Shades-of-Grey

I LOVE mocking Fifty Shades of Grey. I almost enjoyed this book, purely because it’s so hilariously bad. I sometimes wonder if the whole thing is meant to be an elaborate joke, and the author is rolling in her millions because her trolling paid off. I mean, Ana describes her face as blushing ‘the colour of the Communist manifesto’, and Christian’s peen as a ‘Christian Grey flavoured popsicle’. I CAN’T EVEN.


Which book would you throw into the sea?

Shatter-Me-2

Apologies to fans of Shatter Me, but myself and this book did NOT get along. I just couldn’t stomach the flowery, metaphor-in-every-sentence writing style, and don’t get me started on the insta-love. It’s a shame because I really thought I was going to love this one, but I couldn’t bring myself finish it. I appreciate that some people LOVE the Shatter Me series, but it really wasn’t my cup of chai.


Which book have you read the most?

DW_SH_UK

I have read this book (also known as Confessions of a Shopaholic in some countries) countless times. I’ve had my copy for about 13 years, and it’s falling apart because it’s so well loved. Sophie Kinsella is one of the few authors who has managed to make me genuinely LOL. I’m so excited she’s going to be at YALC this year. If I get to meet her, I will probably bow down before her in some variety of worship.


Which book would you hate to receive as a present?

war-and-peace-book

I feel like reading War and Peace would make me extremely miserable. I struggled through Anna Karenina last year (it took me an entire month) and I was determined to finish it, even though I wasn’t enjoying it. I have learnt my lesson. Tolstoy is not for me.


Which book could you not live without?

City_of_Bones

I couldn’t live without the Harry Potter books because they were the first books I ever loved, but I also couldn’t bear it if I didn’t have The Mortal Instruments series in my life. Those books mean the world to me, and I don’t think I’ve ever been so obsessed by a series. TMI made me the fangirl I am today!

Oh, and I don’t think I’ve ever shared this fact about myself, so for the record, MALEC = my OTP. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

malec


Which book made you the angriest?

13824_868764553180826_1488146986302490688_n1

Asking For It made me angry, not because it was a bad book, but because of the subject matter. It’s about an 18-year-old girl who is raped at a party, and the story follows the aftermath of her attack. The reactions of her judgemental classmates, the victim-shaming press, and basically everything she endured within these pages filled me with rage. Because everything that happens in this book could and does happen in real life. You can read my review of the book here.


Which book made you cry the most?

brightsidewe were liars

A lot of books have made me cry, but I think the two which made me blub the most were Bright Side by Kim Holden, and We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. The reason these books devastated me so much is because I didn’t know what was coming  – they both involve the reveal of a secret/twist, and both completely blew me away with emotions I wasn’t at all prepared to handle. DON’T wear mascara whilst reading either of these books. You WILL end up looking like The Joker.


Which book cover do you hate the most?

twiliwuth

Anyone else remember when Harper Collins released a ‘Twilight’ edition of Wuthering Heights? Look, it’s ‘Bella and Edward’s favourite book’, guys!

giphy (21)

And that is all I have to say on the subject.


I’m not going to tag anyone specifically, because my brain is tired, so I’m leaving this open… if you haven’t done this one yet and would like to, consider yourself tagged!

Hope you all have a glorious weekend xxx

24 responses to “The ‘Slumps are for Chumps’ Book Tag

  1. mamandapanda says:

    Try Anna and the french kiss series!!! It’s fluffy and I giggled all the way through it!!! Or some Jenny Han’s books!!!!

    • mudandstars says:

      I LOVE Anna and the French Kiss – good idea, I think I will re-read the series, those books made me so happy. And I’ve read a couple of Jenny Han books, but I think I will check out her others too 🙂 Thanks for the recommendations!

  2. Love this tag and your answers! Sorry to hear you’re not feeling so great. 🙁 I read Paper Princess by Erin Watt recently and I’d so recommend that for a bit of steamy escapism! Its one of the few NA books that I’ve read and really rated. 😊 either that or the classic Georgia Nicolson series by Louise Rennison – they always cheer me up but I’m sure you’ve read them. 😊 Also: MALEC 😍😍 x

    • mudandstars says:

      Thanks Sammie 🙂 Hopefully I will be feeling more myself again soon. And I downloaded Paper Princess on Friday based on your recommendation and I really enjoyed it – steamy escapism was exactly what I needed! I used to love the Georgia Nicolson series – I don’t own any of them, but I think it could be time for a nostalgic re-read as those are definitely cheer-me-up books 🙂 And yesss Malec are perfect ❤ xx

      • You’re welcome! ❤ Yay! It is perfect escapism in under 500 pages right?! I always look for those sorts of books when I'm feeling a bit low, but I rated the writing in that one too. Absolutely, you can't be too sad when you've got Louise Rennison's dialogue to keep you company! 😀 Right?! ❤ xx

  3. And omg I have to comment again because I forgot to mention THAT Wuthering Heights cover. Omg I forgot about that! Thank you for bringing that hilarity back into my life. 😂😂😂

  4. OH no it makes me so sad to hear you’re not feeling well, sending all the hugs and love your way ❤ For sweet fluffy books, I'd advice you to read the Anna and the French Kiss series, Everything, Everything, or a Jennifer .E Smith book 🙂 ❤

  5. Sorry about the slump 🙂 Love the tag

  6. Oh, Bright Side… Sob.

  7. I’m sorry to hear you are having a rough time right now. I hope things will clear up for you soon. I’ve missed seeing you around! Please know I am here if you ever need to talk/vent about anything. Seriously, don’t hesitate! If you need a pal, I’m your gal! If my cute little rhyme didn’t at least make you smile, I failed.

    Oh man. Making fun of 50 Shades is a favorite past time of mine as well!!! So bad.

    • mudandstars says:

      Thanks Amanda, I really appreciate that. And the rhyme did make me smile 🙂 You did not fail! I’m really struggling right now, but hopefully I will be feeling more myself again soon. At the moment I’m finding myself getting anxious even about blogging – something I love- but once I start I do enjoy it. I’m glad you enjoy making fun of 50 Shades as much as I do! Which part did you find most cringey?!

      • I cringe at the overall concept of the book. It is literally everything wrong in this world. I almost died a little on the inside when I heard women were naming their children “Christian” after a sadistic misogynist… ((Facepalm))

      • mudandstars says:

        Omg, I can’t believe somebody would name their child after Christian Grey… that’s just all kinds of wrong and no. Just no!

  8. Fatima @ NoteablePad says:

    I hope you’re feeling better 😦 I absolutely loved reading your answers! I love to make fun of 50 Shades of Grey too! It’s a complete joke. I didn’t know about the Twilight edition of Wuthering Heights, but my GOODNESS that’s awful.

    • mudandstars says:

      Thanks Fatima! 🙂 I think it’s going to take some time, but hopefully I will be feeling much better soon. I’m glad you enjoy making fun of 50 Shades as much as I do 🙂 It’s just ridiculous. I don’t even understand how there are 3 of them, because there’s isn’t really even a plot haha. And I agree about the Twilight edition of Wuthering Heights, soooo bad. Possibly even worse, they also released an edition of Romeo and Juliet in the same range, and on the cover it says ‘The original forbidden love…’ :/

      • Fatima @ NoteablePad says:

        Oh my goodness! Is this some sort of a terrible joke? REALLY? I’m shaking my head. I just can’t even.

  9. Cari says:

    This is a fun tag! I’ve been in a slump with both reading and blogging lately, too and this makes me want to pick up some of these. Thanks for sharing 🙂 hope your slump gets better!

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww I’m sorry to hear you’re in a slump too 😦 I’m glad you enjoyed the tag and I’m really glad it made you want to pick up some of these books 🙂 I really hope your slump improves soon too! I’ve been slumpy for a couple of months now, and I’m finding it really hard to write reviews and settle to reading. Hopefully I will be inspired again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

