The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The small June haul that wasn’t supposed to happen at all…

on July 6, 2016

Happy July everyone!

Yes, I know we’re already six days into the month. In the tradition of prefacing everything I post with an apology these days, I am sorry for my lateness with this June book haul. I have a lot going on in my head at the moment and I’ve been very low for the last couple of months, so I’m still feeling slumpy about blogging. But I did have a big writing session the other day, so I will be bringing you some reviews and book tags very soon.

In the meantime, I wanted to say thank you to all you lovely people for your support – it means so much to me, and I really appreciate you. ❤

giphy (37)

Source: Giphy

As you may remember, I wasn’t supposed to be buying any books this month because I was saving myself for YALC (but please, I say this almost every month and we all know I never really mean it!) I actually feel I’ve been rather restrained this month, as I only bought 6 books, and received 1 from Netgalley. Here’s my little haul for June:


***To have and to hold***

The Loney – Andrew Michael Hurley

theloney

So, I actually have very little idea what this book is about! I picked it up for about 10p from our donated books shelf at work, purely because of the creepy looking cover, and the fact that a reviewer on the back claims it gave him sleepless nights. From what I can gather, it’s some kind of literary gothic horror, but that’s really all I know about it. Oh, and Stephen King’s a fan, FYI.


Kill the Boy Band – Goldy Moldavsky

killtheboyband

Black comedy about a group of fangirls who kidnap a boyband member and tie him up in their hotel room? ALL OVER THAT. This was an unusual book, but I had so much fun reading it. Also I LOVE the colours used on this cover. They remind me of the nail polish I used to apply aged 14 whilst listening to Avril Lavigne. Review coming soon!


***Digital love***

13 Minutes – Sarah Pinborough

thirteenmins

This YA psychological thriller was a tense, twisty take on the dark side of teenage friendship. I was already a big fan of Sarah Pinborough’s books, and this one did not disappoint. I received a digital ARC of this book from Netgalley, and my review will be up later this week!


I’m Thinking of Ending Things – Iain Reid

imthinkignof

This psychological horror novel is possibly one of the strangest, creepiest books I’ve ever read. I awarded this one 5 stars for being beautifully written and legitimately terrifying! You can read my review here.


The Unwanted (Black Water Tales) – Jean Nicole Rivers

unwanted

Continuing with the creepy theme (man, this haul is DARK), this book also had me hyperventilating behind a cushion for the majority of my reading experience. Set in a run down Eastern European orphanage filled with severely creepy children, this book had everything I look for in a horror novel. Thanks to Anne at The Book Adventures of Annelise Lestrange for recommending this one to me!


Paper Princess – Erin Watt

paperprincess

Earlier in the month, I asked you guys to recommend me some fluffy books, as I really needed some cheering up. This one was recommended to me by Sammie over at Bookshelves and Biros for some ‘steamy escapism’ and it certainly delivered! I swooned a lot, you guys. One of my favourite New Adult reads this year. I’m really excited for the sequel, which comes out later this month!


Everything Everything – Nicola Yoon

everythingeverything

Another fluffy book! This one was recommended to me by Marie at Drizzle and Hurricane Books and I loved it so much. I had put off reading this book because I was worried it wouldn’t live up to the hype, and because I already knew what was going to happen after reading a spoilery review last year. I’m so glad I finally gave it a chance!

I probably won’t review this one, as there are so many reviews out there already, but I will say that I thought Maddy was an adorable narrator, with such a lovely, quirky personality, and the romance was super cute. I really recommend this one if you want some happy, fluffy feels in your life.

giphy (38)

Source: Giphy


So that’s it for my book-buying this month (told you I was restrained!) Have you read any of these books? What have you added to your shelves this month?

And, as this haul was mainly on the dark and disturbing side, if you have any more FLUFFY recommendations, please let me know; I will appreciate them greatly and love you muchly. ❤

23 responses to “The small June haul that wasn’t supposed to happen at all…

  1. cassidygott says:

    I love the title of this, I had a similar thought during my June Haul, that it was supposed to be a small book haul, I was on a ban, and it just didn’t turn out that way lol. I want to check out Paper Princess and Everything Everything really badly

    • mudandstars says:

      Thank you! 🙂 Haha, yeah, it never does turn out that way, does it?! I am terrible at book-buying bans. I might as well just give up on the idea of them really, I never stick to them 😛 Ooh you definitely should check both of these out – really enjoyed them both 😀 Although you may want to wait until later in the month to read Paper Princess, as it ends on a cliff-hanger and the sequel will be out by then 🙂

  2. I’ve never heard of any of these novels but they all sound wonderful, especially all the literary horror. I look forward to reading your reviews — and will definitely read your review of I’m Thinking of Ending Things soon. Black Water Tales sounds right up my street too.

    Kill the Boy Band’s premise makes it sound like one of those books that can go perilously wrong or be bloody brilliant. Oh, and your description of being 14 and listening to Avril Lavigne? Totally on point!

    • mudandstars says:

      Hahah I’m glad I’m not alone with the Avril thing 😛 Oh please do check out I’m Thinking of Ending Things – I think you would really enjoy it! And Black Water Tales was great – very creepy! It wasn’t the most literary, but it was a fun horror read and definitely managed to scare me. I completely agree re. Kill the Boy Band – I wasn’t sure what to expect going in, as it could have ended up being rubbish, but it was actually brilliant, with a feminist vibe I really wasn’t expecting! 🙂

  3. I’m so, so glad you enjoyed Everything, Everything, it was such a great, fluffy book! ❤ I hope you're doing okay ❤

    • mudandstars says:

      It really was!! 🙂 Thank you so much for recommending it to me ❤ I'm doing okay, better than I was, I've been off work for a couple of weeks and I'm starting to approve. Thanks so much for listening the other week, I really appreciated it. ❤ Hope you're having a good week 🙂

  4. _giovannard says:

    I’m loving that cover of Kill The Boy Band! Can’t wait to read it! 😀

  5. I loved Paper Princess, too! So happy you enjoyed it!

  6. I’ve got a mini review of Kill The Boy Band queued to post after I get back from work this afternoon 😊 My favorite fluffy reads lately were The Forbidden Wish and To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. If I think of more, I’ll send them your way!

    • mudandstars says:

      Ooh awesome, I’ll definitely check that out! 🙂 I haven’t seen many other reviews of it so far. And thank you so much for the recommendations – I LOVE Jenny Han’s books 🙂 And is The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury? I just looked it up on Goodreads and it looks amazing – I’ll definitely read it this month! 🙂 Thank you!

  7. Is this your June haul or your October haul?! 😜

    The cover of The Loney 😍 OMG!!! Can’t wait to see your review of it and see if I need this book in my life!!!

    So glad you had some time to write! You will get your groove back soon. I’m super excited I’ve been seeing more of you lately 😘

    • mudandstars says:

      Haha I suppose it is rather Halloweeny 😛 I know it looks amazing right?! I’ll hopefully read it this month and have a review up at some point soon 🙂 And thank you – I really appreciate that 🙂 It’s nice to be back, and I love how supportive everyone has been. It’s really helping me to stop feeling so scared about writing and start doing it again 🙂

  8. I really want to read the Loney too! It sounds so good

  9. I recently added The Lonely to my TBR! It sounds really interesting. I read I’m Thinking of Ending Things too and whilst I wasn’t completely in love, it was definitely unique and I had a reading experience that I’ve never really had before. Kill the Boy Band seems like it could be really fun too!!

    • mudandstars says:

      Ooh awesome! I’d never heard of The Loney before I saw it on the used book shelf – it does sound very interesting though (now that I know what it’s actually about haha :P) Look forward to seeing what you think if you end up reading it before I do! I agree that reading I’m Thinking of Ending Things was a completely unique experience. I’ve never read such a strange unsettling book before. Kill The Boy Band was a lot of fun – I wasn’t really expecting much, I really picked it up because I like boybands haha, but it ended up being funny, twisted, and somehow had a feminist vibe, so it was totally unexpected and awesome!

Leave a Reply

