The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The (Belated) Halloween Book Tag

on November 1, 2016

I’m unfashionably late to the Halloween Book Tag party, but if Christmas can last for approx. three months of every year, I think I can just about get away with doing a Halloween tag on November 1st.

I was tagged for this one by the fabulous Eve over at Eve Messenger’s OtherWORDly Endeavors. Go check out her awesome blog, around about now.

giphy-69

Image credit: Giphy

I was planning to do this tag yesterday, but I was rather late getting back from the creepy Halloween tour of Oxford Castle I went on last night. (I’m ever-so-slightly disturbed-for-life by the experience of our tour guide wrapping up the evening by saying ‘this is where I leave you’ and then abandoning us all to find our own way out of the pitch-black castle, with creepy figures in ominous hoods lurking all around and jumping out at us as we stumbled around in the dark… definitely not for the fainthearted!!)

I didn’t dress up last night, nor did I have any kind of pumpkin placed outside my abode, but this morning, in continuation of the festivities, I dressed my stuffed pig (“Piggly Puff”) up as a gothic fairy, and he’s kinda pumpkin shaped, so at least I *tried*.

img_2472

Anyhoo, here are my answers to this belated holiday tag…


Carving Pumpkins: What book would you carve up and light on fire?

Fifty-Shades-of-Grey

I think that would have to be the frightfully bad Fifty Shades of Grey. My *Inner Goddess* would get out her maracas and do a samba dance as she watched those pages burn.


Trick or Treat? Which character is a treat and which character is a trick?

635616865883334429-Winter-3-10-15

I’m going to choose two characters from The Lunar Chronicles for this question. Queen Levana is undoubtedly the trick, because her hypnotizingly beautiful face is an illusion she has chillingly manipulated an entire populace into perceiving as reality. Carswell Thorne is certainly the treat – loveable rogue and frighteningly handsome captain of the Rampion (the only fictional spaceship I have ever given a damn about), he is all kinds of swoon and was my first book-crush of 2016.


Candy Corn: What book is always sweet?

13614864f5d1ada20b09dd5b9a56a7a766ca29a6

I haven’t fangirled about this book in a while, but Know Not Why by Hannah Johnson fits the bill so well; it’s the cutest, fluffiest, funniest, and shippiest M/M romance I’ve ever read. I adore this book, and in keeping with the festive spirit, there is also a sequel Halloween novella – Toil and Trouble – which is just as witty and warm-fuzzies-inducing as the first book.


Ghost: What character would you like to visit you as a ghost?

HARRY POTTER SPOILERS COMING UP




I’d love to have a visit from Dumbledore’s ghost. I can just imagine him offering sage advice and spirit-lifting sentiments from beyond the grave in a whimsical, twinkly-eyed manner.

giphy-66

Image credit: Giphy


Dressing Up in Costume: What character would you want to be for a day?

I would love to be Magnus Bane from The Mortal Instruments for a day. I’d have a fabulous wardrobe full of flamboyant clothes, and a head fully of sassy, witty, quips at my disposal. I’d open portals and travel the world, and at the end of the day, after all my magical adventures, I’d get to snuggle up with Alec Lightwood, aka the fairest Shadowhunter of them all.

giphy-67

Image credit: Giphy


Wizards and Witches: What’s your favorite Harry Potter moment?

Basically every single time Neville Longbottom was a total badass and Gryffindor-to-the-core.

giphy-68

Image credit: Giphy


Blood and Gore: What was a book that was so creepy that you had to take a break from it?

So, this probably isn’t what you were expecting, but…

gobletoffire

When I was 9, I read the beginning of The Goblet of Fire and got so frightened by the callous murderyness of a certain Mr He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named that I stopped reading the book. I actually didn’t pick it up again until Deathly Hallows came out, when I binge-read all 7 books in one week of sleepless, magical awesomeness.


As Halloween has been and gone, I won’t be tagging anyone, but if you would like to carry on the pumpkin party, you are unofficially tagged to do so.

giphy-65

Image credit: Giphy

22 responses to “The (Belated) Halloween Book Tag

  1. Nice one! Queen Levana was a perfect choice for “trick.” 🙂 Oh, and that pumpkin head GIF is too funny.

  2. Wow- your halloween sounds amazing!! Super freaky though!! I hear you about Harry Potter 4- I was actually pretty creeped out by the opening sequence!

  3. Anne says:

    Halloween tour of Oxford Castle?! Man, that sounds soooo awesome!! 😀 Thank you for putting 50 shades in that category. It’s an atrocity which needs to burn for sure! 😉

  4. Ahhhhh I love that you picked Magnus! He’s such a great choice – you’d have a super sassy, fun, Alec Lightwood-loving day being him haha. 😉 Also, NEVILLE. ❤

  5. I carved and burned 50 shades of grey too!!! 😊

  6. Pigly Pig as a goth = GOALS! Loved your tag and Piggly Pig’s outfit, haha! You rokc, Jess ❤

Leave a Reply

