The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

2016 End of Year Book Survey

on December 30, 2016

Hi lovely people! I can’t believe there’s only one day left of 2016! As we all know, it hasn’t been the most fabulous of years, but I’m sure we can all agree we’ve at least read some fabulous books during 2016.

I saw this tag over at Ann’s Reading Corner and thought it looked fun. The survey was created by The Perpetual Page Turner, who also created the graphics for this tag. Make sure you go check out both of their blogs, asap.


2016readingstats


Number of books you read: 104
Number of re-reads: 10
Genre you read the most from: Contemporary, apparently! Which is news to me because I swear I hardly ever read contemporary…


bestinbooks


Best book you read in 2016?

P1010918

This book blew me away with feelings (many of them lustful), Feyre’s character development was epic and inspiring, and the worldbuilding was flawless. A Court of Wings and Ruin is going to RUIN me. #punintended


Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

whispertome

I thought I was going to fall in love with this book, but the beautiful cover had me infatuated. I liked it, but I didn’t love it, and it was way, way too long.


Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

creeperman

I love horror, so I expected to enjoy this book, but I had no idea it was going to hit me so hard in the feels; it totally blew me away.


Book you “pushed” the most people to read (and they did)?

City_of_Bones

Hmm, I don’t really have an answer for this… But I have been gradually buying The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices books for my friend Tash over the past few years (a couple books at Christmas, a couple more at birthday, etc.) She now loves them as much as I do!


Best series you started in 2016? Best sequel of 2016? Best series-ender of 2016?

Best series started in 2016:

ladymid

Lady Midnight was one of my favourite books of 2016. I will never get bored of the Shadowhunter world. As far as I’m concerned, Cassie can keep on writing spin-offs 5eva.


Best sequel of 2016:

acourtof

Gotta be ACOMAF again.


Best series-ender of 2016:

whatsagirlgotta

Such a fabulous ending to the Spinster Club trilogy. Thoroughly recommend this wonderful series centered around friendship and feminism.


Favourite new author you discovered in 2016?

18460392holdingup

Jennifer Niven! Technically I’ve only read one of her books (Holding Up the Universe) but I loved it, and can’t wait to finally read All the Bright Places which I already own a copy of. Her characters are so authentic and relatable.


Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

the book thief

I don’t read much historical fiction, but I finally finished The Book Thief this month and thought it was outstanding. And yes, I did weep a million tears. 5 stars, no question.


Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

imthinkignof

I’m Thinking of Ending Things was unbelievably tense and creepy (possibly the creepiest book I’ve ever read) and I finished it in a single sitting.


Book you read in 2016 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

littleprince

There was so much meaning and wisdom packed into this tiny little book, and I feel like The Little Prince is the kind of book you’ll gain even more from the second time around.


Favourite cover of a book you read in 2016?

IMG_1574

My special edition of Lady Midnight. *swoon*


Most memorable character of 2016?

holdingup

Libby Strout from Holding Up The Universe. Libby is smart, funny, kind, brave, and completely herself. She’s everything I aspire to be.


Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

27396942

This book was written with a lovely, magical, storyteller kind of voice which stirred my imagination and filled it with wonderful pictures.


Most thought-provoking/life-changing book of 2016?

feel-the-fear

I mention this not because it’s a good book (it isn’t, I detested it), but because I disagreed with it’s approach to anxiety so fundamentally that it helped me realise I know far better what’s right for me, and I’m going to ignore the advice of this crappy book.


Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?

the book thief

It honestly sat on my shelf for about 10 years. Why did I wait so long?!


Favorite passage/quote from a book you read In 2016?

This comic strip from Sarah Scribbles’s Adulthood is a Myth spoke to me on many a level:

img_2795


Shortest and longest book you read in 2016?

Shortest: The Little Prince (83 pages)

littleprince

Longest: Four Past Midnight (930 pages)

fourpast


Book that shocked you the most?

behindhereyes

THAT TWIST though. I can’t even EVEN.


OTP OF THE YEAR? (You will go down with this ship!)

FEYREANDRHYSFERYEANDRHYSFEYREANDRHYS *faints*


Favourite non-romantic relationship of the year?

beccaueyoullnever

Ollie and Moritz’s friendship in Because You’ll Never Meet Me was EVERYTHING.


Favourite book you read in 2016 from an author you’ve read previously?

I can mention ACOMAF again, right?


Best book you read in 2016 that you read based SOLELY on a recommendation from somebody else/peer pressure?

51RYeVqlj9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

So many people recommended and raved about this book. and it totally lived up to the hype. What a fabulous book!


Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

C’mon, y’all must know the answer is Rhysand by now?!


Best 2016 debut you read?

rosetainted

This was such a brutally honest depiction of agoraphobia, and the descriptions of Norah’s anxiety really resonated with me.


Best worldbuilding/most vivid setting you read this year?

giphy (74).gif

I’ve been re-reading the Harry Potter books, and tbh I don’t think wordbuilding better than J.K Rowling’s exists 🙂


Book that put a smile on your face/was the most FUN to read?

IMG_1625

Sounds like a weird choice, but I have so much fun reading ghost stories. Creepy things excite me!


Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2016?

brightside

Me upon finishing this book:

giphy (75).gif


Hidden gem of the year?

florabanks

This is only really “hidden” because it hasn’t been released yet. My review is coming soon, and you’ll get to discover this gem for yourselves from 12th Jan.


Book that crushed your soul?

Chaos-Walking-Covers

Every single one of the books in the Chaos Walking trilogy DESTROYED me.


Most unique book you read in 2016?

hankangveg

The Vegetarian was bizarre and intriguing and disturbing and like nothing I have ever experienced before.


Book that made you the most mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

feel-the-fear

Me upon finishing this book:

giphy (76).gif


bookishlife


New favourite book blog you discovered in 2016?

I discovered so many incredible blogs this year, but a special shoutout goes to Sammie, Lauren, and Amanda. These ladies have fabulous blogs you should all be following, and are also fabulous humans themselves.


Favourite review that you wrote in 2016?

cursedchild

My review oHarry Potter and the Cursed Child. I had much fun reliving the memories of watching this magical piece of theatre. Wish I could go and see it again!


Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I’m proud of my post about Book Blogging with Anxiety. I was nervous about posting it, but the responses from fellow bloggers really helped me feel less alone.


Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

sjmsigned

I MET SARAH J. MAAS AT BATH CHILDRENS LITERATURE FESTIVAL. IT WAS GLORIOUS.


Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

frozencharl

I was so excited to discover that a quote from my review of Frozen Charlotte was chosen for the praise page in the new Zoella Book Club edition of the book!!!! I jumped around and squealed A LOT. 🙂 🙂


Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Keeping up with reading, blogging, and replying to comments in my lowest moments. It can feel so overwhelming sometimes.


Most popular post this year on your blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

I wrote a post about Why Adults Need YA and was blown away by the number of people who took the time to comment and join the discussion.


Post you wished got a little more love?

My review of Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough because I’m dying for you guys to pre-order this book! I DESPERATELY need to talk about that ending.


Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Jesse drew my attention to BOOKBEAU book-sleeves on his post about bookish gifts, and I need one of these in my life. There’s nothing worse than a beautiful book getting battered inside your handbag.


Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

readingchallenge2016

#boom


lookingahead


One book you didn’t get to in 2016 but will be your number 1 priority in 2017?

empire-of-thrones-uk

This was my most anticipated book of 2016, so I have no idea why I haven’t read it yet! Getting on that ASAP.


Book you are most anticipating for 2017 (non-debut)?

You know the drill:

acowar


2017 debut you are most anticipating?

caraval

This book sounds so magical and intriguing, everyone is saying the hype should be believed, and the cover is stunning. I NEED IT LIKE NOW.


Series ending/sequel you are most anticipating in 2017?

Hmm, let’s see if you can work that one out for yourselves based on the series I have namedropped the most in the post… 😛


One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging life in 2017?

I want to spend more time chatting with you guys and reading all of your wonderful blogs!

giphy (54)

Wishing you all a very Happy New Year! Let’s hope 2017 is a fantastic one! 🙂 xxx

26 responses to “2016 End of Year Book Survey

  1. Mate, we have to stop this because we are literally the same person haha! Every single answer you gave is pretty much what I would have chosen, lol. Especially when it comes to our main man Rhysand! 😉 ❤ He is just…well, yknow. *swoons* Also totally agree on the Ollie and Moritz front and the soul crushing nature of every single Chaos Walking book – pure perfection in every way! Thank you so much for the lovely shout out too, it really means a huge amount to me! We should def try and meet at YALC next year to swoon over Rhys and chat about that Pinborough WTF ending! ❤ x

    • mudandstars says:

      Hahah we are basically twins. Glad you agree with my choices! And you’re very welcome with the shoutout, I meant every word 🙂 Can’t wait to fangirl over Rhys with you at YALC! I think I’m gonna get my ticket soon, apparently they’re already on sale?! I’m so excited to see which authors will be there this year. xx

  2. Ann says:

    I saw A Court of Mist and Fury!!! That book was just amazing. I need the next book in my hands right now. Empire of Storms was amazing as well, but at the same time, I want to throw it against the wall because of the ending. Don’t do what I did and flip to a page in the back of the book to see the page number and spoil yourself on something huge even though you are only on page 15. Yep, I made the mistake and I felt stupid and regretted it the whole entire time. I’m so glad that you did the tag! It looks like you had a great reading year! ❤

    • mudandstars says:

      Yesss ACOMAF was perfect. The wait for ACOWAR is going to be painful. Also thanks for the warning, I always flip to see how many pages there are in books, but I’ll definitely make sure I don’t do this and get spoiled! Such a shame you had such a big spoiler so early on 😦 Glad you still enjoyed the book though, I’m so excited to start reading it!

  3. Darling Bear says:

    This is such a good idea. I am so excited for A Court of Wings and Ruin!! Loved reading your year wrap up, can’t believe you got through so many books. Hope you had a nice year, and good luck to you for next year.

    • mudandstars says:

      Me too, I can’t wait! I definitely want to re-read ACOTAR and ACOMAF beforehand, as I’ll miss the series too much whilst waiting. What was your favourite book you read this year? Happy new year! 🙂

  4. Yay for Bright Side making the list!

  5. Erised Moon says:

    Haha what a great (and detailed) way to sum up your year. Great post!

  6. I finally read The Book Thief this year too. It was so beautiful even if it did make me cry my eyes out, haha. I’m so glad you enjoyed A Darker Shade of Magic!! I love that series so much. I also really need to read the Spinster Club trilogy. I’ve heard so many good things!!!

    And aww, thank you so much for the little shout out ♥♥ So glad we managed to meet this year!

    Also, Caraval is AMAZING. I hope you love it when you read it!!

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww, you’re very welcome with the shoutout, I meant every word and very glad we met too! 🙂 Same! The Book Thief was devastating! But so brilliant. I’ve had it on my TBR for sooo long and I’m so glad I finally picked it up this year. Have you read the sequel to ADSOM? I still need to pick that up! I might re-read ADOM first 🙂 And yess you definitely must pick up the Spinster Club trilogy – it’s so fantastic. The first book is my favourite, but for feminism the third book is really kickass and inspiring. So excited to hear you enjoyed Caraval, it looks sooo good and I’m so excited, but I have to wait a whole month for it to come out and it’s killing me somewhat haha! Can’t wait 🙂

  7. embuhlee says:

    The Chaos Walking trilogy was my pick for ‘soul crusher’ last year as well. FINALLY SOMEONE THAT KNOWS MY PAIN. D’:

  8. […] saw this post from the wonderful blog of Jess @ mudandstars, and thought it was a fabulous idea! This survey was originally posted by The Perpetual Page […]

  9. Donna says:

    Great year summary! I love this idea 🙂 I’m definitely adding your creepy book to my list, I love creepy, haha! Congrats on being quoted in a praise page of a book! It’s a big achievement for any reviewer 🙂

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww thank you! 🙂 I was so excited when I found out. I only discovered it because my mum is a school librarian – she was cataloging the book and noticed it! I love creepy books too – if you have any recommendations please let me know 🙂 I’m always on the lookout! If you love creepy, you will definitely love I’m Thinking of Ending Things. It was so good!

  10. You had such an amazing year despite all your challenges! Congrats girl ❤

    I’m totally in awe that you have a portion of your review in a book!!! I would just die! You have totally arrived as a reviewer 😊

    So many great books I need to read on this list! I received an autographed copy of The Neverland Wars from the author herself, so I really need to get to it ASAP!

    Loved ADSOM! I hope to get to A Gathering of Shadows this month!!!

    Thank you so much for the shout out! It made my day 😘

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww thank you so much! 🙂 And you are very welcome with the shoutout!! ❤ I'm really happy we became blog buddies this year. Oh my gosh I was so excited when I found out about the quote. I had no idea it was in there, but my mum's a school librarian and she was cataloging the book and noticed it!! I would never have realised otherwise :O I really hope you enjoy The Neverland Wars. It's beautifully written, although a little slow paced, but I really loved it. I've just got the ARC of book 2 so I'm really excited to read that 😀 Can't wait to see what you think. And I really need to read AGOS asap! I think I might reread ADSOM first 🙂

  11. Ah so glad you loved the book Thief- it’s one of my favourite books of all time!!

Leave a Reply

