The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

Another book haul because Jess has no willpower at all…

on March 6, 2017

At the start of the year, I made a vow to myself that, until I had read some of the books I already owned, I would resist buying any more books, apart from a select list of new releases I would ‘allow’ myself to pick up throughout the year.

This book haul contains eleven books, and only three of them were on the aforementioned list…

giphy-79

I think it’s fair to say I have no will power at all when it comes to buying books. But in my defence, I’m a book blogger; it’s in our blood.

Here are all the books I hauled in January and February:


Caraval by Stephanie Garber

caraval-1

This book was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017, and I’m delighted to say that it has been MY FAVOURITE BOOK OF THE YEAR SO FAR. You can read my review here. Spoiler alert: contains gushing.


Slade House by David Mitchell

sladehouse

I’ve had my eye on this book for a while, as I love literary horror, and I’ve heard great things about David Mitchell’s writing. This novel is about a house where, every nine years, something very-sinister-indeed takes place. I’m so excited to find out what that sinister something is.


After Me Comes the Flood by Sarah Perry

aftermecomes

I picked this book up because it has a really cool and creepy concept: it’s about a man who stumbles upon an old house when his car breaks down in the middle of nowhere, and, when he goes to seek help from the residents of said house, discovers that they all know his name, and have been waiting for him to turn up for a very long time. #creepy

Sarah Perry won the Waterstones Book of the Year with her latest novel, The Essex Serpent, so I’m expecting excellent things from the writing too.


A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay

headfullof

I hunted everywhere for this book because one of my favourite booktubers, Katie at Chapterstackss, really enjoyed this one. This book is about a family who find themselves the focus of a reality TV show called The Possession when their local priest advises them that their fourteen-year-old daughter has become the victim of a demonic possession. This book sounds SO interesting!

As an aside, if you enjoy horror novels and need recommendations, check out Katie’s channel, because she is a fountain of wisdom when it comes to this genre.


Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt

unconventional

I discovered this book when I was browsing in the Waterstones YA section, and it sounds PERFECT. The main character is a girl whose dad owns an events business, and who has grown up helping out at SciFi/Fantasy conventions. The love interest is a ‘messy haired and annoyingly arrogant’ author. If this book lives up to my expectations, I am going to fall all kinds of in love with it.


The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

thebearandthe

This book is SO BEAUTIFUL. I wanted to read it anyway because it’s set in a snowy landscape (which is something I adore in a book), it’s based around Russian folklore (intriguing), and according to the blurb, it contains a creepy forest (I cannot resist a creepy forest). When I saw the glorious cover, however, it leapt from a want-to-read to MUST-read!


Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

bone-gap

I have been meaning to read this book for the longest time. I LOVE magical realism, and so many people whose bookish opinions I respect have enjoyed this one. I’ve also heard that the writing is beautiful, and there is an element of creepiness… SOLD.


A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

ataleforthe

This book is about the diary of a Japanese girl that washes ashore on a beach in Canada, and the impact the diary has on the woman who finds it. This concept is really fascinating to me, and I’ve wanted to read this book for years, as I remember being impressed by the first few pages when I picked it up in a bookshop many moons ago. It was nominated for the Mann Booker Prize at the time, too, so I feel very intellectual having bought it, tbh.


History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

historyisall

Adam Silvera’s new book was, of course, on my list of new releases I am ‘allowed’ to buy this year! I was blown away by his debut novel, More Happy Than Not, and I’ve heard this one packs just as big an emotional punch. I have extremely high expectations for this book!


Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

hex

CW at Read Think Ponder wrote a fantastic review for this book, and it has been on my TBR ever since. This is a supernatural horror set in a small town, and sounds like it explores some interesting themes too. I love it when a horror novel has so much more to it than simple shocks and scares, so I’m really excited to read this one!


My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

mynotso

Sophie Kinsella is one of my favourite authors, if not my FAVOURITE author of all time, and I own every single one of her books; this was always going to be an auto-buy for me. What I love about Sophie’s books is that they are light-hearted, but they are done so well. She doesn’t just churn out bland, samey rubbish like some authors in her genre – her characterisation is always excellent and her writing is hilarious. Her books never fail to make me smile, and are perfect for when I need some cheering up.


So, that’s it for my January/February haul. I would say that you might not see one next month, because I’m going to try and exercise some restraint, but that would probably be a BIG, FAT LIE.

Have you read any of these books? Which books did you pick up this month? I’d love to hear from you!

14 responses to “Another book haul because Jess has no willpower at all…

  1. I love your title! It’s just so hard sometimes to tell yourself “no”….

  2. Ooh lovely haul- and I’ve literally just mentioned this to you but I just got my copy of Caraval (clearly I am very, very excited about this!!!)

  3. Great haul 😍 I really need to read Bone Gap! I’m hoping to read that one soon. I really want to read History Is All You Left Me and A Head Full of Ghosts too.

    • mudandstars says:

      Thanks Lauren! I know, sooo many people seem to have loved it – it’s been on my TBR for aaaages. I am still in a big reading slump though so I have no idea when I am going to get to all of these… I probably need to stop buying books for a while, haha!

  4. Fabulous haul!!! Can’t wait to see what you think of The Bear and the Nightingale! It’s on my MUST READ ASAP list as well. I hope to get to it this spring!

    • mudandstars says:

      Thanks Amanda! Yes, I’m thinking I might start that one soon, as I want to try and read it while the weather’s still cold as it seems like a cosy, snuggle up inside, kind of book! Look forward to seeing what you think too 🙂

  5. I’ve read Caraval but unfortunately I didn’t love it as much as you did 😦 I really want to buy and read HIAYLM it looks awesome and so many people have loved it 😀 Great Haul!

    • mudandstars says:

      Thank you! Ahh that’s a shame, what do you think it was that stopped you from loving Caraval? HIAYLM does indeed look awesome, can’t wait to read it, I’ve heard amazing things!

      • I couldn’t deal with Scarlet me and her didn’t get along unfortunately XD Also I listened to it on audio and hearing some of the descriptions read out just sounded funny but I think if I had been reading it it wouldn’t have sounded as weird (does this make sense? xD) I haven’t read anything from Adam Silvera yet so I’m really excited to read something by him hopefully we both love it 😀

      • mudandstars says:

        Haha, yes that makes total sense, the writing is quite flowery, and I don’t think it would sound so good being spoken out loud. Ooh, definitely recommend More Happy Than Not, if you’re planning to pick up one of his books soon. It was brilliant (although you will need tissues!)

Leave a Reply

