The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

Fancy a supernatural roadtrip across America? ‘Demon Road’ by Derek Landy will take you on one…

on May 30, 2017

DemonRoad.jpg

Demon Road. Derek Landy. Harper Collins Children’s Books. February 2016.

For anyone who ever thought their parents were monsters… Amber Lamont is a normal 16-year-old. Smart but insecure, she spends most of her time online, where she can avoid her beautiful, aloof parents and their weird friends.

But when a shocking encounter reveals a horrifying secret, Amber is forced to go on the run. Killer cars, vampires, undead serial killers and red-skinned, horned demons – Amber hurtles from one threat to the next, revealing the terror woven into the very fabric of her life. As her parents close in behind her, Amber’s only chance rests with her fellow travellers, who are not at all what they appear to be….


I had no idea what to expect when I borrowed Demon Road from my local library, but I ended up giving it 5 stars because it was soooo ridiculously entertaining. I’d been wanting to read a Derek Landy book for a while for the sole reason that I saw him speak at YALC two years ago, and the man was HILARIOUS. His talk was like a stand-up comedy show; he had everyone roaring with laughter, and I just knew that someone that funny would write an excellent book. I was right!

Demon Road follows Amber, a 16-year-old girl who is on the run from her demon parents, who want to kill and eat her so they can gain more demon-y power: just your standard teenage problem really. The story is a kind of supernatural road trip across America, and yes that is as exciting as it sounds! Amber is joined by Milo (a surly, mysterious man who has an unusual relationship with his car – no, I don’t mean a sexual one, you perv!), and Glen, an overly chatty and extremely irritating (but strangely loveable) Irish boy they pick up somewhere along the way.

I loved the characters in this book, and the dynamics between them. There was no romance whatsoever, which was so refreshing, and allowed for my favourite kind of relationship to develop between the characters: unlikely (and reluctant) friendship!

Amber was a fabulous main character because she was a tough cookie, but not unrealistically so. She had the will to fight back, and she held it together pretty well considering her parents were attempting to kill and eat her, but she also experienced fear, felt pain, and didn’t magically, automatically know how to fight like a badass. Amber was smart (despite making some impulsive [bad] decisions here and there), funny, and adept in the art of quippy teenage sass. I found her (and all of the other characters, tbh) hilarious, and I’m so happy that Derek Landy’s IRL sense of humour translated so well into this book.

Demon Road had so much action, and so many moments of omg-they’re-all-going-to-die peril, that I had trouble putting it down. I enjoyed the urgency and fear of knowing that Amber’s psychopath parents were hot on her trail, and I loved all of the scrapes she, Milo, and Glen got themselves into along the way. They met so many fascinating (and SHADY) characters, and got unintentionally caught up in so many small-town paranormal horror stories, as they made their way across the supernatural backroads of America (a trail known to those in the know as the ‘Demon Road’). It was impossible to get bored with this novel; I never knew what was lurking around the next corner.  I love stories set in small towns where freaky weirdness is goin’ down, so the parts where the characters would pitch up in a new town for the night were so much fun for me.

I should probably warn you that this is quite a gory book (I’m talking guts, all over the place), but I’ve never been as bothered by supernatural violence as I have the kind that could happen in real life. If I can handle it, anyone can, because I’m a wimp when it comes to these kinds of things. I actually weirdly appreciated how brutal Amber’s parents were, because it gave a real edge of danger to the story; the threat Amber was running from was REAL.

All in all, I absolutely loved this book! I’m definitely going to read the sequel, Desolation, and I’ll be checking out some of Derek Landy’s other books too. If this sounds like your cup of tea, I highly recommend you do the same! 🙂

Leave a Reply

