The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

on June 19, 2017

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag is one of my favourite tags to watch on BookTube, and one of my favourite tags to read on WordPress. I’ve never done it myself, but I’ve always wanted to, so I thought I would give it a go today. I’ve done way too much gushing over 5 star books recently, so I think it’s time for a bit of balance around here, y’know?

Apologies in advance if I trash your favourite book or character. These are just my opinions, and if you loved these books that’s totally okay, they just weren’t for moi! 🙂

Without further ado…


A popular book or series you didn’t like.

Shatter-Me-2

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I actually DNFd this book 100 pages in because I hated the writing style SO much. Everything was described using nonsensical, douchey metaphors that were so jarring to the narrative, and the romance was just nauseating. You know when there’s a gross couple on the bus eating each other’s faces on the seat in front of yours? It felt like the literary equivalent of that.


A book or series everyone hates but you love.

Book_jacket_of_Twilight

My answer to this question has to be Twilight. I know, okay, I KNOW that Twilight is shit. But… I will always have a soft spot for it. Twilight was the book that made me fall in love with reading again after spending the majority of my teenage years barely picking up a book. If I hadn’t gotten back into reading, I probably wouldn’t have studied English Literature at university, so, if you think about it, Stephanie Meyer is the reason I have a degree.


An OTP you don’t like.

deathly hallows

I’m not going to name names as I don’t want to spoil anything for the very small percentage of people on this planet who have not yet read Harry Potter, but I’m not keen on any of the pairings in this series. Perhaps it’s because I was way more invested in all of the Voldy-dramz, or perhaps it’s because all of my OTPs were non-canon 😉 but I just didn’t really care about any of the romantic subplots in the later books (unless we’re talking “always”.)


A popular genre you never reach for.

all-the-light-we-cannot-see-9781476746586_lg

I’m going to have to say historical fiction for this one. I own several historical fiction books, but they are gathering dust on my shelves and have been for a good while. I had The Book Thief for approx. a decade before reading it (though I ended up loving it), and I have a feeling it’ll be another ten years before I reach for All the Light we Cannot See; I’ve had it for two years already, and I’m just never excited enough to choose it next.


A beloved character you do not like.

Throne_of_Glass_UK

Sorry Chaolaena shippers, but I’m really not a fan of Chaol Westfall from the Throne of Glass series. From the very beginning, I felt like he had his priorities all wrong (what with the whole fierce-loyalty-to-a-barbaric-conquering-dictator thing), and he only continued to disappoint me. The man is a hypocrite because everything he struggles to accept in Celaena, he turns a blind eye to in the King. I hated the way he thought he could pick and choose which parts of Celaena to love. Not cool, man. It’s not love unless you accept a person in their entirety.


A popular author you can’t seem to get into.

oceanat

Neil Gaiman. I’ve read several of his books now, and, although I think he writes well, and his concepts are always intriguing, I’ve never been able to find an emotional connection with his writing. His books are reasonably entertaining when I read them, but they never leave a lasting impact on me. I finish them, then forget everything I’ve read.


A popular trope you’re tired of seeing.

giphy-downsized.gif

I am so sick of characters in YA novels who don’t understand how to breathe. How can you hold your breath so many times per chapter without realising you’re doing so? Unfathomable!


A popular series you have no interest in reading.

red_queen_book_cover_a_pMissPeregrineCover

So many! I have no interest in reading the rest of the Red Queen series (because the first book was just riddled with dystopian and love-triangle clichés.) I also doubt I’ll ever finish the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series. Let me clarify: I LOVED the first half of the first book, because it was all mysterious, atmospheric, and creepy… But as soon as we had met the peculiar children, all of that tension fizzled out, and I got bored, because there was nothing to anticipate any more. I enjoyed the build up so much more than the reveal, and I’m not all that interested in the story without all that awesome suspense from the beginning.


A movie or TV series you like better than the book.

giphy (1)

The Vampire Diaries TV show is infinitely better than the book series. I think it’s partly because the books feel very dated, but mainly because the characters have so much more depth in the TV series. Plus, book-Elena is precocious, irritating, and shallow, but TV Elena is an actually-likeable person. Also, and most importantly, the TV adaptation has Ian Somerhalder. Anything involving Ian Somerhalder wins.


Do you share any of my unpopular opinions? What are some of yours? I’d love to hear from you!

24 responses to “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Aura Willow says:

    Ahem…historical fiction…Infernal Devices 😉

  2. A Pretty Lil Book Blog says:

    Funnily enough, I enjoyed the first book, but I doubt I’ll be finishing the Miss Peregrine series either, as I just can’t imagine where the story could go next 🤔

  3. Nova says:

    Have to agree with you on Harry Potter! For the same reasons, too. There might be ONE canon pairing I liked, but it was a side-character, so I don’t think it counts much. All the others I was pretty “meh” on.

  4. ReadByChris says:

    I said Shatter Me for series too! I finished it on principle, but I definitely won’t be reading the rest of the series!

  5. Ann says:

    I really didn’t like Chaol through the Throne of Glass series either. I actually didn’t like Dorian even more than Chaol because Dorian was obsessive and sort of annoying. No wonder why these two were best friends. And I totally agree with Red Queen, even though a friend wants me to read the next one.

    • heba15 says:

      I totally agree with you! Chaol and Dorian weren’t very appealing to me as characters

      • mudandstars says:

        I liked Dorian as a character, but not with Celaena! Their ‘relationship’ felt a bit forced for the sake of including a romance! But definitely agree on Chaol being an unappealing character haha. He made me so angry, but everyone seems to love him so much – I don’t get it!

    • mudandstars says:

      Glad I’m not alone in this! I didn’t mind Dorian, but I never got on board with him and Celaena. I think I’d rather her kick ass on her own than end up with either of them! Let me know if you end up reading the next book in the Red Queen series – I’m curious to see if it gets any better (although the general consensus seems to be that it doesn’t haha!)

      • Ann says:

        Dorian and Celaena were just a horrible team together. They were too weird and annoying together for me. I’ll make sure I’ll let you know if I end up reading the second book. Who knows when it will be if I decided to!

      • mudandstars says:

        Exactly – they didn’t make sense together at all. I felt like they were just pushed together for the sake of having a love triangle.

  6. Red Queen and Peregrines! I completely agree I read the first Peculiar children book so i could go watch the movie but it was just a bit of a let down, I stupidly bought a box set so I ave the other two just looking pretty on my shelf XD I read Red Queen and the second book and absolutely hated it not continuing with the series even though everyone seems to love it XD Great Tag ❤

    • mudandstars says:

      Thanks! 🙂 They certainly are very pretty books, even if they are disappointing! How did the movie compare? And what was the second Red Queen book like? I’ve heard it was even worse haha!

      • The second red queen made me want to rip the pages out, think book 2 syndrome times a million, the ending was good but not enough to make me put myself through another 300 pages of whiny characters :/ The movie is actually okay but i love Tim Burtans wackiness he brings to movies, they changed a lot but it worked 🙂

  7. heba15 says:

    I loved the Vampire Diaries tv show! Definitely agree with you about Ian, but as for Elena, there were some instances that I found her irritating. I also agree with you about Chaol. I was angry at him for not accepting Celeana for who she really was and still being loyal to the king.

    • mudandstars says:

      Ian is amazing ❤ I know what you mean, Elena could be a little bit annoying at times, a little bit holier-than-thou. But she was so much better than book-Elena haha. I had no sympathy whatsoever for book-Elena! I was angry at Chaol too, I spent so much time wanting to slap him. Don't understand why everyone ships him with Celaena when he clearly does not deserve her/cannot accept her for who she really is!

  8. […] seeing Mud and Stars post on the Unpopular Opinions book tag, I thought it would be a great way to finally post […]

  9. […] with the reading majority, I feel this tag and decided to do one myself! If you want to check out Jess’ you totally should! (And the rest of her blog for that matter) So here we go, my unpopular, uncalled for […]

Leave a Reply

