The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

The Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag 2017

on August 7, 2017

Hello everybody! I hope you’re doing well. Today I thought I’d do the Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag, because I’ve had so much fun doing this tag in previous years.

If you’ve done this tag recently, let me know down below, as I’d love to see all of your answers, and find some more books to add to my TBR. (I’m not supposed to be buying books right now, but w/e).

Before I get started, I just wanted to let you guys know that The Mud and Stars Book Blog officially turns TWO YEAR’S OLD this week! Thank you so much to everyone in the book-blogging community for your support and general awesomeness over the past two years. I love you guys so much, and I couldn’t have made it this far without you.

giphy (91)

Without further ado, here are my answers to the tag…


Best Book You’ve Read Yet in 2017

oliphant

My favourite book of 2017 so far has been Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman. This book was so well written, so hilarious, and so deeply moving. Eleanor was such a memorable character, and reading from her perspective was a delight. This book completely blew me away and I can’t believe it’s a debut! You can read my review here.


Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2017

lordofshadows

Hands down this has to be Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. The ending may have ripped my still-beating heart out of my chest, causing a great big bloody mess, and I may be ever-so-slightly pissed off that I have to wait until 2019 to find out what happens next, but this book wowed me on so many levels. It’s one of the best books Cassandra Clare has ever written. My full review can be found here.


New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To

the hate u give

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. I’ve heard so many amazing things about this book, and the subject matter (racism and police brutality) is so important and relevant. It’s one of those books which everybody should read, and now I finally have a copy, that’s exactly what I’m going to do, asap.


Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

the treatmenmt

I was going to say The Treatment by C.L. Taylor for this question,  which comes out in October, but I managed to land an ARC of this book at YALC, so THE WAIT IS OVER (for me). I am SO excited to read this book. I love C.L. Taylor’s adult thrillers, so imagine my delight in finding out she has written a YA novel about a creepy reform school brainwashing its students. SO DOWN.


Biggest Disappointment

aftermecomes

After Me Comes The Flood by Sarah Perry. The writing in this book was beautiful, but the plot was such a let-down. When I bought this book, I thought it sounded AMAZING and creepy and intriguing. The premise is that a man’s car breaks down in the middle of nowhere… he goes in search of help, and stumbles across a house. When he knocks at the door, he finds that the strange people who live there all know his name, and have been waiting for him… WHAT A CONCEPT, RIGHT?

Unfortunately, instead of something sinister and cool, the whole thing ends up being a coincidence caused by their actual expected guest having a similar name. The rest of the book is very slice of life, not much happens, and the ending had very little impact on me (in fact, I can’t even remember how it ended.) Basically, yawn.


Biggest Surprise

thehatinggame

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne. I don’t know why, but I’m always surprised by how much I enjoy romance books. I only ever reach for them when I’m so tired my brain is mush, and I just want something fluffy to escape reality with. I never expect to be bowled away by books like this one, but I ended up giving The Hating Game four stars. I loved the characters, the publishing house setting, the enemies-to-lovers romance, and the unbearable sexual tension. UGH, SO GOOD.


Favourite New Author

vendettacover

Catherine Doyle. I binge-read her Blood for Blood trilogy (YA mafia romance, FYI) and I completely fell in love with it. I loved her writing style, her characters, ALL THE DRAMA AND ACTION AND DARKNESS, and, most importantly, the swoony, swoony romance. Highly recommend this trilogy if you’re looking for some excitement. You can read my mini review of the first book here.


Newest Fictional Crush

That would have to be Luca from the Blood for Blood trilogy. He’s the (stunningly attractive) underboss of a mafia clan, but deep down, he hates his family’s way of life, and just wants to be good. No YOU’RE lustfully fanning yourself at the thought of him!

giphy (46)


Newest Favourite Character

oliphant

Eleanor Oliphant; a lonely person, a bit of an oddball, and utterly, utterly herself. Her voice was so distinctive, and she felt so real. I loved her to pieces.


Book That Made You Cry

historyisall

I haven’t read many sad books this year, but the ending of Lord of Shadows, as you know, destroyed me, and History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera, dear God, had me weeping from chapter one. I haven’t written a review for this one because I’m not really sure what to say about it other than it caused me to expel a lot of liquid from my eyeballs.


Book That Made You Happy

upside

That would have to be The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli. Molly was an adorable main character with really cool creative hobbies, her romance with Reid was super-cute, and basically this book was FULL OF RAINBOWS. You can read my review here.


Favourite Book to Film Adaptation

beforei

I recently watched the movie adaptation of Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver on Netflix and I thought it was fantastic. The actress who played Sam portrayed her so well – she was exactly as I had imagined her – and the ending of the movie had me sobbing just as hard as the book’s final page.


Favourite Post You Have Done This Year

giphy (82)

I think the post I am most proud of is my ‘Self-care tips for book bloggers’ post. I wrote it initially because it was something I needed to hear myself, but I was also so happy that other people managed to find something helpful in what I wrote. ❤

Here’s the post if you’d like to take a look. It contains lots and lots of Pusheen gifs and it was made with love.


Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

craval

I am still very in love with the cover of Caraval by Stephanie Garber. It’s STUNNING. My review of this book can be found here.


What Books Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year?

So, I bought several books at YALC…

yalchaul

Ahem. I need to read all 22 books I hauled, because I am on a book-buying ban until I have done so. I don’t think I need to explain why. ^^


What’s been your favourite book of 2017? I’d love to hear from you. Much love to you all and I hope you have a fantastic week! xxx

23 responses to “The Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag 2017

  1. Rosie Amber says:

    What a great looking book haul. One of my favourite books this year has been The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr, I also liked The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir by Lesley Allan, but I think I read that last year. Happy reading.

    • mudandstars says:

      Thanks – I’m so excited to get to all of those books! 😀 Ahh I loved Flora Banks too – I think it was the first book I reviewed this year, although I technically read it last year. Can’t wait to read Emily Barr’s next book. I just looked up The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir and it sounds really interesting, so I’m adding that one to my TBR. Thank you! 🙂

  2. mariehumble9 says:

    Now I want to read Eleanor Oliphant is completely fine,it sounds so good! and my favourite read of this year is Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn 🙂

    • mudandstars says:

      Ahh yay, please do, it’s such a fantastic book. It’s one of those books where you will just connect to and love the main character so much – she was so memorable. Ooh good choice – Gone Girl is a great book! Have you read any of Gillian Flynn’s other books? I haven’t yet, but really want to!

  3. I absolutely love The Hating Game but my most recent favourite rom com read was Big Sexy Love by Kirsty Greenwood. So funny but also so sad. From the books on this tag I think you’d love it.

  4. I adore The Hating Game by Sally Thorne! It’s one of those books that are worth the hype. Glad you enjoy it! Definitely one my favorite books I’ve read this year. 😊

  5. Michelle says:

    I love this tag! I really like The Upside of Unrequited, it was such a good read! Also I love Pusheen and I loved that self care post💕

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww thank you so much, I’m glad you enjoyed the post ❤ And yess Upside was so, so good! One of those books that I'll re-read when I need some cheering up, because it just made me so happy! 🙂

  6. SSJTimeLord says:

    Awesome post – it made me add so many more books to my TBR. Also, I have Illuminae on my August TBR – I’m pretty excited about that one!

    • mudandstars says:

      Ahh thank you! Ooh which ones did you add to your TBR? I’m really excited to read Illuminae too – I’ve been hearing good things about it for ages, but never got round to picking it up. Think it will be on my September or October TBR 🙂 Look forward to seeing what you think of it too!

  7. ooh congrats on the two year bloggiversary! I’m so excited for Lord of shadows! And I really want to read the hate u give and watch before I fall. And Caraval has a stunning cover! Woweee that’s an incredible haul- I loved Illuminae and serpent king- hope you enjoy them!

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww thank you! Yay can’t wait to see what you think of Lord of Shadows. I just started The Hate U Give, very good so far. Glad to hear you enjoyed Illuminae and The Serpent King, I think both of those will be on my TBR for September 🙂 I’m particularly excited for Illuminae!

  8. Congratulations!!! Happy two-year blogiversary!! 🙂 Here’s to many more!
    I just love this tag, too!
    Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine sounds very very good! I love the cover of Caraval but the subject is so not for me, haha!

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww thank you so much! 🙂 Ahh Eleanor Oliphant is an amazing book, definitely pick it up if you get the chance. It’s one of those book which deals with difficult subjects but with hope and humour. I just loved everything about it! Ahh that’s a shame, what do you think it is about Caraval that doesn’t appeal?

      • I love when difficult subjects are handled that way. It’s basically the only way to make things easier. As for Caraval, I’m not a fan of circus, and shows in general 🙂

      • mudandstars says:

        Ahh that makes sense! To be honest I’m not a fan of circuses in real life either – I find them a bit creepy, but I’m not sure why. But I love reading about creepy things, so I like them in books 🙂

  9. I agree with needing to read Hate U Give, Serpent King and Love and Gelato before the end of the year. I like the variety on your list 🙂

Leave a Reply

