The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

10 songs that remind me of my favourite books

on December 8, 2015

Contrary to popular opinion, I do sometimes listen to music that isn’t One Direction (y’know, annually), and sometimes the songs I listen to remind me of books I’ve read. Sometimes it’s because they’ve been written on the same subject, sometimes the similarity is in the way they make me feel, and sometimes it’s just a general vibe and mood thing.

Today, I thought I’d share with you a list of 10 songs which remind me of some of my favourite books. I’d love to see if you agree, and find out which songs remind you of these books, or of other books you love…


1. Driving Home for Christmas by Chris Rea reminds me of… Going Home by Harriet Evans

5645031._UY200_

The most Christmassy feeling in the world to me is the anticipation of getting home on Christmas Eve to a cosy, warm house filled with family, and this song IS that feeling. It also reminds me of Going Home, a family drama (plus romance, obvs) which begins with a woman named Lizzy travelling back to her family home – Keeper House – for Christmas. I re-read this book every December – it’s the perfect Christmassy comfort read (to be consumed alongside Christmassy comfort food!)


2. There is a Light that Never Goes Out by The Smiths reminds me of… The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

gatsby-original1This song is about the person you love being the only thing keeping you going, and when I listen to it, I’m always reminded of Gatsby staring out at the green light across the bay, dreaming of Daisy. Also, this line – Driving in your car/ Oh please don’t drop me home / Because it’s not my home, it’s their home/ And I’m welcome no more – makes me think of the way Gatsby’s house was always filled with people he didn’t know, partying away in a place that’s supposed to be his home, but never truly feels that way without Daisy there with him. I’m convinced this song was written ABOUT The Great Gatsby.


3. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together by Taylor Swift reminds me of Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

So, TSwizzle wasn’t around in Bridget Jones’s heyday, but if she had been, I’m pretty sure this song would have been Bridget’s anthem in the triumphant moment she finally gives Daniel Cleaver the heave-ho.

enhanced-buzz-831-1366286957-9

Image via Buzzfeed


4. Animals by Maroon 5 reminds me of… You by Caroline Kepnes

20821614I love this song, but I’m not the biggest fan of its hella creepy video depicting a man who is stalkerishly infatuated with a woman, ‘hunting’ her down because he’s unable to let go of their relationship. It reminds me so much of the novel You, in which seemingly normal bookseller Joe becomes obsessed with Beck, a woman who walks into his shop one day. He proceeds to stalk and manipulate her into a relationship by becoming the ‘perfect’ guy for her (spying on her through her phone and social media accounts to work out exactly what she’s looking for in a partner). When Beck decides to end things with Joe, he’s unwilling to accept that it’s over, and the consequences are deadly. This book (like the video for this song) is suffocatingly creepy; it’s told in the 2nd person, and the entire book is addressed directly to Beck.

Word of warning about the video: If, like I once did, you’re sat there thinking you couldn’t possibly imagine a scenario in which you would cease to find Adam Levine sexy, this video may well change your mind… I’d also really advise you not to watch it if you’re squeamish about blood or a vegetarian.


5. Hide and Seek by Imogen Heap reminds me of… Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

bc-wintergirlsThis song reminds me of the way Wintergirls is written – it has a disjointed, strange quality to it, and is full of odd, yet powerful, imagery. A lot of people think this song is about being cheated on, but I believe it’s about grief, and it’s the soundtrack I imagine for Wintergirls, which is the story of a girl named Lia, whose friend Cassie is found dead in a motel room. Lia is anorexic, and as she comes to terms with her friend’s death, she’s also struggling with the same illness which took her friend’s life. This was a difficult book to read because of the sensitive issues it explores, but it’s stunningly written, and I’d highly recommend it.


6. The Gift by Angels and Airwaves reminds me of… Annie and Finnick’s wedding scene in Mockingjay

The lyrics of this song are so beautiful! I interpret it as being about a moment of hope and love and joy so strong it overrides all of the bad things happening outside of it. To me, it’s a song for Annie and Finnick’s wedding in Mockingjay, the purest of moments which, despite taking place in the middle of the horrific war against the Capitol, cannot be taken away from them.

giphy (25).gif

Image via Giphy


7. Wuthering Heights by Kate Bush reminds me of… Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë (duh…)

0420b18a0df9562befe110d0d0cd5e66

 

 

I couldn’t resist dropping this one into my list. Wuthering Heights is one of my favourite novels of all time, and Kate Bush is just crazy awesome… what other song could I possibly have picked?! 


8. Accidentally in Love by Counting Crows reminds me of … I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelsson

jandy

 

 

This is the happiest, sunniest song I can think of, and the lyrics are full of colour, and metaphor after metaphor about love. If I’ll Give You the Sun were a song, it would be this one.


9. Give Me Strength by Snow Patrol reminds me of… Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

deathly hallows
Whenever I listen to this song, I always think of it as a rousing speech after an epic battle has been won, in which the speaker is thanking the friends who’ve kept him going through the hardest of times. I’m always reminded of Deathly Hallows, because for me, these sentiments sum up the book – true friendship is at the very heart of the Harry Potter series, and it’s love that wins the final battle.


10. Every Teardrop is a Waterfall by Coldplay reminds me of… the tunnel song in The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I imagine everyone has their own special song in mind when they read this scene, and I like the fact that ‘the tunnel song’ is never explicitly named in the book, because it allows you to hear whichever song makes you feel ‘infinite’. In the film adaptation, it’s Heroes by David Bowie, but for me, the epic song I hear as I imagine myself whizzing through that tunnel, wind in my hair, radio up full volume, is undoubtedly this one.

giphy (26).gif

Image via Giphy

Fun fact, I actually made a whole iTunes playlist of songs that make me feel infinite, called ‘Perks’, because I’m a massive nerd like that…


So, that’s the end of my list! Which songs would you have chosen? And which songs remind you of your favourite books, or scene from a book?
And finally, if you’ve read The Perks of Being a Wallflower, what would your tunnel song have been?

32 responses to “10 songs that remind me of my favourite books

  1. I just got “You” from the library and am so excited to read it. I love a good creepy read.

  2. Annelise B. says:

    You inspired me to do a post with 10 songs that made me remeber Damon Salvatore, HAHAHA! Your list was amaziiing! ❤ And can I ask you something?? I'll Give You The Sun is a gay book?? I read a lot of reviews and the blurb of the book and I couldn't reach any conclusions D:

  3. _forevermint says:

    Omg I’ve been contemplating buying You, it sounds interesting but I’m not sure if I’ll like it xD great post though! Love the idea of combining songs that remind you of your favorite books!

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww thank you! Do you have any songs which remind you of your favourite book? ‘You’ was a great book – if you like creepy books/psychological thrillers then you would enjoy it! If you’re not 100% sure maybe get it from the library instead, that’s what I usually do if I’m not completely sure I’ll like it. 🙂

  4. selinn92 says:

    This is such a cute idea for a blog post!

  5. Awesome post idea and you have some great songs here… Bravo.

  6. Fantastic post, Jess! I have a lot of songs that remind me of books I read too. Sometimes in my book reviews I even leave a playlist at the end because some books and songs go together so appropriately well. And I love Snow Patrol and Coldplay! ❤

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww thank you, glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 Is there a song which reminds you of your favourite book of all time? I love Snow Patrol and Coldplay too – they’re two of the rare bands where I like almost everything they produce. I love the idea of creating a playlist when you review a book, I will definitely look out for yours!

      • The favorite book of all time is the difficult part of that question. But I like listening to a lot of Paramore. I think it fits with a lot of the books I’ve read in the past (I love paranormal and dark themes, you see).

      • mudandstars says:

        I definitely have trouble answering that question too, my favourite book changes all the time. I haven’t listened to much Paramore, but I do like a few of their songs. And I love dark/creepy books too – any recommendations? 🙂

      • Any of Holly Black’s books are pretty dark. Also I’ve heard that Courtney Summers explores some dark themes. I haven’t read anything by her but the reviews on Goodreads seem really good. And my favorite somewhat creepy read that explores teenage suicide and depression was Romancing in the Dark in the City of Light. 🙂

      • mudandstars says:

        Thanks for the recommendations 🙂 I loved The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black, so I’m definitely going to read some more of her books soon. Will check out the others too!

  7. GennaDac says:

    What a great post! I love the last two. Now I’m going to be thinking about pairing books and songs today!

    • mudandstars says:

      Aww thanks! Those two are probably my favourite songs on the list too 🙂 Have you got any songs that remind you of books you’ve read?

      • GennaDac says:

        Ah, that’s such a good question! Let’s see… I listened to a lot of M83 while writing and while reading The Scorpio Races, and also Above and Beyond. Specifically, “We’re All We Need.”

      • mudandstars says:

        Ooh, I haven’t heard many songs by M83, but I do have Midnight City on my writing playlist! I’ll definitely check out ‘We’re All We Need’ – thanks for the recommendation 🙂 I am quite bad at discovering new music on my own, generally my iTunes playlist consists of songs I’ve heard playing in shops!

      • GennaDac says:

        Definitely check out “Wait” too – it’s so beautiful! I know what you mean, it’s hard to find new music. I used to search all the time but lately, I listen to the same stuff! I use Spotify though, and it’s my new favorite app for writing and reading. I hope you have an awesome day! 😀

      • mudandstars says:

        Thanks, I loved the other song, so will definitely check it out! Ahh I keep forgetting I have a spotify account, I need to get back into it. I get annoyed by all the adverts though as I’m too cheap to buy a proper subscription haha! Hope you have a great day too 🙂

      • GennaDac says:

        Oh yay I’m so glad you liked it! Lol I know what you mean. Adverts are the worst, they totally take me out of enjoying the song!

Leave a Reply

