The Mud and Stars Book Blog

thoughts from a girl who spends her days in other worlds…

Two Christmassy book tags: ‘Tis the Season/All I Want for Christmas

on December 23, 2015

In the spirit of festive overindulgence, I’m bringing you not one by TWO Christmas book tags! Summer over at XingSings nominated me for the ‘Tis The Season tag, and Deanna of A Novel Glimpse tagged me to do the All I Want For Christmas tag! Thank you ladies! If you haven’t already checked them out, both of their blogs are well worth a visit.


‘Tis the Season Book Tag:

1. Do you have a favourite winter read?

bridgetjonesbookcovermarkdarcy

I love reading Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding at this time of year. I think a large part of this is down to the fact that, every time Mark Darcy makes an appearance in the book, no matter the season, he’s always wearing his reindeer Christmas jumper in my mind.

2. Find a book with blue on the cover!

northernlights

Northern Lights by Philip Pullman has such a gorgeous cover. The first book in the His Dark Materials trilogy is a magical, wintery adventure to the North, therefore perfect December reading.

3. Find a book you’d use as the star on a Christmas tree!

 libri-neil-gaiman-stardust

4. Pick one fictional place that would be perfect for a winter vacation!

I really want to say Hogsmeade, but everyone else already picked Hogsmeade, so it’s going to get pretty damn cosy in the Three Broomsticks this Christmas. I’ll pack my bags for Watford School of Magicks instead, because I think it’d be fun spending the holidays with Simon and Baz (though they might find me weird for fangirling over their relationship in real life…)

5. Pick one fictional character you’d take with you on your winter vacation!

Magnus-Bane-mortal-instruments-34382676-500-702

I’d choose Magnus Bane, because any vacation with him is bound to turn into a hilarious, magical adventure, and who knows where we’d end up? He may be banned from Peru, but the rest of the world is our oyster…

6. Name one book on your wish list this year!

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Okay, alright, fine… I know it’s not coming out until March 2016, so it won’t be turning up beneath my tree this year, but I can still sit here and wish for a Christmas miracle! 🙂

7. Favourite holiday drink, treat, & movie?

giphy

Image via Giphy

I love a hot chocolate with Baileys, plus ALL THE FOOD, whilst watching Elf or The Santa Clause, the two holiday movies I must see every year.


 

All I Want For Christmas Book Tag:

1. What fictional character do you want Santa to leave under your Christmas tree?

giphy (1)

Image via Giphy

Damon Salvatore. All wrapped up with a pretty little Christmas bow in his hair, please and thank you Santa.

2. What character do you want to kiss under the mistletoe?

Is this not basically the same as the first question? I’m giving the same answer anyway… 😉

3. You write your Christmas list for Santa, what are the top 5 books on it?

Cinder_CoverScarletcress635616865883334429-Winter-3-10-15Fairest_cover-Final-677x1024

I know I’m definitely getting the first one of these for Christmas. I’m so excited to start reading Cinder – really hope this series lives up to the crazy hype surrounding it!

4. It’s Secret Santa at Hogwarts, what do you most want to receive?

e713cd96158492b25408f28256fb181e

I’ve always secretly wanted a Weasley jumper, and I’m perfectly okay with mine being maroon.

5. You get to the spend the day with the characters and movie adaptation actors from one fandom, what do you pick?

I would’t say no to spending Christmas in Mystic Falls…

the-vampire-diaries-cast

6. What fictional animal would you like to replace Rudolph and be able to meet on your roof?

Buckbeak

I would like to fly around the world with Buckbeak spreading Christmassy love and joy! Hippogriffs > Santa.

7. You invite 10 fictional characters to your new years eve party, who do you pick?

Gatsby (he can help me organise, since he throws a damn good party)

Magnus Bane (ditto, plus I’d be excited to see what kind of outfit he rocks up in…)

Bridget Jones (because her relationship with a bottle of wine is something I understand on a soulmate kind of level)

Cath from Fangirl (I need a fellow fangirl at my party, plus with Cath there, I’ll only be the second most awkward person in the room!)

Celaena Sardothien (she can be my bouncer at the front gate, and kick out any undesirables!)

Winnie the Pooh (I need somebody who is as obsessed with mealtimes as I am to make it less obvious I’m spending ALL my time hovering around the buffet table)

Simon from Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda (I think he’d be fun to hang out with, plus he loves HP as much as I do!)

I can’t think of any more, because I suck at organising parties, but I think the above odd assortment of people will make for a fun, if bizarre, New Year’s Eve.

8. What character would make a good Santa? (Doesn’t have to be appearance, personality counts too)

I’m going with Dumbledore, because although looks-wise he’d be a somewhat skinny Santa, he’d also make a brilliant one – he’s mysterious, he’s kind and jolly, he sees everything (he knows if you’ve been bad or good…), and he gives excellent Christmas gifts too (hello invisibility cloak!)


As there are only two more sleeps until Christmas, I imagine most of you will have already done this tag, or similar holiday tags, so I am tagging… EVERYONE!

Merry Christmas and lots of bookish love to you all! x

16 responses to “Two Christmassy book tags: ‘Tis the Season/All I Want for Christmas

  1. I love, love, love your ten fictional characters! So fun!

  2. Dream it Alive says:

    Wonderful! I’d love a Weasley sweater myself.

    • mudandstars says:

      It would be an excellent Christmas gift 🙂 Actually I was browsing some blogs earlier and saw a photo of somebody wearing Ron’s jumper, so I’m guessing you can buy them somewhere online! I need one in my life.

  3. Annelise B. says:

    Team Damon here we go! Hahaha! Loved your answers *–*

  4. I really enjoyed the Cassie Clare love in this, Jess! Magnus Bane was a fantastic choice; he would make the trip very amusing. And Mystic Falls! I just finished marathoning TVD and loved seasons 1-4 so much. Team Damon all the way. ❤

    • mudandstars says:

      I have so much love for Cassie Clare! It would definitely be an amusing trip. I think Magnus Bane is one of my favourite fictional characters of all time. Glad you love TVD as much as I do, I’ve been marathoning season 6 and part of season 7 over the Christmas holidays (one day I barely moved from the sofa and watched about 12 episodes in a row… shameful I know..!) Seasons 1-4 are definitely the best, although I do still love the show and as long as Damon’s in it, I’ll be happy 🙂

      • I actually stopped after season 4… because I heard that Elena dies and Nina Dobrev left the set! 😮

      • mudandstars says:

        Ooh well, she doesn’t die exactly, but she does leave the show and it’s not possible for her to come back. But that happens at the end of season 6, soo there’s a couple more seasons of Delena 🙂 I thought that season 7 wouldn’t be as good with Nina Dobrev no longer in it, but it’s actually pretty good so far… I might have to stop watching if Ian Somerhalder leaves though!!

  5. Yes! Hot chocolate with Baileys all the way!! Haha I would definitely say no to Christmas in Mystic Falls- I don’t want to be added to the tragically long body count list! :p

    • mudandstars says:

      I have had so much Baileys this holiday, so good! I’m starting to feel a little bit gross from all the overindulgence now though, think it’s time for me to curb the festive eating and drinking and start eating normal (and green) food again! And haha, this is a very good point… I think I have let myself be too distracted by the prospect of all the pretty vampires to think about the fact that they’d probably only think of me as their Christmas dinner…

      • haha me too! If they tested my blood they’d find it was 90% Baileys :p Haha I always feel like that- and then cake calls again and I answer. (See, even this conversation is having that affect on me!) Haha oh now you mention it, they are terribly pretty- I think I wouldn’t mind being made a meal of by some of them for sure (probably Enzo, cos last time I watched it, he was still in it and he was looking really gorgeous)

      • mudandstars says:

        Haha, well in the time it has taken for me to reply, I think my Baileys levels have mostly subsided, I’m maybe around 10% now! 😛 I know exactly how you feel, if people start talking about food, I instantly want it. I get so many daily food cravings that if I get pregnant one day, I probably won’t be able to tell the difference. Ohh yes, Enzo is still in the show, and still very pretty indeed ❤

      • hahaha oh dear- you better buy another bottle, fast! :p haha me too. That just reminded me why I’m looking forward to being pregnant- great excuse to eat loads and get really really fat! (Although I’ve been told you shouldn’t really do that) ohh he really is so pretty ❤

Leave a Reply

