book tag

The Infinity Dreams Award

infinitydreamsawardtag

Happy Saturday everyone! I’m back from my two week hiatus, which I didn’t actually tell anyone I was taking… In case you were wondering, I went to New York last week (more on that in my monthly wrap up post ❤️) and I’ve spent all of this week recovering from the jet lag (aka sleeping and binge-watching Gossip Girl because I want to go back to NYC so badly!)

I’m doing my best to catch up with my tags and nominations, and over the past few months I’ve been nominated for The Infinity Dreams Award by the following lovely bloggers:

Deanna @ anovelglimpse

Codie @ paperbackbookaddicts

Laura @ lalasbookreviews

Alyssa @ theultimatebookgeek

Michelle @ thereadingbelle

Please go check out all of their splendiferous blogs, if you haven’t already! 

I’m not 100% sure what the Infinity Dreams Award means, but it sounds rather mystical and magical, and I am very grateful to all of you for bestowing it upon my little blog 🙂

The rules:

  • Thank and link the blog that nominated you
  • Tell us 11 facts about yourself
  • Answer the questions that were set for you to answer
  • Nominate 11 bloggers and set questions for them

My 11 facts (don’t worry, I won’t bore you with 55…):

1) I buy way more books than I have time to read.

2) Despite the crappy final season, LOST remains my favourite TV show of all time. And weirdly, despite his obvious and severe personality flaws, Benjamin Linus remains my favourite character.

giphy (7)

Source: Giphy

3) I very rarely wear makeup, unless I’m going somewhere nice. I’m not making a statement, I’m just too lazy to put it on in the mornings.

4) I am always tired. I can’t remember what not being tired actually feels like.

giphy (9)

Source: Giphy

5) My favourite song of all time is Just Like Heaven by The Cure. However, my most played song on iTunes is Time to Pretend by MGMT.

6) Ever since I started working in marketing, I can’t stop noticing improper use of grammar, and I can’t stop thinking in puns.

7) I am always spilling food or drink down myself, to the extent that my friends actually say ‘I Jessed myself!’ anytime they accidentally do the same thing…

8) I am 99.9% sure I have misophonia (a condition where you have an intense hatred of sound). People with misophonia have certain noises that severely distress them, and mine is the sound of eating. Ughhhh. I. can’t. deal.

giphy (16)

Source: Giphy

9) I keep an emergency packet of Lovehearts in my bag at all times, because I sometimes get this weird thing where if I haven’t eaten for several hours I get all shaky and almost pass out because I need sugar.

10) I will eat almost anything, but I can’t stand beetroot or hard-boiled egg. #vom

11) I am happiest when in pyjamas.

giphy (17)

Source: Giphy


My answers to the questions…

Deanna’s questions:

What is your favourite romance novel?

13614864

I desperately want more people to read this book, so I have somebody to fangirl with! Howie and Arthur’s romance was so adorable, and managed to keep me engaged without resorting to angst or melodrama. This book made me so HAPPY.

Who is your least favourite fictional love triangle?

7735333

Cassia/Xander/Ky in the Matched trilogy. I found the romance in this series bland. I read to the end of the trilogy because I was interested in the dystopian setting, but I really couldn’t have cared less about the love triangle.

Codie’s questions:

Least favourite genre?

Fifty-Shades-of-Grey

Erotica. I don’t have a problem with sex scenes in books, but I do have a problem with cringey writing (I’m looking at you 50 Shades!)

Biggest pet peeve in books?

When a female character intensely hates another female character just because she’s pretty. C’MON, we’re above all of that in this enlightened day and age.

Alyssa’s questions:

Favourite book of 2015?

18006496

I wasn’t expecting to fall so hard for this series, as it’s not the kind of thing I usually read, but BAM – I was blown away. This series gets better and better with every book, and the character development is flawless.

Least favourite book of 2015?

41svUp30fPL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

It just didn’t really live up to my expectations. The premise was so intriguing (two strangers are stranded on a desert island together for 2 years… when they’re finally rescued, they make a pact to lie about what really happened while they were there.) This idea had so much potential, but I was left unenthralled and disappointed by the reveal of Lilian and Dave’s secret. I guess I was just expecting something a bit more shocking.

Laura’s questions:

Do you think negative reviews are useful? Or just hateful?

I think it depends on the tone of the review. It’s okay to be constructively negative, because I think it’s worse to pretend you loved something you hated, but we should also be respectful, because negative comments can be hurtful. I think it’s also important to make it clear we’re just expressing our opinion; just because it didn’t float our boat, doesn’t mean it won’t float someone else’s.

Do you like short stories? Which one is your favourite?

dontlooknow

I love short stories. I’m not sure if I have a favourite, but I’m a huge fan of Daphne du Maurier’s; I love the way she writes. Don’t Look Now is one of her best, and the ending scared the crap out of me because it was so unexpected. It’s rare for a book to be able to make you jump in the same way a movie can, but I swear that story did it for me!

Michelle’s questions:

What classic books do you like?

tess0420b18a0df9562befe110d0d0cd5e66

Tess of the D’Urbervilles was the first classic to make me cry, and Wuthering Heights has such psychologically interesting characters – both were intense reading experiences for me.

If you had to choose a dystopian society to live in, which one will it be?

71UoVoNAufL

Well, preferably none, but if I HAD to, I think I’d choose the world of James Dashner’s The Maze Runner. Although the characters have to deal with some pretty scary stuff (Grievers! WICKED! AHH!), I like the community aspect of the Glade, and how they all manage to work and live (fairly) amicably together.


My nominees:

Anne @ anneliselestrange

Faith and Sarah @ sublimereads

Raquel @ rakioddbooks

Alicia @ hashtaglovebooks

Evie @ justanotherbelle

Asmaa @ thechroniclesofabookworm

Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks

Giselle @ utopianboulevard

Astra @ astrangersguidetonovels

Ashleigh @ afrolicthroughfiction

T.K. Lawrence @ readitornotreviews


If you’ve already done this tag/tags aren’t your thing/you can’t be bothered, there is no pressure to do this one, but if you do fancy giving it ago, here are your questions:

  1. Which fictional character is most like you?
  2. Which books have made you cry?
  3. Has a book ever filled you with rage?
  4. Who is your favourite fictional couple?
  5. Has there been a book which has genuinely scared you?
  6. Favourite fictional animal/fantastical creature?
  7. Favourite fantasy world?
  8. Which book completely exceeded your expectations?
  9. Are there any books you’ve disliked from an author you usually love?
  10. What’s your favourite book in a genre you don’t normally read?
  11. If you had another blog, what would you write about it instead of books?

45 thoughts on “The Infinity Dreams Award”

  1. Oo, I love anything by MGMT and could not agree more with your pet peeve–I’m so tired of seeing the alpha bitch trope in YA novels. Wuthering Heights and Throne of Glass–yes and yes!

    1. Exactly, it irritates me so much! Anytime an author resorts to it, it just feels like I’m taking a step back to the 90s or something, it’s been so overdone in teen books and movies. Glad you love WH and ToG too, some of my favourite books 🙂

    1. Thanks! I had an amazing time, I really want to go back so I can do all the things we didn’t manage to fit in 🙂 What was your favourite part of visiting New York? I think mine was probably seeing the view from the Empire State building, but we also saw some awesome shows on Broadway too 😀

      1. Oh, well I really hope you’ll go back there soon! 🙂 Ohh, my favorite part was the same as yours, or probably the Top of The Rock, it was outstanding! The High Line was such a great place, too… I should stop there before I start talking about everything I loved, haha :p
        Oh that’s so cool 😀

      2. Ooh, we didn’t have time to do either of those 😦 will have to add them to the list next time I go! We were going to do the High Line on the last day, but ran out of time because our airport transfer was coming really early, so just did some more shopping nearby our hotel instead. Oooh, that was another favourite part actually, the shopping! ❤

  2. I gasped out loud when you said Ben Linus is your favorite LOST character. MINE TOO and I have gotten so much crap from my friends because of it.

    1. Finally somebody else gets where I’m coming from haha! I think he’s just such an interesting and complex character. And also weirdly hilarious even when he’s being all creepy. Love him!

      1. Yes exactly. He’s got twenty layers of personality and motives, and while I would not want to be FRIENDS with him, I’m completely fascinated by him!

    1. You’re very welcome – look forward to reading your answers! 😀 And haha, I know what you mean – I thought the first book was okay, but the series was just really forgettable. Like I had to google the names of the characters before I posted this because I couldn’t actually remember anything about them.

  3. Aww, I was kinda pinning for the 55 facts, haha!
    I loved your answers and it was so good to know a little more about you, doll! ❤ I will LOVE to answer your questions and thank you sooo much for the nomination! It meant a lot to me ❤
    I don't really care about the sound, but I'm sensible with seeing people eating. Even when they are not doing something disgusting, haha! I just can't handle that well lol

    1. Haha, well, my thinking is that I am gonna start running out of facts about me soon, so I have to save them up for other posts lol 😛 Aww thank you, and I look forward to seeing your answers and facts if you do the tag 🙂 OMG yes watching people eat bothers me too, like I hate watching people chew. But the sound pains me the most lol. I love people who eat quietly.

      1. Fair enough, haha! I always struggle to find new facts about me as well 😅 But I’ll do it anyway, I love tags lol And thank you! I promise to not take forever in doing so 😂 and yeah, it is disgusting to no ends! I love cheetos, but I can only eat them alonr. If other person is eating it with me (or worse, next to me and without me lol) and doing that ~crunch crunch~ sound… NO.

      2. OMG YES! The crunching of crisps is the worst sound in the world. Except maybe the crunching of chicken on the bone and people accidentally crunch the bone. I CAN’T! Yay I can’t wait to see your answers/facts! 🙂 Also replies on Twitter coming soon, I thought I was gonna make it this evening but my last blog post took me all evening because I was half asleep haha!

      3. Ugh, yes! Also, I hate then the person that accidentally chews the bone is me because I get nauseated, haha! It’s bad in all aspects lol And don’t worry, I already saw them, haha! Will reply later today, I’m running a bit with the house work, oops! hahaha

    1. You’re very welcome! 🙂 Well it wasn’t the worst book I’ve ever read, it was just a bit forgettable – it felt like the characters and world were a bit underdeveloped and vague, and I couldn’t get a clear picture of anything, if that makes sense.

    1. Thanks! I’m glad somebody understands this haha, I never do anything to my hair at all either. In the mornings, I’m just concentrating on staying awake and not missing the bus (and more importantly, FOOD) – I don’t have time for all of that haha 🙂

    1. You’re very welcome! And I’m glad somebody understands where I’m coming from with the tired thing (although not glad for you, because it sucks!) I’m the same with reading, and I also have this thing where I can’t read certain genres when I’m ridiculously tired… usually the only thing I can cope with is fluff 🙂

  4. Thanks for nominating me, I look forward to doing this! OH MY GOD LITERALLY 10 MINUTES AGO I FINISHED QUEEN OF SHADOWS AND WOW JUST WOW! BLOWN AWAY I JUST CANT. Also me too, I never wear make up, even when I’m going somewhere nice, I don’t think I own any makeup hehe 🙂 and I would eat anything too except banana, I don’t know why but I hate banana! I’ve heard Lost is quite good and I added it to my list of never ending shows that I will be watching!

    1. You’re very welcome! And OMG so glad you loved Queen of Shadows! What was your favourite part? It was indeed very epic! Will check out your review asap 😀 Haha yeah, the makeup thing is just effort. Like I don’t really care if people see my face, because it doesn’t look THAT different with makeup. I think that’s awesome you don’t own any – you are free! OMG you should definitely watch LOST – I’ve never been so obsessed with a TV show. I got the box-set for Christmas a few years ago, and I watched the whole thing within the space of a month. It was an addiction.

      1. I love Manon! I think the way Sarah J Maas developed her character is amazing. I actually haven’t read the Assassin’s Blade yet so it was the first time I’d come across Lysandra, but I have the book waiting to be read soon 🙂 Ooh hope you enjoy if you decide to start watching it – the first episode is good, but it’s one of those series that gets better and better as it goes along – around episode 8 I think things start getting creepy and mysterious, and that’s about where I got completely hooked!!

      2. I absolutely agree! oh my god you haven’t? YOU MUST YOU MUST, I LOVED IT SO MUCH BUT IT BROKE MY HEART INTO TINY LITTLE PIECES AND JUST PREPARE A LOT OF TISSUES WHEN YOU START READING IT.

      3. Well I read up to Queen of Shadows without realising that there was a prequel book – I know most people actually read it before QoS. So I asked for it for my birthday, but haven’t got round to reading it yet! I have a feeling I’m going to have an emotional meltdown as obviously I already know what happens to Sam 😥 don’t know how I’m going to cope with that…

      4. Aw I think it would’ve been better if you read it before QoS but never mind it’s ok you can read it now. Honestly even though I knew what was going to happen, I wasn’t prepared for it, I cried buckets! 😦

    1. And New York was amazing!!! We packed so much into a few days, but I really want to go back because there’s so much more I want to do there. I posted some pictures in my monthly wrap up post tonight 🙂 I ate a crazy amount of food while I was there, but it was SO GOOD. I would go back, just for the food haha ❤ You should definitely go one day, it's one of the most exciting places I've been!

Leave a comment