book tag

The Spring has Sprung Book Tag

Hello, lovely bookish people!ย 

Today I thought I would have a go at the ‘Spring has Sprung’ Book Tag, which was created by The Naughty Librarian.

It doesn’t look much like spring outside my window right now, so here are some pictures of some lovely spring flowers to get us all in a sunny mood (featuring my stuffed pig, ‘Piggly Puff’: he has his own Instagram account and has more followers than this blog!!!)

Hope these cute pictures brought you some warm fuzzies on this cold, un-springlike day!

Without further ado, here are my answers to the tag. If you would like to participate too, consider yourself tagged! ๐Ÿ™‚


1) Flowers: All the flowers we remember are blooming again. Pick a book thatโ€™s a fresh take on a retelling.

Okay, so this is a weak start, but Iโ€™m struggling to come up with an answer for this question. I very rarely read re-tellings any more, simply BECAUSE they donโ€™t feel fresh to me.

studyincharl

Itโ€™s not strictly a retelling, and I havenโ€™t actually read it yet, but Iโ€™ve got A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro on my shelf, and Iโ€™m so excited to get to that! Itโ€™s the start of a murder mystery series which follows the descendants of Sherlock and Watson at boarding school! Sounds like a unique spin on the original stories, and exactly my kind of book.


2) Mini Eggs: Obviously the superior springtime candy of choice. Pick a book that you consider to be a sweet treat.

loveandgelato

Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch was a really cute and fluffy treat (despite having some sad parts to it). The romance was adorable, the setting (Tuscany, Italy) was beautiful, and the storyline of the main character getting to know her estranged father melted my heart too. It really was the novel equivalent of eating a super sweet and yummy ice cream on a sunny day, and it filled me with joy.


3) Allergies: Seasonal allergies often make your eyes water. Pick a book that made you cry.

Chaos-Walking-Covers

All of the books in The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness. I will never get over the fate of a certain character in this series. I have honestly never cried so much whilst reading a book as I did during this one scene. The books follow a boy named Todd in a dystopian world where all the women have disappeared, and all the men can hear each otherโ€™s thoughts. Then, one day, Todd stumbles across a girlโ€ฆ


4) Spring Cleaning: Out with the old and in with the new. Pick a book to unhaul.

cruelprincewickedking

Iโ€™m thinking of unhauling The Cruel Prince and The Wicked King by Holly Black. I picked up the sequel for 50p in the charity shop before Iโ€™d read the first one, and now Iโ€™ve read it Iโ€™m not sure I can be bothered to continue with the series. I gave it 3 stars and found it quite forgettable, plus I only like a couple of the characters, and Prince Cardan definitely isnโ€™t one of them! I sort of like Jude, but not enough to fall in love with this series.


5) Spring Break: Itโ€™s the perfect time for an adventure. Pick a book involving a road trip.

gentlemansguide

I loved The Gentlemanโ€™s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee. Set in the 1700s, the story follows Monty, Felicity and Percy as their Grand Tour across Europe goes wildly awry. This book is full of crazy escapades, hilarity, and diverse, loveable characters. Itโ€™s so fast paced for historical fiction, and I loved every unexpected twist and turn of this adventure.


6) Mating Season: Itโ€™s that time of year in the animal kingdom to make some babies. Pick a book with some smutty delights.

Smut-AMAZON-Copy

Itโ€™s been a while since I read it, but I really loved Smut by Karina Halle. Itโ€™s a hate-to-love romance about a guy and a girl who are paired up for a project in their college creative writing class. They decide to write an erotic novel together to make some money, and the tension between them starts to turn into something a little less fighty, and a lot more makey-outy.


7) Rainbows: Spring is made of rainbows! Pick a book featuring LGBTQ+ character(s).

13614864

I feel like I mention this book all the time, but my favourite LGBTQ+ book is Know Not Why by Hannah Johnson. Itโ€™s so pure and sweet and fluffy and lovely. It’s set in an arts and crafts store, the dialogue is really witty and fun, the characters are a joy to read, and the romance is adorable. It has some really lovely and positive coming-out scenes too, which I think is important to see in books. This novel really is one of my favourites of all time, I canโ€™t recommend it enough.


8) Spring Awakening: An amazing musical even though itโ€™s filled with completely dysfunctional characters. Pick a book thatโ€™s also filled with completely dysfunctional characters.

monsterscover

I actually just wrote about this book in my last post, but it fits perfectly for this question โ€“ Monsters by Emerald Fennell. This is basically about two 12 year olds who are obsessed with murder. At least one of them is a sociopath. The other comes from a very dysfunctional and sad family background. This is such a well-written, character-driven book, and one of the best Iโ€™ve read this year.


9) In like a lion, out like a lamb: Pick a book series that didnโ€™t get better as it progressed.

DOSAB

Iโ€™m sure this is an unpopular opinion, but I feel like the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor progressively deteriorated. I really loved the first book, but I felt like the second and third books dragged, and they were so utterly bleak and harrowing, I felt very little joy whilst reading them. The only thing I ended up liking about them were any scenes featuring Zuzana and Mik, because they are just the best, most hilarious and adorable side characters of all time.


Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Lots of literary love, Jess xxx

10 thoughts on “The Spring has Sprung Book Tag”

  1. What a fantastic tag and I love all of your answers! I recently read the first half of A Study in Charlotte before the library reclaimed it and I loved it. I am anxiously waiting for it to come back to me.

    1. Aww thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€ ahh it’s such a pain when that happens! I am terrible at remembering to read library books until right before they’re due back, so it has definitely happened to me before! I hope you can read the second half soon! I’m glad to know the first half was good haha! ๐Ÿ˜€ xxx

    1. Aww thank you! Yeah so much weird weather at the moment. I just want the sun to arrive properly!! This weather is making me just want to curl up in a blanket. Although I guess that means I get more reading done ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

    1. Aww thank you hehe! Taking those photos entertains me so much haha ๐Ÿ˜€ Ooh definitely, Love and Gelato was great fun, I might try and re-read it again this summer. It’s a good holiday read. And oooh hope you enjoy A Study in Charlotte. I ended up reading it after writing this post. I really liked the characters, though I wasn’t as amazed by the mystery, but I definitely enjoyed it and want to carry on with the series ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

  2. I also loved A Gentleman’s Guide to V&V! Have you read the second book about Felicity? It didn’t have the same park for me that Gentelman’s Guide did, but still a solid book.

    I read The Cruel Prince and thought it was a decent read. I thought the second book was a disappointment, but ended on a good cliffhanger, so now I don’t know what I’ll do about the series…

    1. I haven’t read the second book yet, but I do have the audiobook! I’m really bad at listening to audibooks though, so maybe I’ll buy a physical copy! I think that’s often the case with second books – glad it was still solid though ๐Ÿ™‚
      I did kind of enjoy The Cruel Prince while I was reading it, but it didn’t leave me desperate to carry on, if that makes sense. Shame the second book was a disappointment. I might give it a chance before unhauling, but I’m not sure when I will get to it! xxx

Leave a comment